Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Large Print Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Wordpower Guide
It is not the easiest publication to use om Kindle and has required a certain amount of practice.
It is probably best used in hard or paperback form.
It has more than enough information for my use.
Published 23 months ago by Malc

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unnecessary and expensive on a kindle
I only got a sample to try it out but I can say this about it: given that the kindle comes with two dictionaries both perfectly good this seems a little excessive particularly at the price.
I will admit that the formatting is beautiful but given that its a kindle the individual has the ability to change the print size of any book they choose. Therefore the need for a...
Published on 27 May 2012 by Elizabeth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Large Print Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Wordpower Guide, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Large Print Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Wordpower Guide (Kindle Edition)
It is not the easiest publication to use om Kindle and has required a certain amount of practice.
It is probably best used in hard or paperback form.
It has more than enough information for my use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unnecessary and expensive on a kindle, 27 May 2012
This review is from: Oxford Large Print Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Wordpower Guide (Kindle Edition)
I only got a sample to try it out but I can say this about it: given that the kindle comes with two dictionaries both perfectly good this seems a little excessive particularly at the price.
I will admit that the formatting is beautiful but given that its a kindle the individual has the ability to change the print size of any book they choose. Therefore the need for a large print kindle book is questionable at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Large print dictionary. Thesaurus. and Wordpower Guide, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Large Print Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Wordpower Guide (Kindle Edition)
Cannot spell , can with this. the ability to now where a word comes from is very interesting .
But being able to see the print is quite useful as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible!, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Large Print Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Wordpower Guide (Kindle Edition)
Have been using a paper version of this book for many years and it is literally falling apart. Needed a new one and the Kindle version is much easier to cart around as it is a very thick book and pretty heavy. I find it indispensable when I'm doing crosswords and don't consider it cheating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Thesaurus, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It didn't really meet my requirements - it was to replace an Oxford Thesaurus published by BCA which was so well used it was falling to bits - but is not nearly so comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars condition, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Large Print Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Wordpower Guide (Kindle Edition)
This book arrived in perfect condition and well before its due date.
Very pleased with the service as always with amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 6 Jun 2013
This review is from: Oxford Large Print Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Wordpower Guide (Kindle Edition)
The thesaurus portion is very poor and difficult to navigate.
The dictionary element is more than adequate, but our main requirement was the thesaurus, which as mentioned above is poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Large Print Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Wordpower Guide (Kindle Edition)
It does what it is supposed to, no more no less. I don't know why i chose large print but I guess I am stuck with it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Large Print dictionary, 28 Nov 2012
By 
Gary Shea (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As far as I am aware, this book is now out of print in this country, so was looking to buy second hand. When the book arrived (from USA I might add) I was very very pleased. The book is in immaculate condition, and as it is a present, you would not know otherwise. Great to use for crosswords etc, wish I'd bought for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why the price ?, 7 July 2011
This review is from: Oxford Large Print Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Wordpower Guide (Kindle Edition)
I have not bought this item, just looked it over in a bookstore. I will not buy it as its for the kindle there is no way to justify the price for this on a kindle as to a hard copy book. Please Amazon or whoever reline this price for a kindle and NOT a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews