Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection for the country music newbie
Let me begin my saying that such a low price for 101 songs is great value in any case, but when around 95 of the songs are brilliant, it's bargain basement stuff.

This is a wonderful collection of country music hits. It is fair to say that the majority of tracks here are from the golden age of country music, but interspersed throughout the album are a few...
Published on 15 Oct. 2008 by E. Clarke

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Historic nostagia.
The contents were fine and of course it was only putting together many tracks that we had heard over the decades. We knew whnat we were getting, just puts them together on one CD.

I am now very dissappointed that Amazon - who otherwise provides a first class service , pays no tax into the British economy!!
Get your finances sorted out or I will boycott...
Published on 15 Nov. 2012 by Gramps


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection for the country music newbie, 15 Oct. 2008
By 
E. Clarke "Ed Clarke" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 101 Country Hits (Audio CD)
Let me begin my saying that such a low price for 101 songs is great value in any case, but when around 95 of the songs are brilliant, it's bargain basement stuff.

This is a wonderful collection of country music hits. It is fair to say that the majority of tracks here are from the golden age of country music, but interspersed throughout the album are a few catchy modern tracks that make the collection beautifully balanced, allowing for a smoother, less overwhelming experience for the modern listener. Many of the tracks are instantly recognisable, with all the massive hits there, "The Gambler", "9 to 5", "Always on my Mind", "Ring of Fire" to name a few. But there are also a few hidden gems here, melodically and lyrically, that aren't nearly as well known, and it is these that make the album so impressive.

For the country music veteran (which I am most certainly not), this album is no doubt superfluous to your collection, but for someone fairly new to country music, this is a fantastic starting point well worth investing in. Or maybe if you just want a casual album to brighten up a car journey, this album is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One For The Car!, 8 Jan. 2008
This review is from: 101 Country Hits (Audio CD)
I was bought this as a Christmas present by a relative who knows I like country music .... but a relative who didn't appreciate how much country music I have in my collection! Out of the 101 tracks on this 4CD set, I probably already have about 50 on other CDs! But gathered together like this, it makes a superb varied mix collection for the car!

For someone first dipping a toe into the exciting world of country music, this collection is hard to beat - it's got loads of classics fromthe likes of Johnny Cash, Dolly Parton, Tammy Wynette, Glen Campbell, George Jones, and Kenny Rogers, interspersed with some newer artists like Steve Holy and Rodney Atkins.

There are couple of oddities that stop me giving it 5 stars - a very nasty edit and fade to the great Brooks & Dunn track "The Long Goodbye", the inclusion of the odd "Ballad Of Jed Clampett" (the theme song from old comedy show "The Beverley Hill Billies") by Flatt & Scruggs rather than something like "Foggy Mountain Breakdown", and two tracks from distinctly average Hayseed Dixie but only one from the great Willie Nelson!

So, a great start for new comers to country music and a good set to keep in the car. And marvellous value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 101 country hits, various artists. Decent Country primer, 26 Sept. 2009
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Country Hits (Audio CD)
This is a decent budget collection of well known country hits, ideal for people who are just starting their country collections, and want to sample a wide variety of artists and material.

It contains all the obvious material, Johnny Cash with `Ring of Fire', Kris Kristofferson with `Me and Bobby McGee, Dolly Parton with `9-5', Glen Campbell with `Rhinestone Cowboy', etc, etc. There are also some lesser known hits, and covers of well known material by lesser known bands. These are a bit more hit and miss than the acknowledged blockbusters, but are generally worthy and listenable.

The collection concentrates on material from the 60's to the present day, so misses out on some great early tracks, there is no Hank Williams, Hank Snow or Bob Wills to be found here, which is a bit of a pity. Even so, it is a great collection, and for the money being asked, well worth it. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cash in for country, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Country Hits (Audio CD)
forget the albums advertised on the tv channels at £40plus, this has every hit you've ever heard of, it's like a time machine , superb, a must buy highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Country Hits, 15 Feb. 2011
This review is from: 101 Country Hits (Audio CD)
This is a high-quality country music compilation that lives up to the title of 101 country hits. The following list is some of the country hits available on this expansive four cd set:

Amazed-Lonestar
I Need You-Leann Rimes
I Love A Rainy Night-Eddie Rabbitt
Would You Lay With Me (In a Field of Stone)-Tanya Tucker
Leaving on a Jet Plane-John Denver
If I Said You Had a Beautiful Body Would You Hold it Against Me-Bellamy Brothers
Stand By Your Man-Tammy Wynette
I Will Always Love You-Dolly Parton

This compilation is worth purchasing if you are open to listening to classic as well as modern country and/or you are an open-minded music lover that likes to collect various artist compilations from around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection, whether for beginners or dedicated fans, 29 Jun. 2014
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 101 Country Hits (Audio CD)
I would probably have bought this in 2007, the year of release, despite having so m any tracks already, because it's such a great compilation. I had no money to spend on music back then, and by the time I did, this compilation was out of print. More recently, I found a used copy in top condition so I snapped it up.

This set is a collaborative multi-label effort, with tracks from EMI as well as Sony/BMG and maybe others too. This means that you get tracks together on one compilation that you would normally find only on different compilations.

Being a UK compilation, there is an emphasis on artists who have established their popularity with British fans, but there are some less obvious selections here too.

Whether you have a huge country music collection (as I do) or just like to dabble in the music occasionally, this set has a lot to like about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 101 country hits, 12 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Country Hits (Audio CD)
Its not all country, its a mix of country and easy listening, so, if you want just country music? then I would not recommend this set, but if you enjoy a mix of both then (for the price) I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 3 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: 101 Country Hits (Audio CD)
I love this CD. It has all my favorite tracks on it and some I had not heard of before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bargain Store, 22 Sept. 2013
This review is from: 101 Country Hits (Audio CD)
Amongst the predictable inclusions here is Bobby Bare's version of Green Green Grass Of Home and a reminder that it was Bare who cut the original demo of a song which was picked up by Johnny Darrell,then Porter Wagoner and later Jerry Lee Lewis -this is how Tom Jones found the song and will be forever associated with it
Really if this was a 25 box set there would be people complaining of who was missing.
I don't expect to find Peggy Little here yet she had at least 3 hits on the country charts including what may have been the first version of Son Of A Preacher Man and Norma Jean who was Dolly Parton's predecessor in the Porter Wagoner Show had over a dozen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 101 country hits, 30 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Country Hits (MP3 Download)
I am a devout country music fan and this ticked all the boxes. Don`t think I could have asked for a better description than I could have got on the box. I am very happy with it and love listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

101 Country Hits
101 Country Hits by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews