Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly accessible Symphonic metal
I was blown away the first time I heard this band, and now months later, after delving into the genre in a big way, I've yet to hear better. Nightwish are a Finnish 5-piece with standard rock line-up except they use an operatic soprano as lead vocalist. First released in 1998 this is exceptionally powerful and colourful music.

The soprano vocals may take a...
Published on 24 Jun. 2008 by Fergal Woods

versus
3 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmm
To be honest I think this album is a particularly bad attempt of disgusing girlie pop as some kind of rock. With awful cheapo style orchestral noises getting in the way. To do it some justice, the melodies are quite inventive and are most definitely unique. But not one for me.
Published on 16 Jan. 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a blast, 21 Aug. 2007
the reviews below seem to cover it, I thought Once was something special and on the first listen of this cd I was a little disappointed.....second listen it hit ..BIG TIME. Third and subsequent listens have just blown me away, what a combination of music, even the walking on the air cover isn't out of place, probably better than the original. They have some fun as well, superb stuff all round. What are they capable of next, can they get any better.....??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Breakthrough Album, 20 Nov. 2005
Oceanborn still marks the pinnacle of what Nightwish are capable of. That is, hard, heavy, slightly proggy, and insanely catchy symphonic pop-metal. Quite a mouthful I know, but this is a band that have two major facets that set them apart from the rest. Firstly, they know (like all successfull rock bands of the past) that great rock is just as much about catchy melodies as it is about heavy riffs and a striking image.
Secondly, they have Tarja Turunnen. Either this was a girl who took the wrong turning at the musical careers office or singing at the Royal Opera House really was not for her. A truly remarkable voice that turns the already good into the utterly magnificent.
On Oceanborn, we have a band all to aware of what they can do and well prepared to carry it off. An utter blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nightwish-Oceanborn, 6 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Oceanborn (Audio CD)
What a brilliantly composed album! The drumming is outstanding. The Lyrics also powerful and the group work well together. Definately Nightwish's finest piece of work. I haven't stopped listen to it since I have heard it the first time. Well worth the money. Great price! Great sound! great value! I can't wait till they release their new album. The cover is spectacular to look at too, the artistic drawing is amazing and the bonus is the album comes with the lyrics too. Congratulation Amazon for merchandising this album and Nightwish for releasing it and giving us such a great masterpiece!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Drama & passion, 13 April 2015
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oceanborn (Audio CD)
The Finns have given us one truly great composer in Jean Sibelius, and here's a metal band that transcends the genre by the sheer force of their commitment to making music that has integrity and passion.
I'm new to Nightwish - an article in the magazine Prog did it - and I'm glad to make their acquaintance. I'm not even a big fan of heavy metal, preferring Led Zep or ZZ Top when it comes to rock music, but this band are a bit special.
For one thing they have an operatic female singer, for another their guitarist is genuinely superb, their drummer sounds like he's happy in his work, and keyboardist and Nightwish supremo Tuomas Holopajnen creates orchestral soundscapes that may well have Wakeman, Banks and Kaye drooling.
There used to be an excellent if eccentric American band called Pavlov's Dog, whose singer was a man named David Surkamp (still going strong) who was the proud possessor of an unfeasibly high voice. Tarja Turunen sounds like a dead ringer. She was with the band for some years, and what her voice lacks perhaps in variety (partly due to the overwhelming, though excellent, production) it makes up for in sheer force of personality.
This reissue comes with a booklet to treasure and welcome extra live tracks. I've got a thing for Finland and the Finns, and I'm happy to know they've produced at least one good rock band. They even do Walking in the Air - yes, that one - on this second album.

Exhausting but uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing !!!!!!, 23 Mar. 2013
I dont know how they keep making these amazing tunes, but Nightwish has restored my faith in powerful music. They are such a welcome change from the vomit stains we hear over the radio. I hope NightWish live forever!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Nightwish!, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oceanborn (Audio CD)
A real must for all Nightwish fans -cannot be disappointed with this fine purchase. Had to wait for import from either USA or Hong Kong but so worth the wait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oceanborn [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Best album of nightwish discography. Heavy metal 1st quality. And vinyl artwork is very beautiful. I recommend to lovers of heavy metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 6 May 2009
By 
F. Areti - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oceanborn (Audio CD)
Excellent disk,with bonus stuff and with excellent bootleg inside!!!
A must have for every fan of Nightwish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nightwish at their best, 31 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Oceanborn (Audio CD)
Fabulous album, my favourite from Nightwish. All the classic Nightwish sounds, good crunchy guitars, strong bass, excellent strings, and of course Tarja's soaring voice. One of those albums where every track is a winner. Even Walking In The Air is good! A couple of great live versions at the end too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 17 Sept. 2010
By 
J. Anthony (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oceanborn (Audio CD)
A great album. Just not as great as some of there other work. But still a great album that will bear repeated listening too. I think my Wife is getting fed up with my Nightwish devotion. Buy it and you won't be disipointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oceanborn
Oceanborn by Nightwish (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews