Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable for Who fans and a bargain for all
This is an exhaustively compiled selection of the Who's finest moments, with some amazing new archive footage of the High Numbers (pre the decision to name themselves the Who) performing in April 1964 at the Railway Hotel in Wealdstone, filmed by Kit Lambert and Chris Stamp (who became their managers). And it's far from being the only bit - there are 834 clips of...
Published on 28 Dec. 2007 by D. Lundholm

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the high numbers alone
Firstly this set is certainly worth owning if nothing else just to see Kits incomplete High Numbers Railway Hotel film, but here is where it falls down as it could have carried on so nicley from where this left off through the use of more imaginative and interactive DVD menus and interface. The never before seen clips from here on are edited and talked over and leave you...
Published on 1 Dec. 2007 by Damon Paul Harritz Grech


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable for Who fans and a bargain for all, 28 Dec. 2007
By 
D. Lundholm (The Chalfonts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an exhaustively compiled selection of the Who's finest moments, with some amazing new archive footage of the High Numbers (pre the decision to name themselves the Who) performing in April 1964 at the Railway Hotel in Wealdstone, filmed by Kit Lambert and Chris Stamp (who became their managers). And it's far from being the only bit - there are 834 clips of copyright cleared vision and music excerpts here, lovingly compiled with peerless sound and vision. It sounds great through a standard television but having heard it at the premiere on a large screen, it will sound even more marvellous in a proper cinema set up.

Townshend is one of the greatest rock composers of all time given Tommy, Who's Next and especially Quadrophenia, (and he is undeniably one of the most influential musicians of the 60s and 70s). There is due regard paid to their complex history, the influence of early and later management and their impact on performers such as Jimi Hendrix. Rightly, Daltrey, Moon and especially Entwistle are all recognised on both discs for their particular talents and their unique contribution to the band. And the deaths of Moon and then Entwistle are not glossed over, and it's clear how their personal behaviours contributed to their deaths.

This does not have the longer, full song, performances that you can find on the Kids are Alright, but in many ways it's a more accessible history of one of the finest rock bands we've ever seen and heard, and one that is still ever-watchable, and capable of coming up with relevant new music, playing venues smaller than stadia, and with a marvellous back catalogue to discover.

I saw the Who in Glasgow in 1975, and many times since. Entwistle inspired me to take up bass guitar, and I play it still. I will sit my children down and play them this DVD, in order to make sure they hear and understand just how much music can shape a teenage childhood and an adult life. Do yourself a favour and buy this DVD and indulge.

NB: it does have plenty of adult language, including drugs and sex references from the start, but nothing you won't find after 9pm on the UK channels....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Journey - Exactly what is says on the tin!, 22 Jun. 2008
By 
Mr. Daniel L. Kirkby (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wow!....

Bought this 6 months ago and have just watched it for the third time. I have so much respect for Townshend & Daltrey for making this film - The interviews are incredibly candid.

No subject is off-limits to them - they happily talk about the music; the experiences on the road; late band members Keith Moon & John Entwistle; and their relationship with one another - from the very beginning to the present day.

True to form, while Townshend comes across as slightly aloof in his niche as the original tortured artist; Daltrey, by contrast, is almost painfully frank at times, and comes across as very likeable.

I am only 24 years old - I got into the Who after stumbling across a re-run of Quadrophenia on telly about 10 years ago - Admittedly, I'm now a huge fan, owning all their albums. But I would argue this film is not only unmissable for anybody calling themselves a fan of the band, but also for anybody with an interest in music generally.

The Who have been a seminal band in the history of British music, and this film is an absolute gem. My Dad is in his 50s, and although he's never been a huge fan of the band, even he found this documentary interesting.

To anybody deliberating whether or not to buy - go for it. Treat yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See Them,Feel them ,Hear them., 25 Feb. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a film of the WHO,with concert footage,family members,recording sessions,interviews etc from the very early days to the present.I found the insights provided by other stars like Sting;U2;Pearl Jam;etc into the music and musicianship of the WHO really worthwhile.To be analysed and dissected by other experts added a very different set of insights into this great band.Sting describing the famous,intricate bass-line of "My Generation";U2 talking about the the guitar virtuosity of Townsend;the drumming of Moon analysed and reconstructed;and the power chords and how they came to be played on many WHO songs,were amazing to watch and listen to.
Some one of these commentators finally summed up the WHO as a band that had a "lead guitarist";a "lead drummer",a "lead bassist" and a "lead singer" and somehow it all worked instead of being a mess.
What a great description of a great band.
Get this dvd and enjoy it and think back to a simpler time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Extras are better than most DVDS!, 25 Jan. 2008
By 
C. Duff "CDuff" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great DVD this is. A perfect companion to 'Kids' and 'Maximum RnB'. With most of the footage commercially available I would rather hear some frank and up to date interviews for a change. As I said the extras are great, offering an insight into each individual members playing. I must say that I never realised that Pete Townshend's playing was influenced by Flamenco but hey, there you go! There's also the recording session for 'Real Good-Looking Boy' which was the first for 23 years. Well worth spending your hard-earned shekels on, a definite 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who History from the Horses' Mouths (mostly), 22 Jun. 2009
By 
A very enjoyable two-disc DVD covering the history of the Who from their very earliest days until 2007. The main film is essentially interview-based, so it is a little short on music, but the insights given by Roger, Pete, together with managers past and present, producers, sound engineers and others, are well worth the asking price.

I would say that for a Who history, The Kids Are Alright is still the definitive buy, given that it contains far more music, as well as band interviews, but Amazing Journey brings the story up to date, especially with regard to at least two important points: the death of John Entwistle, and the changing relationhip between Pete and Roger. It also covers subsequent band members, particularly Kenny Jones and Zack Starkey.

But on the music front, disc two also contains the only remaining footage of the High Numbers playing at the Railway Hotel the night they were "discovered" by their future managers Kit Lambert and Chris Stamp. They play two songs - and all of the footage is there, not talked over or edited - and all I can say is that I wish I'd been there! (although I'd have been three years old at the time, and probably wouldn't have got much out of the evening...) This disc also takes a look at the musicianship of each band member individually in four short 10-minute films, which gives some fascinating insights into all of them.

This DVD, TKAA and Live at the Isle of Wight pretty much give you the definitive Who collection. Highly enjoyable and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this, 6 May 2009
By 
Ruth "Whochick67" (Derbyshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes, I knew most of it (if not all of it) and yes, I'd seen plenty of the stuff before, but I still love this DVD. There are some fantastic clips of the early years of the band, and the individual biographies are fascinating and give you more of an insight into the members of the band.

Pete Townshend is hugely articulate and interesting, though his sense of humour has faded somewhat over the years. He and Keith used to clown around together on and off the stage, and that seemed to happen less and less after Keith died. Roger Daltrey is very open and candid and clearly loves/loved each member of the band dearly.

The way they both talked about Keith and John's deaths was very poignant. John's death is still pretty fresh and clearly pains them, but Keith died nearly 31 years ago, and yet you can still see that it affects Pete and Roger.

Being a Who completist, it's nice to have a copy of this DVD. But even if you're not a rabid fan but have an interest in the band, it's worth seeing as I think it will only increase your interest. If it makes you want to find out more about them, then go and buy the Deluxe Edition of the Live at Leeds album, and get the Isle of Wight Festival 1970 DVD. The editing and filming of that particular DVD isn't brilliant, but the lighting is generally great which makes it more enjoyable. As an aside: I'd like to see the whole of that concert released on DVD!

Go get this, sit down with a cuppa and some biscuits and wallow in nostalgia for a couple of hours. I know I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the high numbers alone, 1 Dec. 2007
Firstly this set is certainly worth owning if nothing else just to see Kits incomplete High Numbers Railway Hotel film, but here is where it falls down as it could have carried on so nicley from where this left off through the use of more imaginative and interactive DVD menus and interface. The never before seen clips from here on are edited and talked over and leave you feeling like you want to see more. RSG Shindig and beat club clips need to be found soon on one disc and this could have been the time to do it, but alas. Otherwise the interviews are all interesting and the content is engaging. In companion with the kids are alright and the Max Rb films this set does work but as I say it could have been so much more and this band and their work demands this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outasync classic, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've already pitched in my tuppence-worth on The Who's 'Kids are Alright' Blu-Ray, so was pleasantly surprised by this more sober take on The Who's mythology. That's not to say there isn't some very funny stuff and ear-bleeding music in there, but there is an overarching melancholy to the film. Both Moonie and John Entwhistle are remembered with love, respect, and loving disrespect by Pete and Roger who find themselves playing the role of 'keepers of the flame'. It leaves the viewer with a feeling that we are witnessing the 'Twilight of the Gods', the like of which we'll never see again.

As a project, this video was clearly designed to be a more considered retrospective than 'Kids are Alright', and doesn't pull it's punches. It also avoids duplicating too much material from that movie, but sometimes sails a little too close to the 'South Bank Show' approach to band biographies, betraying a certain nervousness in the band about their place in rock history.

That said, the main sins on this DVD are technical. There is a annoying level of video hatching over a (recently-filmed) Pete interview - but worse still, the audio is about four frames behind the pictures, making the lack of lip sync quite distracting and the music out of time, which some might find difficult to take. I tried it on different make of DVD player to check if it was the player at fault - but no, it was still there. Other details like video editing gaffs (yes, I realise some of them are deliberate, but some definitely not), incorrectly-spelt captions and a bit of temporary voice-over inadvertently left in the final edit suggests this was produced on a much smaller budget than 'Kids'. Perhaps that's why it's being sold at such a low price - and with that in mind, it's easier to forgive it's flaws. Perhaps they'll address these on a future Blu-Ray release - and if they did, I'd buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Who's Amazing Journey DVD, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD box set (2 DVDs) is worth the price for real Who fans. The main documentary film is excellently done, and uses recent interviews as well as old footage to show the band from the four sides of the members, as well as the perspective of several fans, contemporary and later musicians (Sting, the Edge, Noel Gallagher, etc), and even several managers and roadies. Delicious anecdotes, and real insight into the band. It is more than the standard, re-hashed, re-told documentary.

The second DVD includes even yet still more interviews, old footage, and various other treats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Awesome!!, 27 Nov. 2007
By 
Robert J. Mould (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Firstly Thank you Mr Daltrey and Townsend for fantastic music.
What a great dvd.I thought the Kids are alright was superb but this eclipese it.
The interviews are excellent and what a great man bill Curbishley is.
From start to finish this is so interesting with amazing clips of unseen footage.Would have been nice to see some interviews with the great Keith Moon though.
Otherwise 100 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Who : Amazing Journey [DVD]
The Who : Amazing Journey [DVD] by The Who (DVD - 2007)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews