Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but does the job!
Simply made from light plastic, with just one speed and one control, the on/off switch on the body. The instructions for replacing the burrs are hidden away on a piece of paper inside the box. To replace the burrs you just pull one out of the engraver with plyers, and insert another, making sure it goes right down or it won't spin. I find one of the burrs is slightly too...
Published on 19 Jun 2010 by arontus

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely dreadful. Total rubbish.
Dreadful product. The 11 additional diamond burrs you get with it don't fit into the engraver - they are too small and just drop out. Thus, it is utterly useless unless you're happy to just use the 3 origin burrs which come in the packaging. I emailed the seller & got no response except for a laughable "We'll reply in 24 hours" automated email. Emailed again after getting...
Published on 11 Feb 2009 by M. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but does the job!, 19 Jun 2010
This review is from: Rolson Tools 70540 12V Engraver With 11 Diamond Burrs (DIY & Tools)
Simply made from light plastic, with just one speed and one control, the on/off switch on the body. The instructions for replacing the burrs are hidden away on a piece of paper inside the box. To replace the burrs you just pull one out of the engraver with plyers, and insert another, making sure it goes right down or it won't spin. I find one of the burrs is slightly too large to fit into the hole, but you get a dozen more that fit OK. For my purposes, refining the details on a small cast sculpture, it works perfectly well. I'd give it 5 stars but for the burr that doesn't fit - maybe it will fit after I've used the engraver more, but it doesn't really matter. I'm glad I bought it. So far, on mine anyway, the burrs don't fall out as reported by the first reviewer. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Product is great!, 8 Dec 2008
This review is from: Rolson Tools 70540 12V Engraver With 11 Diamond Burrs (DIY & Tools)
the product is pretty good, it has lots of accessories and you can engrave pretty easily. Although, there is no speed control. There was only one problem with the service with Amazon (or rather the postal company), the plastic case for the engraving bits was cracked.

Overall, it's great, especially if you don't want to go for the dremel 30 one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely dreadful. Total rubbish., 11 Feb 2009
By 
M. Jones "Mmmhmmm" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson Tools 70540 12V Engraver With 11 Diamond Burrs (DIY & Tools)
Dreadful product. The 11 additional diamond burrs you get with it don't fit into the engraver - they are too small and just drop out. Thus, it is utterly useless unless you're happy to just use the 3 origin burrs which come in the packaging. I emailed the seller & got no response except for a laughable "We'll reply in 24 hours" automated email. Emailed again after getting another automated "Hope you're happy. Please leave us feedback" email a few days later & they took well over a week to reply. Finally got a refund today, almost a month after returning it. Definitely not recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good product, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson Tools 70540 12V Engraver With 11 Diamond Burrs (DIY & Tools)
we needed to mark a considerable quantity of laboratory glassware and had previously tried a cheaper battery operated glass etcher. The battery operated model was essentially an electric toothbrush with a diamond tipped etching piece - it consumed batteries quickly and was not particularly powerful. This item on the other hand feels solidly built, has no problems with power as it is connected to the mains and comes with a variety of etching bits. The mains cord is conveniently long as well. My one comment would be that the selection of etching bits is a little arbitrary and that (for us) several of the same bit would be more useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exactly what I thought...., 23 Aug 2011
This review is from: Rolson Tools 70540 12V Engraver With 11 Diamond Burrs (DIY & Tools)
I bought this after having to throw away my previous engraving machine after many uses.
My previous machine was also a Rolson engraver eventhough this engraver had been upgraded from my previous model it worked just as good as the other one. It was easy to get used to and very comfortable to use as well as being able to place all the tips from the previous model in this one.

After a lot of uses it can get a little hot when holding but is handy being able to leave the plug in the power socket and pull apart the lead to be able to untangle if needed.

Gives perfect results everytime and would always vote to buy a Rolson engraving tool, just from previous experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars engraver, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson Tools 70540 12V Engraver With 11 Diamond Burrs (DIY & Tools)
this is a very good tool for the job intended very good indeed the details given by the makers was exactly as it stated on the review as advertized very handy indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good product, and cheap!, 5 Jan 2012
This review is from: Rolson Tools 70540 12V Engraver With 11 Diamond Burrs (DIY & Tools)
This is a good little engraver for if you just have jobs to do at home! i used it to engrave my glass work with my initials and it did the job great, not sure how practical it would be for large scale jobs over a long period of time, but for simply signing my work it is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not The Engraver In Picture., 5 Aug 2011
This review is from: Rolson Tools 70540 12V Engraver With 11 Diamond Burrs (DIY & Tools)
The engraver that's shown in the picture is NOT the engraver that is actually being sold. The actual engraver is ok, but too bulky to use for an extended period of time and there are no grips to hold on to it properly. Trying to work with any degree of accuracy is impossible. I bought it to engrave tools so it's fine for my needs, but I wouldn't buy another one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rolson Engraver, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Rolson Tools 70540 12V Engraver With 11 Diamond Burrs (DIY & Tools)
I ordered this item in order to do some engraving of my son's photo on a slate. The engraver has only one speed and also arrived with almost no instructions. I am not a technical person and it took me a long time to work out how to make the burrs tight in the hole. I worked it out eventually and it did the job for me. Not easy to use it for delicate work as it has only one very fast speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to engrave anything with accuracy, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson Tools 70540 12V Engraver With 11 Diamond Burrs (DIY & Tools)
Simply because the tool bit ( once inserted ) rotates in an eccentric manner because the chuck isn't central! This makes it impossible to engrave anything accurately and also makes it very difficult to drill holes!...Not a lot of use really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews