Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Entertainment!
I sat down to watch 'Hot Rod' having heard nothing about it, which I suppose is often the best way to see a film. Well, the first thing that caught my attention was the soundtrack, from the very first scene to the last: Europe...brilliant! I used to listen to Europe years ago and had almost forgotten that they exist, it's great to hear them again. The entire soundtrack is...
Published on 5 Dec 2007 by Airi Momo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice movie for teenagers
The item is good and it arrived as promptly as ever.
It is a quite nice movie, fit for teenagers.
Published 3 months ago by ROBIES


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Entertainment!, 5 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Hot Rod [DVD] (DVD)
I sat down to watch 'Hot Rod' having heard nothing about it, which I suppose is often the best way to see a film. Well, the first thing that caught my attention was the soundtrack, from the very first scene to the last: Europe...brilliant! I used to listen to Europe years ago and had almost forgotten that they exist, it's great to hear them again. The entire soundtrack is like a Europe album. Anyway, the film is brilliant too! It's basically about a guy called Rod Taylor and he is a stuntman, a really bad one, and he's always trying to beat his father-in-law Frank in these fights the two of them have, and Frank constently teases him for never being able to beat him, until his heart gets bad. At this point Rod decides that the only way to be able to beat the hell out of Frank is to attempt to jump fifteen buses to raise the money needed for Franks heart operation. This way, Frank can get better and the two of them can get it on, so Rod can prove once and for all that he's got what it takes to beat the holy hell out of Frank!

I laughed my head off all the way through, Hot Rod is easily the funniest, most enjoyable comedy I've seen for years, in fact I loved it so much that I went and got myself a US region 1 version as I couldn't wait for it to come out in the UK. So if you want to see a film that makes you laugh (a lot!) and has the added bonus of an excellent soundtrack, then see Hot Rod, it's brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot Rod, Blu-Ray, 24 Feb 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Rod [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
`Hot Rod' is a hilarious comedy with the best cheesy eighties soundtrack you will ever hear. Following a teenage stuntman who plans to jump 15 buses to raise 50k for his stepfathers heart operation, this film has many laugh out loud moments and reminded me of `Waynes World' for it's outlandish fantasies and shameless homage to all things geeky and kitsch. Everyone plays their roles perfectly and the deadpan delivery of some lines and the completely off the wall touches had me laughing out loud at various points throughout the film. The punch dance is a particular highlight and there is an feature on the extras showing the filming of this scene. The eighties power ballads really added to the overall feel of the film and although extremely cheesy, fit perfectly with the characters and story, who isn't inspired by an eighties rock song behind a stunt sequence eh! This is short at just over 80 minutes but it achieves what it sets out to and is a light hearted, fun, off the wall comedy. I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I did and this makes for great viewing.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best film ever, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: Hot Rod [DVD] (DVD)
this is my personal fav!
my brother and i both love this film its the funniest film ive ever seen!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hot Rod, 17 Feb 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Rod [DVD] (DVD)
`Hot Rod' is a hilarious comedy with the best cheesy eighties soundtrack you will ever hear. Following a teenage stuntman who plans to jump 15 buses to raise 50k for his stepfathers heart operation, this film has many laugh out loud moments and reminded me of `Waynes World' for it's outlandish fantasies and shameless homage to all things geeky and kitsch. Everyone plays their roles perfectly and the deadpan delivery of some lines and the completely off the wall touches had me laughing out loud at various points throughout the film. The punch dance is a particular highlight and there is an feature on the extras showing the filming of this scene. The eighties power ballads really added to the overall feel of the film and although extremely cheesy, fit perfectly with the characters and story, who isn't inspired by an eighties rock song behind a stunt sequence eh! This is short at just over 80 minutes but it achieves what it sets out to and is a light hearted, fun, off the wall comedy. I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I did and this makes for great viewing.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great laughs, great party movie but..., 31 Mar 2009
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hot Rod [DVD] (DVD)
This is a hilarious movie and the trailors do set the tone for the content, it reminded me of a crazy cross over between Napoleon Dynamite and Waynes World, it actually works.

The humour is mainly slapstick or cringe worthy set pieces, strung together into what felt like a huge, extended length movie trailor and while this makes for much amusement and it would make a great feature to watch with friends I think its also a draw back. The plot's very simple and I dont believe, other than watching it with different company to compare your favourite scenes that there's much in the way of rewatch value here.

So if short on story, long on laughs and stunts is your thing rent or buy this and you wont be disappointed. Its unfair to say its the worst movie in a long time when there's stuff like Tropic Thunder around and a lot of the slapstick humour is the sort of thing which more readily features in cartoon or animated stories like the Simpsons, its awesome to see it in a live action movie. A lot of the tunes on the soundtrack are well choosen too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funnier than Superbad, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Hot Rod [DVD] (DVD)
Over looked at time of release due to over exposure of Super Bad.
Hotrod is by far the funnier film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really funny, 1 Sep 2010
By 
Helen Bugler (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Rod [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
We all loved this film. Best for the lads of course (my sons loved it) but even I laughed and laughed, and we kept repeating some of the funniest bits to each other over the summer - it's that kind of film. Skip the extras though - they are mostly bits which didn't make it into the film and with good reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Balls of Fire, 15 July 2010
This review is from: Hot Rod [DVD] (DVD)
Consistently funny with a rockin' soundtrack (if you like Europe)& plenty of roaring two wheeled action from our daredevil hero - Rod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'is that a throwing star?', 20 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. James A. Ward "james" (plymouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Rod [DVD] (DVD)
Since watching this movie last year it is actually affected my life.
evan thinking about this movie puts me in to hysterics.
This movie has added many phrases in to my vocabulary which are frequently used.
any one who has any immaturity and a sense of humor will love this film.
ULTIMATE PUNCH!
LOVE JAMESXXXXX (call me!?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Hilarious!, 27 Feb 2010
This review is from: Hot Rod [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
Being an Andy Samberg fan I couldn't resist buying this on Blu-Ray, and I got to say, the picture quality is brilliant, the sound is amazing due to the soundtrack of this film being fantastic.

The story is about Rod Kimble (Andy Samberg) a stuntman who just wants to earn respect from his step dad (Ian McShane). This movie is so different from any other comedy and is very un-predictable and you will defiantly laugh out loud a lot!

So if you like silly but brilliant comedy I suggest you buy this movie on Blu-Ray Hi-Dif for an outstanding hilarious performance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Rod [HD DVD] [2007] [US Import]
Hot Rod [HD DVD] [2007] [US Import] by Akiva Schaffer (HD DVD - 2007)
£8.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews