Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource
David Starkey is the sort of man who divides opinion because of his opinions. I suppose far better that than something else.

If you enjoy his style and delivery (or at the least, can put up with it), this is a treasure-trove of information. I enjoy reading his books, and the programmes are neatly made. The 'dramatisations', much as they are, do not distract or...
Published on 29 Aug. 2008 by J. Hutchings

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong area, area 1 wanted area 4 wished to ...
Wrong area , area 1 wanted area 4 wished to return but the cost was almost twice cost of the DVD collection so was left out of pocket.....hope the next lot are correct!
Published 7 months ago by Jennifer Milligan


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No dry history, 18 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
David Starkey's transfers his enthusiasm seamlessly to the viewer. His style is more a story teller than a historian making the series, and subject, very easy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Educational, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Starkey: The Complete Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Dr David Starkey is in my opinion the leading voice on the British Monarchy.

This DVD collection which was shown as a series on Channel 4 is a detailed explanation on how the British Monarchy was formed and how it has changed and reinvented itself and has been continuous (except that brief period from 1649-1660).

For obvious time reasons every single Monarch could not have been explored in great detail but the obvious suspects such as the Tudors, the Edwards and the Stuarts are given a spotlight.

However saying that every single Monarch is named and something is said about them.

The DVD explores the fact of how the Monarchy has had to adapt to society around it in order to preserve itself whilst retaining tradition including all the pomp and pageantry which the British seem to do so well!!

An educational trip through history helped by Dr Starkey's enthusiasm for the subject the enduring story of the Monarchy is told all the way from the Anglo Saxon times to our modern day incarnation we have today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Starkey wows an American!, 4 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These are just the greatest DVD's ever! Thanks to my region free DVD player, I can take advantage of products from the UK, and David Starkey's output is some of the best. This is a fascinating set. Anyone who loves history will appreciate them. I highly recommend this to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English History, 4 Jan. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a magnificent telling of the history of our nation from its very beginnings...superbly told and re-lived making every era come to life and make sense of how this nation became to be the way it is.
I can't praise it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being just a foreigner with only rudimentary knowledge of the English history, I would not dare to write about the nicety of the historical content. But I am glad to have the opportunity to express my admiration for the succint and down-to earth presentation. Mr. Starkey speaks very clearly and thus he is easy to follow. Besides, the series is additionaly equipped with subtitles. Excellent lecture! I believe Mr. Starkey helped me to imporve my knowledge considerably. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing history, 22 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Basically I am not interested in history so much, however wanted to get an overview about UK's one.
I expected easy understandable information hence my poor English.
I am happy with Starkeys's collection. I got what I wanted and would recommend to others who has little time but looking for the recent England's historical background.
In the other hand I appreciate Amazon's website, supported me to find the best in the wide range of selection.
Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way to learn history, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
David Starkey takes us on a journey with this box set, from the beginning of the monarchy to the present day. His episodes are easy to follow and to understand the complicated history of Britain's royalty, as well as adding subtle humour along the way. The box set includes the three monarchy series, the Elizabeth series, and a series on Henry VIIIs six wives. I recommend this to anyone who wants to know more about history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series on British monarchy, 18 Dec. 2010
By 
Jane Stark (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb series on the British monarchy, narrated by the inimitable David Starkey. Starkey has a great ability to present history in an accurate, but entertaining fashion, without resorting to the sensationalism of some other TV historical series. Well worth having as a reference work, and interesting enough to watch many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful & informative, 22 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very in-depth analysis of the history of England starting with the Anglo-Saxons. Too bad it does not go all the way back to the early Britons & Druids (covering the period of Stonehenge). A fascinating & informative overview. Mr. Starkey does allow himself a little bit of drama here & there "William the Conqueror changed the course of British history forever!" but overall an enjoyable documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual David starkey gives an interesting and informative journey threw history. If he'd been my teacher in school I definitely would have gotten an A. Every story told in perfect detail. History actually brought to life. Fascinating DVDs and well worth the money. Can also highly recommend his books on Henry the eighth and Elizabeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Starkey: The Complete Collection Box Set [DVD]
£19.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews