Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
120
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2014
Its Eddie .....it's excellent...Found the film depressing as had bought it to inspire my teen out of the setee.....so that didn't go well, but the music is inspirational, a year later it is still up there with the favs..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
Despite its relative modest time span, this CD is a shining diamond. The songs are short, but close to perfection. For lovers of Pearl Jam, this CD is evidently a must and they have probably already bought it a long time ago, however it will also captivate others who enjoy well crafted, first-rate acoustic pieces reminiscent of the legendary "Just Breathe". I haven't listened to much music lately except this great soundtrack; there are pearl upon pearl in this album; the two major songs are of course "Society" and "Hard Sun", two superbly enthralling pieces of magic, but not the only ones. In my opinion, songs like "Guaranteed", "Long Nights" and the short and simple "Rise" are also contestants for the top spots, while my personal favourite is "No Ceiling", a spellbinding tune I probably already have heard a hundred times.

There is not much reason not to buy this album. It is great and easily one of the best I've heard in a very long time. The music is strikingly beautiful and Eddie Vedder's voice is superb and exceptional as always. The quality of each minute of music is stunning, so you definitely get your money's worth on this one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
I love the film but it is a sad story. Listen to this and a new story evolves about grieving,rebirth and hope. Eddie Vedder is a genius.
If anyone wants to feel energised after a period of depression then just listen to "Rise". It brings tears of hope to my eyes after extreme trauma but even the happiest person will also be moved by the purity of the song.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
This is a beautiful album, Eddie Vedders voice lends itself perfectly to the optimistic melancholy subject, it's stand up as an album in its own right, the production of the vinyl is absolutely beautiful , astounding photography and a brilliang sleeve note from Sean
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2009
I was very inspired by the film so much so that I went bought the book and soundtrack..I don't usually buy soundtracks but this one being by Eddie Vedder I could not resist...And I wasn't let down either apart from how short it is..EDDIE, WE WANT FULL LENGTH VERSIONS OF THE SONGS!! It is a haunting memoir for the atmosphere and deep yearning felt in the film, with Eddies beautiful vocals and inspiring lyrics..a sure winner. Kick back ,relax, listen and be taken away into the wild......xxx
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
This is one of those increasingly rare examples where a film and it's soundtrack are so entwined it is clear that one could not exist, or at least would be a much lesser body of work, without the other. It is clear that without this majestic soundtrack, Sean Penn's film would have struggled to conjure that wonderful sense of awe, inspiration and, ultimately, loneliness which seeps through the film.

Of course if you are reading this then you will most likely already have seen this film, in my opinion one of the most stunning films of the last decade. The soundtrack is an equally hypnotic experience, and really needs to be listened to as a whole to appreciate the measured beauty of the journey. Thanks to this album, I am only just starting to uncover his day job with the mighty Pearl Jam!

Enough waffle, my main reason for this review is to highlight the VINYL version of this album. Having only recently got into the format, I was eager to get hold of this. After some research, I found initial pressings of this album were going for daft money on ebay. After further desperate searching, I found out that a company called 'Music on Vinyl' had repressed it recently on heavyweight 180g vinyl. What's most impressive is that they have produced it identically to the original pressing, complete with a beautiful lyric booklet containing photos from the film, as well as informative liner notes from Sean Penn. The only thing missing is a 7 inch single from the original, but for me this is no big deal. The vinyl itself sounds more intimate, detailed and rich than the CD version which I also own.

A real quality purchase, snap this up before these too go for silly money!!

PS. I purchased my copy from 'Action Records' within the amazon website, for £[]- cracking service, and the cheapest choice too!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2009
Stumbled across this film while channel hopping one night. The story is great and so is the music. Every track is meaningful and likeable on first listen. Brilliant find that just came out of nowhere. This is now one of my favourite albums. Its great for the car.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2009
Top notch film and brilliant soundtrack. You will not find better music to accompany a film than this one, but then its Eddie so I wouldn't expect anything less!! Hail hail.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
I played this album over and over in my car for a good couple months before I decided to change to tone a bit.
I personally think the lyrics a well written, well expressed, and the music is well played. Very complimentary to the film, you can imagine the film as you listen to this album.
Some of the tracks are mellow and relaxed, a few are a little more energetic.

You can tell It's Vedder. Awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
If you love the film you will love this! I bought it for my boyfriend who is in love with the film and he loved this just as much. Just listening to the music is inspiring. Each track reminds you of the different parts of the movie. Good for relaxing or travelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)