Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garth's warm vision, 26 April 2008
By 
Sentinel (Essex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garth: Six Concertos for Violoncello /Tunnicliffe The Avison Ensemble Beznosiuk (Audio CD)
Do you like Correlli, Bach, and cello? Do you enjoy period instruments when they produce a warm, earthy timbre? Do you appreciate musicianship of quality and sensitivity? The Avison Ensemble are in our debt for the way they have resurrected the works of this 18th century, Newcastle-born cellist/composer, a contemporary of Avison's. This is a lovely double cd, with a warm human vision at its centre. Richard Tunnicliffe's cello playing is a mellow, earthy delight,with a warm,singing tone, effortlessly matched by the playing of the Avison Ensemble, who generate a sparklingly joyful, bouyant 'sprung rhythmn', which lifts the music magically to another level. This is very well recorded, having an immediacy which would have you believe the musicians are in the room with you, probably due to the wonderful acoustic of the Picture Gallery in Paxton House, where it was recorded. Ideal music for relaxation, for mood enhancement, and with sufficient richness and complexity to reward repeat listening. This is a rich little treasure indeed. If you enjoy this, you should also investigate this fine ensembles performances of Charles Avison's work on Naxos Charles Avison: Twelve Concertos, Op. 6 and Charles Avison: Six Concertos, Op. 3; Eight Concertos, Op. 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 15 Sep 2010
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Garth: Six Concertos for Violoncello /Tunnicliffe The Avison Ensemble Beznosiuk (Audio CD)
I was a bit dubious about this double CD because little-known composers are often little-known for a very good reason, but I tried it because Richard Tunnicliffe and Pavlo Beznosiuk are such excellent musicians and because of the favourable reviews here. I am very glad I did - it is excellent.

I had never heard of John Garth before, but on this evidence he was a very good composer indeed. He was roughly contemporary with Haydn but these cello concertos seem to me still to have a lot common with those of the Baroque, although there are distinct elements of the emerging Classical style. I find them delightful - by turns graceful and elegant, thrilling and gently beautiful, and they are full of melody and excellent harmonic invention. I was extremely pleasantly surprised by how good they were on first hearing, and I have listened to them repeatedly and with great pleasure.

Part of what makes them so enjoyable are the excellent performances. Richard Tunnicliffe excels in this repertoire - he is technically very fine, the sound of his cello is lovely and he shows a great empathy with both Garth's music and his fellow musicians. The Avison Ensemble on this recording consists of just six musicians - one to a part - directed by the excellent Pavlo Beznosiuk. They have a wonderful spring and suppleness which is ideally suited to this music but have plenty of welly when needed. I think it is exemplary playing.

The recorded sound is excellent and the notes are very good (and very readable). I agree with the other reviewers here; this is a terrific recording and very warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation!, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garth: Six Concertos for Violoncello /Tunnicliffe The Avison Ensemble Beznosiuk (Audio CD)
Why haven't we heard more of John Garth? These concertos are a delight, impeccably played and recorded. Richard Tunnicliffe is a superb baroque/classical cellist, as demonstrated also in his recording of the Bach cello suites. The sound of his gut strings, the lack of vibrato, his clarity of attack and intonation, the occasional restrained decoration [e.g.Bach's 6th suite Sarabande] all put him on a par with Bylsma and Wispelwey in this style. Sheet music of the Garth concertos is sadly not available - an opportunity for an enterprising publisher? Capable amateur cellists would rush to buy them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garth cello concertos op1, 23 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garth: Six Concertos for Violoncello /Tunnicliffe The Avison Ensemble Beznosiuk (Audio CD)
John Garth was a cellist who hailed from Durham.He was also,in all likelihood,a pupil of the better known Newcastle organist and composer Charles Avison.In the 1750's he composed his op 1 - a set of 6 cello concertos and on the evidence of these discs,Garth's creative skills are even finer than many Italian and German masters of the same period.
The Avison Ensemble and in particular cellist Richard Tunnicliffe,have been blessed with rave reviews regarding this 2006 recording.
These concerto's are without a doubt from the pen of a very gifted composer and it's all vividly captured by the engineers.

Strongly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little-known gem in the classical repertoire, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garth: Six Concertos for Violoncello /Tunnicliffe The Avison Ensemble Beznosiuk (Audio CD)
My first encounter with this music was via my radio station of choice, Classic FM. This is a cd of six concertos for violoncello with four violins, alto viola and basso ripieno. I enjoyed the first piece I heard and then sufficiently impressed by subsequent tracks to buy the cd. For me, the whole cd is a delight, with the music both uplifting and relaxing. I bought the cd about 2 months ago and unlike some that that soon find their way to the bottom of the pile I enjoy returning to this music, both to listen and as a gentle and unitrusive background to reading. Tastes differ, but it is quite possible that those who love the rich tones of the cello could be as pleased by this discovery as I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garth: Six Concertos for Violoncello /Tunnicliffe The Avison Ensemble Beznosiuk (Audio CD)
I can only add to the general plaudits.

There's a great deal on this disc to demand the listener's attention - I can't see anyone being seriously disappointed with it.

Thoroughly enjoyable - lovely music, expertly rendered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British composers, 28 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garth: Six Concertos for Violoncello /Tunnicliffe The Avison Ensemble Beznosiuk (Audio CD)
I was introduced to Charles Avison's music by my piano teacher many years ago. He, from Newcastle on Tyne was a surprise. His pupil Garth bears comparison with many better known composers of the era. I would like to hear more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprise, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garth: Six Concertos for Violoncello /Tunnicliffe The Avison Ensemble Beznosiuk (Audio CD)
If you're like me, even though you may know lots of classical music, you may not have heard of Garth. But it's fun enjoyable acessible music so go give it a try. I shall be replaying these quite frequently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd & download, 24 April 2014
By 
J. D. Ruddick - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garth: Six Concertos for Violoncello /Tunnicliffe The Avison Ensemble Beznosiuk (Audio CD)
10/10 - brilliant album by a composer who was New to me, I love the CD. Will certainly get other works by this composer.
The Avison ensemble are a great British band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem, 19 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garth: Six Concertos for Violoncello /Tunnicliffe The Avison Ensemble Beznosiuk (Audio CD)
I heard this on RadioSwissClassic and was intrigued. The CD's don't disappoint and are a happy trbute to an almost lost composer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews