Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't ask for better
This is my favourite album of 2007 by a long shot. It's full of gorgeous acoustic tunes all accompanied by Eddie's wonderful baritone vocals with his keen sense of melody and lyrics. The album is quite short at only half an hour, but that means it doesn't outstay its welcome and leaves you wanting more.

Track highlights are 'Hard Sun' and 'Society' (ironically,...
Published on 15 Dec. 2007 by Matthew Notley

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing
I've only recently become a fan of Eddie Vedder's in Pearl Jam, but also as a solo artist, which is why I bought this CD. I had read other reviews, and thought, even though a short album, it woild be worth adding to my collection. However, although Eddie's voice i wonderful to listen to and the quality of the recording good, I was somewhat frustrated by the fact that so...
Published 23 months ago by bearsome


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't ask for better, 15 Dec. 2007
By 
Matthew Notley (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Wild - Ost (Audio CD)
This is my favourite album of 2007 by a long shot. It's full of gorgeous acoustic tunes all accompanied by Eddie's wonderful baritone vocals with his keen sense of melody and lyrics. The album is quite short at only half an hour, but that means it doesn't outstay its welcome and leaves you wanting more.

Track highlights are 'Hard Sun' and 'Society' (ironically, the two tracks not actually written by Vedder), and the beautiful album-closer 'Guaranteed'. There isn't a huge mix of styles, but it does vary from haunting to more upbeat pop stuff.

If you like Pearl Jam you probably have already heard at least some of this album. The music isn't too much of a deviation from the acoustic stuff they have done ('All Or None', 'Around The Bend', 'Of The Girl') but it's a little skewed more towards Eddie's style ('Soon Forget'). If you appreciate good songwriting and want something beautiful, melancholy and acoustic to relax to, you can't do much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting, 3 Jan. 2008
By 
C. Rowe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into The Wild - Ost (Audio CD)
...is a word over used when trying to describe good music, but it could not be more apt here.
I went to see the film and pretty quickly picked out Vedder's unmistakable vocal on top of what, at the time, seemed some largely inoffensive middle of the road folky rock music. However, having enjoyed the film I was given the soundtrack (this album) for Christmas and I have to say it is one of the best things I have heard for some time. The songs are well crafted and perfectly encapsulate the feelings of hope, independance and achievement associated with the film. In fact this is so good that only a couple of factors stop it from nudging into the "all time classic" territory: namely the length (33 mins) as some of the tracks are incidental music (Wolf, still brilliant) and others are very short, and also the fact that arguably the two standout tracks (Society & Big Hard Sun) were not penned by the man himself. Maybe that is nit-picking, but if he'd written the whole album it would have added to the resonance of the whole piece.

Anyway, buy/borrow this album and sit down over the next two cold & dark months with a drink and listen to this a few times (at 33 mnins it won't take long) and I promise you that songs like No Ceiling & Society will be emblazened in your memory for some time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short & sweet, 13 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Motion Picture Into The Wild (Audio CD)
The beautiful soundtrack from the most beautiful of movies.

I have never known a soundtrack to be so empathetic with its subject.The melancholy, accoustic music perfectly reflects the sweet, innocent, yearning that the film carries so well.

As a cd in its own right, this is also a very good piece of work. At 33 minutes or so, it could be argued to be on the short side yet I would say that there is certainly no "fillers" in this cd & the beautiful guitar work is matched by Vedder's lovely baritone.

Soothing & mellow, this is great reflective, late night listening.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did a movie soundtrack end up being so good?, 23 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: Music For The Motion Picture Into The Wild (Audio CD)
There are basically two types of movie soundtrack album. There are the ones where you get a song from the opening titles, a song from the closing titles and 10 tracks of incidental music or, alternately, the ones where a movie is set in a specific period and the sountrack is a "greatest hits" of that period.

This breaks the mold. Instead of 15 tracks of inoffensive incidental music designed not to detract from the movie (and hence, be pretty forgettable) someone had the ingenious idea of throwing Eddie Vedder, a guitar, a banjo and a mandolin into a recording studio and using the results.

The results are an album that stands up in its own right as a great record and a superb soundtrack. The simple chord sequences, evocative lyrics and Vedder's superb voice perfectly encapsulate the excitment and loneliness of the wilderness and the disillusioment that might lead someone to choose that over society.

Despite being better known for Pearl Jam's rock music, the standout tracks on this album are the simplest: those that use an arrangement of guitar/mandolin and Vedder's haunting delivery (Society, Rise, Long Nights).

If you're looking for something epic, this probably isn't the place, as each song clocks in at about 2 minutes. However, each short track is perfectly formed and results in a record that I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Potentially life changing!, 3 Feb. 2009
By 
Kieran Murphy (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into The Wild - Ost (Audio CD)
I hadnt paid much attention to this film and didnt have any high hopes for it when sitting down to watch. What a gem!!!
If you like something a bit deep then this is great, the film continues to keep you thinking about it long after its finished. It really made me look at life a little differently.
The film is beautifully filmed, with a great soundtrack and the story is is thought provoking and of course enhanced by the fact thats its true.
Well worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddie Vedder- Into the Wild ** VINYL**, 6 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Into The Wild [VINYL] (Audio CD)
This is one of those increasingly rare examples where a film and it's soundtrack are so entwined it is clear that one could not exist, or at least would be a much lesser body of work, without the other. It is clear that without this majestic soundtrack, Sean Penn's film would have struggled to conjure that wonderful sense of awe, inspiration and, ultimately, loneliness which seeps through the film.

Of course if you are reading this then you will most likely already have seen this film, in my opinion one of the most stunning films of the last decade. The soundtrack is an equally hypnotic experience, and really needs to be listened to as a whole to appreciate the measured beauty of the journey. Thanks to this album, I am only just starting to uncover his day job with the mighty Pearl Jam!

Enough waffle, my main reason for this review is to highlight the VINYL version of this album. Having only recently got into the format, I was eager to get hold of this. After some research, I found initial pressings of this album were going for daft money on ebay. After further desperate searching, I found out that a company called 'Music on Vinyl' had repressed it recently on heavyweight 180g vinyl. What's most impressive is that they have produced it identically to the original pressing, complete with a beautiful lyric booklet containing photos from the film, as well as informative liner notes from Sean Penn. The only thing missing is a 7 inch single from the original, but for me this is no big deal. The vinyl itself sounds more intimate, detailed and rich than the CD version which I also own.

A real quality purchase, snap this up before these too go for silly money!!

PS. I purchased my copy from 'Action Records' within the amazon website, for £[]- cracking service, and the cheapest choice too!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild Tales, 22 Mar. 2008
By 
Mr. A. W. Riggs "bernard shakey" (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Wild - Ost (Audio CD)
Watch the film, listen to the soundtrack and repeat until it all becomes clear. A stunning film with this fabulous record from Eddie Vedder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Motion Picture Into The Wild (Audio CD)
Despite its relative modest time span, this CD is a shining diamond. The songs are short, but close to perfection. For lovers of Pearl Jam, this CD is evidently a must and they have probably already bought it a long time ago, however it will also captivate others who enjoy well crafted, first-rate acoustic pieces reminiscent of the legendary "Just Breathe". I haven't listened to much music lately except this great soundtrack; there are pearl upon pearl in this album; the two major songs are of course "Society" and "Hard Sun", two superbly enthralling pieces of magic, but not the only ones. In my opinion, songs like "Guaranteed", "Long Nights" and the short and simple "Rise" are also contestants for the top spots, while my personal favourite is "No Ceiling", a spellbinding tune I probably already have heard a hundred times.

There is not much reason not to buy this album. It is great and easily one of the best I've heard in a very long time. The music is strikingly beautiful and Eddie Vedder's voice is superb and exceptional as always. The quality of each minute of music is stunning, so you definitely get your money's worth on this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Into the wild, 1 May 2009
By 
Ms. Angharad Kuck (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music For The Motion Picture Into The Wild (Audio CD)
I was very inspired by the film so much so that I went bought the book and soundtrack..I don't usually buy soundtracks but this one being by Eddie Vedder I could not resist...And I wasn't let down either apart from how short it is..EDDIE, WE WANT FULL LENGTH VERSIONS OF THE SONGS!! It is a haunting memoir for the atmosphere and deep yearning felt in the film, with Eddies beautiful vocals and inspiring lyrics..a sure winner. Kick back ,relax, listen and be taken away into the wild......xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for the car, 3 Sept. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stumbled across this film while channel hopping one night. The story is great and so is the music. Every track is meaningful and likeable on first listen. Brilliant find that just came out of nowhere. This is now one of my favourite albums. Its great for the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music For The Motion Picture Into The Wild
Music For The Motion Picture Into The Wild by Eddie Vedder (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews