Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great transfer with extras
This is a much better transfer than the previous blu-ray release.
Same length also though it says Director's Cut.
Also one of the best sci-fi movies of the 80's that have more than quotable lines and memorable characters.

Special Features :-

Q&A with the filmmakers inc, Paul Verhoeven, Peter Weller & Nancy Allen- 2012 - 42mins
Flesh...
Published 6 months ago by Fleece

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a waste
First of all, at least its the extended version of the movie, but all the extras from the dvd edition are missing, and the picture quality isnt the best. The TV footage at the start was meant to be low grade, but the actual footage of the film is nowhere near what we expect from Bluray. My picture had an annoying motion blur as the characters moved.

Like most...
Published on 18 Sep 2008 by DeeJay


‹ Previous | 18 9 1017 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST ROBOCOP - EXPERIENCE ON A SPECTACULAR BLU-RAY, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie is great, and it comes with great DTS 5.1, that will pop up your home-cinema, it has 26 subtitles for all languages, about 3 hours of extras :) that is really cool :)

Buy this movie, it worth every pound :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a picture its easiest the BEST picture ever seen of Robocop.

Sound is average but the extras make up for that as there is more than enough to keep Robocop fans entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic!!!!, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The violence is fitting and stylist for the film's main drive - society has broken down and everyone is corruptible (and desperate). Brought this for the novelty factor and originally saw this when it first came out. It will be interesting to see how it compares to the remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you still have the trilogy boxset, don't lose it!, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. X. Hui "Xavy H" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm rating this product 3/5, only due to the lack of additional content on the disc. For the price, it's a good thing I got this cheaper on eBay!

On the disc, you get the Director's Cut of the film and the theatrical trailer - THAT'S IT (If you own the Trilogy DVD boxset that was released in 2002, I say KEEP IT)! The picture quality is great, couldn't fault really fault it.

Overall, if you can get this steelbook edition cheaper and don't mind it having next to nothing - go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great film technically wasted on BluRay, 10 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [1987] (Blu-ray)
A great sci-fi film which should be put up there with all the greats.. Hacked to pieces by the censors means the violence loses it's dark comic edge and seems a little more serious - but you don't get to see Paul Verhoeven's explanation in the extras. Because there aren't any! Unlike on the DVD edition.

To be honest, a brilliant film, though it is, I cannot understand what I spent my money on, and to be honest I should have got the DVD and let the PS3 do it's upscaling tricks, I was expecting a fully digitally remastered version of the film on this format - thankfully I got this, used, at a lower price.

So to sum up, a great film, but is it really worth paying the extra money for the BD, when it feels like you get much more on the DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Shootin' Son, What's Your Name?, 2 Sep 2010
By 
T. J. Cotterill "Smog_Monster" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
if you haven't seen the movie, then I refer you to other reviews. My review concentrates on the technical quality of this release over others. This is one of my favourite titles, I have over the years, seen it theatrically on its release in 1987, rented it some months later and bought the sell through VHS when released. I later bought (and still have) the Criterion Collection "Director approved" two CAV laserdisc edition which cost me about 80 at the time. The picture quality was superb and was the first time the directors cut was available to buy. DVD brought the MGM trilogy set, which to my mind had too much blue in the clour and the branching between the theatrical and extended cuts was far from seamless resulting (on my players) in a pause not unlike that seen at layer change only worse. This 20th Anniversat edition is in a Steelbook, has DTS for the first time and the print has a colour balance much nearer to the Criterion Collection edition and as the two versions of the movies are on seperate discs, no branching issues apply!. There are also some new interviews. All in all, the best editon available so far,
pity no PAL region 2 release yet, but if you can play region 1, I recommend this one whole heartedly.

PS, if you have the Criterion set, don't ditch it as it has a commentary by Paul Verhoeven that has not been released on any other edition (and that 12" brushed stainless steel effect gatefold sleeve is superb!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME !!!!!!!!! ROBO RULES !!!, 25 Aug 2010
Robocop is a simply great action film with a great story,great action and a great cast.
Plot
A police officer called Alex Murhy is killed by a group of thugs lead by Clarence Boddicker. Alex's memory is erased and is built by a company called ocp as ROBOCOP a crime fighting machine witch nobody can beat. Before Murhy was killed he had a parnter called Lewis, she tells robocop that he is human and not machine and over the film robo realies that he is infact half human and remebers how Clarenece and his thugs killed him so he sets out to take revenge.
This is a awesome film and any movie fan should have and we all know it was let down abit by it's two sequels Robocop 2 and 3, they werent bad but not brilliant. Robocop 1 beats the hell out of 2&3.
Robocop stars Peter Weller and Nancy Allen.
The special features are awesome packed with trailers and other robo stuff.
Over all this is not a film to be missed and the scenes in this film are out of this world awesome and i also heard that Hollywood is remaking Robocop i mean why do you need to remake robocop it's awesome as it is.
Robocop is AWESOME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Ok On Blu Ray, 28 Feb 2010
By 
TMUK (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [1987] (Blu-ray)
The Blu Ray version of this classic movie is a bit of a mixed bag. The opening low def TV news channel sequences don't really set a good mark for a blu ray and in truth i was worried that this film would be in the "awful transfer section" of the blu ray bargain bin.

Im happy to say its not all doom and gloom. The majority of the movie is vibrant and looks good on blu ray and the HD multi channel sound was good.

Back on the flip side Some scenes appear a little grainy and the "what robocop sees" scenes are shown from behind a the multi line 1987 impression of what his display would be like, along with the news/advert scenes "poor quality broadcasts" which are in stark contrast to much of the rest of the movie.

I feel the blu ray makes these difference in picture quality far more extreme than previous media types, although far from perfect it is the best version around at this time. If the usual cash in on Anniversaries kicks in this movies next land mark date won't be till 2012 should they decide to remaster it for a 25 year role out.

Film scores 5/5

In comparrison to recently made blu ray releases
Picture quality 3/5
Sound Quality 4/5

Im sure some folks will disagree with me but having watched the trilogy DVD release in both standard and upscaled for comparison on the scenes i felt where weak in the blu-ray and the blu ray wins the day for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's not the fully uncut Version, 22 Aug 2009
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [1987] (Blu-ray)
it's not the 98 Minute Version of this Film but though it's close to it, it is definetly not the full uncut Version of Robocop.

The Criterion DVD has about one Minute more of shooting, but who cares if ED209 put 100 or 150 Bullets in this poor corporate Guy, and even the shooting of Murphy is still quite bloody.

And it is a great Movie (one of Verhoevens best American Features) in Great quality for the Price of the DVD, with a far Better picture and Soundquality then the Criterion Edition.

So buy it if you want to want to have one of the 80's Classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Blu-ray for Robocop, 27 Jun 2009
This review is from: Robocop [Blu-ray] [1987] (Blu-ray)
There are enough opinions about the film itself so I won't comment on those here. However I'm a bit confused about the comments on the picture quality of this Blu-ray. It's not outstanding but it seems very faithful to the source material, with little digital jiggery-pokery and no signs of film damage etc. It's sharp and colourful enough to be engaging rather than distracting. I didn't spot heavy film grain or noise in dark areas. The TV footage at the start is rough, but then I assume this is intentional. Finally, yes, it's the extended cut. I didn't spot too much extra material (although it's a while since I've seen the original), just some extra gore in a few scenes. Overall, recommended so long as you're not expecting a fully remastered version (and who knows if that will every appear at any rate...).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1017 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robocop [Blu-ray] [1987]
Robocop [Blu-ray] [1987] by Paul Verhoeven (Blu-ray - 2007)
Used & New from: 3.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews