Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars32
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2001
How to repair Briggs and Stratton engines is essential for anyone looking to save money on engine repairs. The book contains information on all 4 stroke, single cylinder, side valve engines - I/C and standard. It does not, however, cover Vanguard series although most parts are the same. It also touches on the 4 hp I/C 96700 2 stroke engine. This book is an essential tool for beginners. It is full of clear black and white illustrations and clear descriptions on how it works and how to repair it. It can also be a useful reference for experts with its tables showing how tight bolts should be and the distance between the magneto and flywheel. However I think this book could be concentrated more on carburettors. I feel the section was too brief to cover all the carburettors available. Also every measurement was in inches - metric please! This aside I would strongly recommend this book to anyone having problems with engines
11 comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
This book is fine if you want to get a very high level overview of the engines. However, it's appeal is likely to be limited to a very small audience indeed. For those with good existing mechanical knowledge, it adds no real value on top of what you already know. For those who are new to engines and particularly this type of engine, it doesn't provide sufficient detail or step by step instructions to do anything other than the most basic tasks.

Whilst the front cover looks fairly modern, the contents appear to be a bit out of date and some of the part numbers have since changed (which doesn't help when you're trying to buy replacements). Photos would also be more helpful than the large number of drawings which appear in the book.

There are also so many different variants of B&S engines, that you'd be better off saving your pennies and buying the relevant instruction / repair manual for your particular B&S engine, which are readily available from reputable B&S parts dealers.

In short, don't bother with this one unless you're trying to build the definitive collection of books on Briggs & Stratton engines.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
Tells you how to do the job and a bit about the how and why it works. Every day language that's easy to follow and learn the correct terminology at the same time. Certainly good for me as an D.I.Y type. Well set out and feel that i could tackle the next job without much reference to the book because he explains clearly at the first read. Pictures and diagrams good. 1st repair /service Saved me the cost of the book, parts and about £35.00+ over the cost of the not so local repair shop. Recommended. rate it 4 to 5 star. Will look for the same author next time.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
I agree totally with the comments of a reviewer below (M. Price). I really can't see who this book would be aimed at as its too high level for most repairs and I think anyone with more than very basic mechanical knowledge will be very disappointed. Those looking for help with basic repairs are also unlikely to find it useful as it only describes and illustrates a small selection of the many variants found in B&S engines.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
This book contains very few drawings and those are less than useful. The Kindle version is valueless as the tables and drawings are illegible. Based on the Kindle version, I cannot see the hardback copy being of use either.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2010
An absolute useful guidance to fault-finding and self-repair of B&S engines,
...and it actually caused a simple repair instead of a normally very expensive visit to the dealers workshop.
Pure gasoline blew out 2m of exhaust due to simple failure in caburettor. Simple, when the correct parts have been identified and replaced.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
Tuning governors section was very feeble with next to no advice for trouble shooting. I write some motor manual articles and am horrified how little real practical advice there was. If it hadn't been fairly cheap I would have sent it back!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
I recently purchased a second hand rotavator off ebay which had a briggs and stratton engine fitted to it. The engine ran ok but was very smokey and noisey so I decided to get this book to help me strip it down and rebuild it. The book itself is clearly laid out and informative with numerous diagrams and photos. I appreciate that this is of very limited use to someone with rudimentary mechanical skills but to a complete novice like me, it gave me the confidence to strip it down and rebuild it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
it gives all the information i need in settings and specifications and anything i have forgotten as i am getting old. It just jogs my memory
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
More of a Briggs & Stratton manufacturers history than technical manual.
Good reading but not as technically helpful as expected.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)