Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


248 of 260 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Matrix Reinvigorated on Blu-Ray
A word about the Blu-Ray quality first. There are some very strange rumours on these pages such as saying that these films are just upscaled DVDs. I don't know where people get these ideas from, but it is simply not true. For a 10 year old film "The Matrix" is very close to the top of the Blu-Ray tree. The close-ups, particularly of Neo and Morpheus, are stunning...
Published on 30 Dec. 2009 by Mr. Blu

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
I like the Matrix trilogy and had them on normal DVD already. I was a little disapointed by the HD quality on these discs, the film is clear and sharp but not really that much better than the standard DVD version.
Published 18 months ago by Big Rob


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

248 of 260 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Matrix Reinvigorated on Blu-Ray, 30 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A word about the Blu-Ray quality first. There are some very strange rumours on these pages such as saying that these films are just upscaled DVDs. I don't know where people get these ideas from, but it is simply not true. For a 10 year old film "The Matrix" is very close to the top of the Blu-Ray tree. The close-ups, particularly of Neo and Morpheus, are stunning reference level examples of depth and plasticity. I watched this projected c. 3m wide, and just gawped at the detail in Fishburne's pock-marked face: it was more like having a giant statue of his head on the wall than looking at a flat TV-like image.

What some people are looking at and not liking is probably either (a) the occasional use of green colour filtration which is a clever cinematic trick conveying the irreality of The Matrix or (b) the crushed blacks which are a stylistic choice by the film's makers. Yes, the black levels on "The Spirit" make a mockery of these, but that's the look they've gone with. It is also true that not all scenes have reference level sharpness and HD image quality. But very few films 'pop' constantly as it gets boring, and with the aesthetic choices made the film has a very good share of stupendous image quality

Audio quality is very good (5.1 True HD) with dialogue and effects well balanced, although some late scenes are significantly louder than earlier ones (and I mean comparing action scenes with action scenes); again, a directorial choice no doubt.

In "The Matrix Reloaded" the picture quality is maybe slightly better, the audio a touch more forceful (although the actual music is not as good as in "The Matrix". For me, "Revolutions" is on the same BD level as Part II. But on balance, the boxset is a very good HD release at a crazily cheap price, and it does not deserve the false criticism of its supposedly sub BD-level standard.

The films themselves were interesting to see again after what, for me, was quite a long term. The original is magnificent as ever, and I found the second installment much less disappointing than back at the time of release. If you mentally prepare in advance for the wilfully tedious scenes with "The Merovingian" and "The Architect" then you realise that the film is actually a pretty good sequel, and not the disaster it seemed back then. The party scene in Zion is also fairly dull and overlong, but otherwise much better than I remembered. And even if the ending of "Revolutions" is not very satisfying, it remains my second favourite Matrix film, and as Mr Anderson loved to say, perhaps the way it is was "inevitable".

For just over a fiver a disc, you cannot go wrong. These are not upscaled DVDs, they are very good BD transfers. Free your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take the red pill, 2 Nov. 2007
By 
R. Ricsin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Matrix series wowed people with its special effects and action. But what I picked up from these movies is a deep message. Later on I researched what influenced the Matrix series and found out it tied in with Gnosticism (ancient christianity), buddhism, hinduism, and other philosophies/religions.

After you watch this movie check out the book The Secret History of the World by Laura Knight-Jadczyk. This book goes deeper into the rabbit hole with all the mythology, religion, and science to the ideas that inspired the Matrix.

That is what I love about this series. Many people disliked part 2 and 3, but they stood true to the original influences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Trilogy!, 18 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Matrix Trilogy 3-Disc Set: The Matrix, Matrix Reloaded and Matrix Revolutions [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I know of friends who only saw the first Matrix movie and that is a shame, as all three parts of the trilogy belong together as the journey of Neo and the change that happens to him along the way. It is a fantastic job that has been done in keeping the quality at the top without descending into making B-grade follow up movies as is often the case with sequels.

It is a movie that can be seen on many levels. Some will see it just as a great action movie which it is, but there is so much more to this film. It is a fantastic depiction of the journey of the spiritual seeker and the difficulties that he encounters within himself as he starts pushing against the prisons of his own mind and the multitude of programs that operates and which keep us small.

It also neatly depicts the way humans are kept as 'food for the moon' in Gurdjieff's words or simply food for ultra terrestrials. In the film this is depicted as humans, being little less than cultivated biological batteries for the machines.

All three parts are worth watching more than once, as you will undoubtedly see new things each time. Things that start making sense only after some time of reflection and reading. In this regard I can recommend reading the book by Ouspensky called "In Search of the Miraculous", and the book by Laura Knight-Jadczyk called "The Secret History of the World".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, despite obvious flaws, 15 May 2007
By 
Mr. A. Sands "Sandsman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm assuming that by reading this you have already seen all 3 films and you're just reading this for an opinion. If by some crazy rule of physics you haven't actually bought/seen this, then what are you waiting for?! It is well documented that the first film is a true classic, and that the sequels are slightly poorer. But at this price, who is to complain?

The first film was, and is, awesome, and represents a milestone in action cinema. To be fair, even if you didn't watch the other two, it would be worth buying just for this film alone.

The 2nd and 3rd films generate such different opinions that it's hard to give an objective analysis of them. I personally enjoyed both of them, but at the same time felt that the script and story were trying to be more intellectual than they actually were. Using lots of big words in a string of incoherent sentences does not make you an intelligent script writer (see Matrix Reloaded).

The story of Reloaded does twist itself up a bit, and is pretty vacant really. Revolutions is definitely better, and the main battle scene between man and machines is definitely the highlight of the film.

I can think of many worse things to spend my money on than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


270 of 312 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Matrix ,audios and subtitles list here, 27 Nov. 2008
By 
Lluis Serra Serra "Batserra" (barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hi ,today i have recived it ,where a list of what i read:

Audio:
English: Dolby True Hd ,Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish: 5.1,
French: 5.1
German 5.1
Italian 5.1
Latin Spanish: 2.0
Brazilian Portuguese: 2.0

Subtitles:
English, Brzilian Portuguese, Dutch, french ,Italian & Latin Spanish

Movie and Select Bonus Material

Extras:

* Written Introduction by the wachowski Brothers
* Comentaries by:
-Philosophers: Dr. Cornel West and Ken Wilber
-Crits: Todd McCarthy, John Powers and David Thomson
-Cast: Carrie_Anne Moss, Jazh Staenberw and Johnm Gaeta for the Matrix
-Composer: Don David with Music-Only track for the Matrix
* Feature-Length Documentary The Matrix Revisited
* Behind The Matrix Documentary Galleries
* The Music Revisited
* Music Videos: Marilyn Manson's Rock is Dead and POD's Sleeping Awake
* Enter The Matrix: The Game documentary
* Enter the Matrix. View 23 Live-Action Scener Shot for the video Gamet that Plug into the action of de the Matrix Reloades
* Theatrical Trailers and Tv Spots

Well i hope this post maybe can help someone.

Thanks to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing quality, 5 Jun. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I drew up a list recently of must-buy Blu-Ray films as an upgrade to replace the DVD versions of these films, and this is a definite must buy. The picture clarity on all 3 films is simply astoundingly good. I particularly enjoyed the 2nd film with several amazing scenes in a row, specifically the Agent Smith clones fight, then the Chateau fight along the staircases and the Motorway chase scene. It's definitely worth buying this because Blu-Ray is meant for audio and visual quality as stunning as this.

Just editing this in more depth now. In The Matrix, the picture quality is ahead of its time. When they filmed it, the cameras must have been very expensive because the HD on this BluRay is eye poppingly good, for a 12 year old film. It's 'probably' the best in the series, overly talky with some good actions scenes, I preferred the 2nd film in terms of the fight scenes. The huge Agent Smith fight in particular has outstanding choreography, I just don't know how Keanu Reeves did all those moves because it looks amazing. The 3rd film is the most disppointing, it just feels cold to me. Make no mistake there's some superb action scenes in there, but I didn't like it as much as the first 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huh , upgrades ?, 11 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading some of the good and bad reviews on this Blu-Ray trilogy (only the ones about the product and not the films themselves) I have to totally agree with the good reviews.
Picture quality is superb on all three films as is the sound , and cant understand how others have complained about the lack of quality which only leads me to believe that they must have a dodgy setup with their Blu-Ray players or TV's.

You could almost poke your finger through Lawrence Fishburnes colander skin and count every rain drop or shards of glass with ease the picture is so good.
5.1 True HD sounds fantastic when transferred into 7.1 on my AV receiver with crisp clarity , extra features have a picture in picture break down of a scene as well as all the features you got on DVD and all this for £14.

Is it worth the upgrade....YES !

Is it worth the price....HELL YES !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect quality for the money, 22 Oct. 2012
By 
virgo47 (Bratislava, Slovakia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful image (though I'm no expert, this was one of my first blu-ray acquisitions), tons of extras, all three in one package for a price of a single film. No brainer. And - of course - absolute sci-fi (or whatever) classic of that time.

I have to give it 5 stars for all this, although I have a few minor gripes about it. Not sure if it's just bluray general feature, but it always start with stupid legal warning. So if you stop it just by accident, you don't continue where you stopped - as I'm used to with other discs (DVDs though). Also Disc menu is disabled for no apparent reason, you have to use Title menu all the time. These things are rather annoying, but with this much quality for this little money I can't take points down. Plus - it's reagion free, that's how I like the stuff, that's how it all should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brand new movie, 9 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. L. A. E. Cooke (Longcross) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since purchasing my blu-ray system a couple of months ago i have discovered film to be alot more immersive and enjoyable than before. I have seen The Matrix Trilogy multiple times at the cinema and multiple times on DVD, and now for Blu-Ray. and WoW is what i have to say.

These to me are like brand new movies, the picture is incredible, the sound i cannot fault. I could hear the electric charge from the hovercrafts as they flew past metal objects!

Despite previously not being fussed about the 2 continuing features i decided to watch all 3 films back to back. I noticed alot more about the story than ever before and actually enjoyed all the films for very different reasons.

This has to be owned on Blu-Ray and for this price it's worth every single penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the Matrix trilogy and had them on normal DVD already. I was a little disapointed by the HD quality on these discs, the film is clear and sharp but not really that much better than the standard DVD version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews