Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to the good ole days
There's alot of people who slam remakes of classic films,and when i heard that The Hills Have Eyes was to be redone i dreaded the bad reviews that i thought it would get,how wrong i was. Not only did it get great reviews,its a film that genuinely deserves them, and the fact that it was a remake doesnt matter it feels fresh and new and truth be told id say a re-telling...
Published on 6 July 2006 by Finlay Meldrum

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gore, guts and intelligence..
Most modern-day horror films are good for a bit of a scare on a Friday evening, resulting in the ocassional launch of popcorn into the air at jumpy-moments. However, this 2006 remake of the Hills Have Eyes maybe doesn't fall into that category..

The basic plot of the film is quite similar to other horror films in that it follows a family who are travelling...
Published on 23 Aug 2010 by BookGirl808


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to the good ole days, 6 July 2006
By 
Finlay Meldrum "Sikth86" (Kirriemuir) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There's alot of people who slam remakes of classic films,and when i heard that The Hills Have Eyes was to be redone i dreaded the bad reviews that i thought it would get,how wrong i was. Not only did it get great reviews,its a film that genuinely deserves them, and the fact that it was a remake doesnt matter it feels fresh and new and truth be told id say a re-telling rather than remake as there alot of differences in this version,but ones that make it as good,and in places better that the original. The main difference here is that boundries can be crossed easier now,and the censors dont or very rarely cut alot of the "questionable scenes" from films which meant in places,for me anyway it was difficult to watch what was going on(in particular the rape scene). I saw this in the cinema and im not ashamed to say it,its the first horror in a long time that acutally scared me, its got everything here,black comedy,ultra violence,gore and family values :) another thing thats a definate plus is that the cast arent stunning,they look like a genuine family which is refreshing to say the least. All in all if your looking for a proper horror with genuine scares,look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original., 13 July 2006
By 
M. T. Weston "markwezzy" (Lutterworth, Leics) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Are filmmakers and writers running out of ideas? There are a lot of movies being remade, mostly from the 70's. Is it because the 70's was the best decade for movies where loads of milestones were reached in all genres. Director Wes Craven reached a milestone when he made the original. I do vaguely remember watching it in 1980 from behind a cushion three years after its release. It was a launch pad for Mr Craven who obviously went on to bigger and better things. It was also a launch pad for that Italian world cup referee who starred as one as the freaks!!

French director Alexandre Aja's first film Switchblade Romance (aka High Tension, aka Haute Tension) was a brilliant debut. Hollywood can rest assured they have found a major talent. I just hope he is not typecast as a horror director although he might do the genre some good.

Anyway the film. It is a quality remake with many twists and turn. The first third sets up for what is to come where we are introduced to the `normal' people. Although is any family unit `normal'? The answer is no as in the second third the nuclear age family of freaks make themselves known with a bang by shooting, biting, burning, torturing and finally, setting up the final third, kidnapping. The final third is the best with our unlikely hero going in the lions den to do the decent thing and rescue his sibling from the clutches of the most dysfunctional family unit you will ever have the misfortune to witness. Why they haven't got help from social services is beyond me. I won't give away the ending suffice to say, like another 70's cliché, just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water.

Overall an excellent horror film for the noughties with quality special effects and story line. Pity it's not an original idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hills Have Eyes Unrated [Blu-Ray] Review, 31 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: The Hills Have Eyes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Wes Craven produces this fantastic remake which is hands down his best film remake to date the 2nd best being The Last House On The Left.

The film is brutal, extremely violent and realistic and disturbing on so many levels, but dont let that turn you away the amount of truth involved with the genitical mutation from the nucular tests is real and babies were born hidiously deformed mentally and physically, whether they go around doing the things portrayed in this film its highly unlikely.

The acting in this film is first class and there portrayals of the characters as such are done brilliantly, the story brings forth alot of emotional scenes that are as disturbing as they are brilliant and make you feel what this family felt, the feeling of disbelief that something this horrific could happen to them.

Overview Of The Plot:

The Carters, an idyllic American family travelling through the great American southwest. But their trip takes a persuaded detour into an area closed off from the public, but more importantly from society. An area originally used by the U.S. Government for nuclear testing that was intended to be empty...or so they thought? When the Carter's car breaks down at the old site, they're stranded...or are they? As the Carters may soon realize that what seemed like a car casually breaking down, might actually be a trap. This trap might be perpetrated by the inhabitants of the site who aren't pulling a prank, but are out to set up a gruesome massacre and to feed on the flesh of their loved ones.

The film shows great strength and courage from those who refuse to give up on life and you will be rooting for the good guys.

In the end there is no way i can describe the events that take place in this film as vividly as it would be for you to watch it yourself all i can tell you is how well written, directed, and acted this film is, and say if you have held of seeing this film or have seen it and dont own it unrated on blu-ray then do yourself a favour and buy this film and watch it you will be horrified and disgusted but you will defently not be dissapointed !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you want blood,you got it!, 19 July 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
People,you can make up your own mind on the notion of remaking films,i for one have mixed feelings on the concept,some improve on the original,and some are a disgrace to the original,this my friends is a remake with teeth and what a show it is.

The films plot is plausible because the act of nuclear testing in the 1940s is fact,and people did mutate in the fallout of it all,although to say that they all became savages is slightly suspect.The film leans on alot of the scare tactics that we all know and love and of course we have a family with various generations included,driving their way through america,or at least thats what they had planned to do,for upon disturbing a gas attendant who works for the radiation affected mutants,they are then advised to take a shortcut through a desert where hell awaits to put it plainly.

I dont wish to break each and every aspect of the film down for you as that will take away from the what happens next aspect,but lets say murder,rape,baby kidnapping,heroic dogs and cannibalism follow and you cant help but be captivated by it all,it isnt a film that your granny would like,but hey who wants to watch a film that their gran would like anyway.

The film is better than your standard gorefest for one simple reason,you actually like the good guys in it,let me explain!how often do you see the supposed good guy family with their obnoxious children and stereotyped parents and pray that they all get wiped out in a pool of pain,well in the hills have eyes the characters are likeable and you hope the mutants get ripped to pieces,added to that there is a dog that you hope makes it and the baby has its moment as well when you are hoping she can make it as well.

The films plot is similar to last house on the left,and i believe that the original was in fact a sequel of sorts to wes cravens classic,you hurt us,now we hurt you genre,so all in all this is a rewarding film,and as the tagline says 'the lucky ones died first'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new 'old school' triumph, 30 Jun 2006
By 
D. Lloyd "Riddick" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is awesome. Hostel may have got the 'grindcore' hype, but this is 10 times the film that turned out to be. Its been a long time since the draconian Censorship laws forced 'nasties' on to 16th generation vhs copies traded in the back of Darkside magazine. The irony is that this is a major movie release that, bar from the most extreme 70's/80's material, is far more graphic in every way than the vast majority of the original 'Video nastie's' as defined by the Bright bill of 1984.

It is well made, well acted, and thoroughly faithfull to its notorious roots. After this and Devils Rejects, I am intrigued to see just how far mainstream studios, and the BBFC, will allow directors to take this new 'Nasty' generation. Whatever the evolution, this film will stand up well to repeat viewing for many years- just like the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really glad I ignored the bad reviews and just bout it, 17 Oct 2007
A typical American family is driving across the dessert. They take advice from a weapon wielding weirdo to take a short cut (as you do). The car somehow crashes into a suspiciously well situated rock, and our family suddenly find themselves stranded in the middle of nowhere: this nowhere happens to be old abandoned military testing grounds, and our characters quickly begin to realize that they are not alone...

The Hills Have Eyes premise may just sound like a cheap excuse to kill off some personality-free characters, but I can assure you it's not. What we have here is actually a very bold, uncompromising and exiting survival thriller. Even in some parts it may go slightly over-the-top, and the running time could easily be cut down a bit, it still results as one of the best survival flicks around. Certain highlights are the surprisingly good and believable acting, brilliant gore and mutant effects, and some very original and unusual scares.

Most critics felt obliged to give this film an only 'O.K' rating, because it is a remake of a classic Wes Craven slasher, but behind their words, they know they all enjoyed it. Because I was so pleased with the turn-out of this film, I went out and bout the sequel, The Hills Have Eyes 2, thinking again that critics had rated it lowly because it was a sequel to a remake: this time, the critics were right. I would advise you not to bother with the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is probably a horror-buff "Wet Dream" come true....,, 5 July 2007
By 
If it is graphic violence and gore you want then this will be the equivalent to a Wet Dream for you. I've yet to see Craven's original, so I can't really compare this remake to it. Although, from what I've heard this remake is far better. If I had seen the original, I would probably agree. Alexandre Aja, who brought us a little French film called "High Tension" is at the blood and guts genre again. This time he has more people to slaughter and a great team behind him to bring these horrific mutants to life. What we as an audience get is a sick, twisted, no holds barred horror film that isn't afraid to smack the viewer in the face. With so many horror films playing it "safe" in the recent years, Hills Have Eyes clearly went the opposite direction in the horrors of the horror genre.

Alexandre Aja and co manages to create such creepy and isolated atmospheres, that if there were no mutants at all I would still get the creeps. The hills play characters themselves, as the home to these creatures, they too are frightening. The cinematography is too scare people and it does a pretty decent job at that. How is this film slightly different from other horror films out there today? Well, instead of having a guy kill a bunch of teenagers, we have disfigured mutants (like the film U-Turn)that kills and rapes a family.

Yes, there is a rape scene, and while it's not as horrific as some may have it seem to be, you still have that uncomfortable feeling when it starts to play out. With the girl getting beaten by her attacker, and then raped. While this may seem tame compared to the women beating of "Ichi The Killer", this film if more mainstream, so you can sense of surprised face when I saw it. There are two scenes that are the highlights of Hills; one is when the mutants first attack the family, which is where the rape takes place. The second is when one of the family members goes to the mutants "home" and becomes a killing machine.

The blood and gore? Plenty. One to keep the gore hounds happy. Hills showcase a mix of CGI and prop deaths. Along with the effects from the brilliant minds of KNB (old school Evil Dead, I love these guys). Seeing the mutants is fun too, even if you can't remember the names of any of them. They are cool to look at and all, but not very memorable.
Other remake such as `The Fog' and `The Omen,' can't compare to `Hills Have Eyes' because it stands out of the bunch. I can see good things from Alexandre Aja in the future of horror. Hills is an excellent horror experience, it has the right amount of creepy scares and more then enough uncomfortable gore. I found the performances to be surprisingly well done for a horror film that is about mutated cannibals. This film is a horrific, grotesque, intense & above all a creepy ride through the hills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, it's gory -- and there's nothing wrong with that, 18 Sep 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Do you enjoy watching a typical family being hunted down, killed, and at least partially eaten? Does your heart go all a-flutter at the sight of a giant axe being buried in someone's head? Do you get weak in the knees when some horribly mutated human monster flashes his viscous orbital sockets at you? Do you wake up each and every morning chanting Gore Gore Gore? If you answered Yes to any of these questions, you'll take evil delight in this remake of Wes Craven's classic The Hills Have Eyes.

I have to admit that, at least for me, the shine of these mutant-led massacre films has pretty much worn off. There's really nothing new here at all. It's really just a question of how gory the director will make it. It's not like the film is going to draw you into a juicy story, as that story consists of nothing more than a family being thrown out in the desert on some pretense and having to fight for their lives against mutant freaks. There isn't even any mystery as to who the monsters are or how they got that way, as that's made pretty clear from the very start.

As for all the gore, it's really quite exceptional, especially in this uncut version. When a guy blows his head off with a shotgun, he really blows his head off with a shotgun. All of the bullets that hit their mark do all kinds of damage. Still, there's really nothing like a good axe blow to the skull, and the director seems to really get off on that sort of thing as he gives us plenty of it. I could complain about the whole lack of brain oozing in conjunction with all the Bunyan Blues being whacked out, but at least there's plenty of blood. While this isn't the goriest movie I've ever seen - not even close, really - it's definitely up there in the upper echelon of gruesome motion pictures. The special effects aim high and hit the mark, as well; the mutated human degenerates cover a wide spectrum of radiation-induced ooziness, deformity, and general ugliness.

The cast is quite good, as well. Lost's Emilie De Ravin, who must by now have trouble convincing anyone to take even a short trip with her anywhere, is the most familiar face in the bunch - her screaming could use a little work, but she may have just found herself all screamed out after all the indignities and suffering she had to endure over the course of this film. Aaron Stanford successfully moves beyond his general dweebiness to make a man out of his less than macho character, while young Bobby (Dan Byrd) never lets himself fall prey to the stereotype of the teenaged hero wannabe.

If you're going to make a completely unnecessary remake, you'd better do it right - and that is just what happened here. Just take a look at some of the critical reviews, decrying the bloodlust fueling such degenerate movies as this, even going as far as to call the moviemakers "ghouls" feeding on the blood money of viewers who will supposedly go out and do violent things to one another after the end credits roll. As for reports of some viewers walking out on the film due to the level of violence - I don't get that at all. Uh, did they walk into the wrong cinema or something? It's not like The Hills Have Eyes was advertised as some sweeping romantic epic. And I just don't think there's an outrageous level of violence here in the first place. We spend a lot of time with an annoying family before the fun even begins. And the rape scene? Extremely tame, so much so that I wasn't completely sure it was actually a rape scene. I also thought the director held back quite a bit on the whole cannibalism thing. Really, as a hardcore horror fan, I find it amusing that some people consider this a shocking, ultra-violent film. Those folks really don't know what they're missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A horror that works finally!, 6 Aug 2006
By 
i've been watching horror films since childhood and have never been as terrorfied with any of the new "horror" films that have been produced since. however this film lives up to the genre of horror, (althuogh i'd say its more of a thriller/slasher). i won't bother saying the story as you will have read it in the other reviews, but if you want to be scared for the first time in years with a film (as I was) then get this film. it made me never want to go on a camping trip with my family ever again!!! the story is quite similar to wrong turn, but has the extra X-factor that maeks it work 100 times more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the desert a doomed nuclear family runs into a really "nuclear" family, 21 Jun 2006
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
In the tragedies of ancient Greece the "harmartia" of the tragic hero usually involved an act of "hubris," to show that once again pride goeth before the fall. But the key part of the hero's tragic flow was that they had to be culpable in their own downfall, so that they were never the innocent victims of his fate. There is something at work in horror films, especially of the splatter flick variety, in which the victims have to do something that dooms them to being sliced, diced and whatever the psychopaths that await them want to do to them. In these films it is never pride that dooms them, but rather stupidity, often on a level of such sheer unbelievably that its only function is for you to want these people to die because they are literally too stupid to live. For me the epitome of this in films of recent vintage was the remake of "House of Wax," where Jared Padelicki's character sets a record for going into the wrong places time and time again until something really horrible happens to him.

"The Hills Have Eyes" starts off in a similar vein. If you are driving across the Nevada desert and you stop at a gas station that is so old and decrepit that it must have been ten years since (a) they cleaned the place and (b) received a shipment of gas, and if the old coot (Tom Bower) that runs the place tells you there is a short cut to your destination, then how stupid do you have to be to take his advice? Just to make things clear, you choice is between THE ONLY PAVED ROAD IN SIGHT and a dirt road that leads off into the hills. To add insult to injury, the person making this decision, the father of this doomed little nuclear family happens to be an ex-cop. The bad news is that he should know better, but the good news is that he has a gun. Not that it will do him any god.

The dirt road is a trap. A car is never going to make it all the way down the road, which leads to a faux town that was built by the U.S. military to test what happens to buildings (and manikins) when exposed to one of the 300-plus nuclear blasts set off in the area. The town was out of the blast radius, but not out of the range of the nuclear radiation. So was the mining camp whose occupants refused to leave just because the government was setting off atomic bombs for several years. Their descendants, a group of mutated and probably incestuous cannibals, are looking forward to their next meals. That would be the family of Big Bob Carter (Ted Levine), his wife Ethel (Kathleen Quinlan), teenage son Bobby (Dan Byrd), youngest daughter Brenda (Emilie de Ravin), oldest daughter Lynn (Vinessa Shaw), her husband Doug (Aaron Stanford), and their baby Catharine (Maisie Camilleri Preziosi).

The real nuclear family of this film consists of Papa Jupiter (Billy Drago), Big mama (Ivana Turchetto), Pluto (Michael Bailey Smith), Lizard (Robert Joy), Ruby (Laura Ortiz), Goggle (Ezra Buzzington), and Big Brain (Desmond Askew). There are a couple of kids, the next generation of mutant cannibals as it were, but they do not take part in the festivities. Having arranged for the Carters to be stuck in the desert, they wait for their victims to start going for help so they can be picked off one by one. No matter what direction you go in these hills, you are doomed. Doomed, do you hear me? Doomed! The only problem is that there is a baby involved, and why the guy stupid enough to drive down the dirt road might deserve this and the girls sunbathing themselves are inviting disaster, the same cannot be said for an innocent little baby.

The most interesting thing about this movie is that over ninety percent of it takes place during the daytime, usually in the brightness of the desert sun. Splatter flicks usually take place in the dark, but this is a movie that wants you to see what is going on most of time. Director Alexandre Aja ("Haute tension") and his constant co-writer Gregory Levasseur, take the original 1977 screenplay by Wes Craven and run with it. Things are a bit slow at first, mainly because as long as the sun is up you can see the monsters are not out there waiting, while in the darkness it is much easier to imagine. Once the blood and gore start being spilled things pick up and there are enough set pieces to whet your appetite, but I will fully admit that I rounded up on this one because the hero ends up being the character that is most like me (to wit, the one who really should have been the first to die). I also appreciate that he follows my long held personal advice for people in such situations, which is to use any and all objects, both blunt and sharp, to kill the monsters and to never, ever think that one blow might be sufficient. Finally, the film has a very appropriate final shot for the inevitable "it is not really over" bit that always comes at the end of splatter flicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hills Have Eyes [Blu-ray]
The Hills Have Eyes [Blu-ray] by Laura Ortiz (Blu-ray - 2007)
7.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews