Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An undoubted classic
There is no doubt that 'Porridge' is a classic sit-com. The humour is timeless and the cast is perfect. At the head of it all is Ronnie Barker who is fantastic as Fletcher and it is, in my opinion, the best thing that he ever did. With marvellous support from Richard Beckinsale, Fulton Mackay, Brian Wilde and countless others this consistantly funny series deserves the...
Published on 30 Jan 2010 by Mr. A. Whiteside

versus
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Description Disappoints
Original BBC disks included the pilot 'Prisoner & Escort' on disk 2. This set doesn't, so assume they're a cheap later release. No mention of this in description. Would have tried to find originals if I'd know, as particularly wanted the pilot episode.

Rest is as one would expect of very popular comedy series by talented actors.
Published on 8 Jan 2011 by arenosa


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An undoubted classic, 30 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Porridge - The Complete Series Box Set (Series 1, 2, 3 and The Christmas Specials) (DVD)
There is no doubt that 'Porridge' is a classic sit-com. The humour is timeless and the cast is perfect. At the head of it all is Ronnie Barker who is fantastic as Fletcher and it is, in my opinion, the best thing that he ever did. With marvellous support from Richard Beckinsale, Fulton Mackay, Brian Wilde and countless others this consistantly funny series deserves the many plaudits it has received. There are several cameos that are memorable from the likes of David Jason, Peter Vaughan, Ronald Lacey and Ken Jones and each performance is spot on.

This box set consists all of the three series and the Christmas specials. There are a few extras dotted about including the pilot episode 'Prisoner and Escort', an interview with Ronnie Barker and a documentary relating to the survey to find Britain's Best Sit-Com. While the extras are a nice bonus it is 'Porridge' that is the main attraction and it is a true classic and fully deserving of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph of comedy - great writing, great performances. Timeless., 15 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Porridge - The Complete Series Box Set (Series 1, 2, 3 and The Christmas Specials) (DVD)
All wrapped up in one handy package this is all three of the BBC's celebrated comedy series plus the Christmas Specials, starring the wonderful Ronnie Barker in perhaps his greatest role as old lag Norman Stanley Fletcher, set in a remote Cumberland nick - "Slade Prison".
After "The Likely Lads" and before "Auf Wiedersehen, Pet" this was Dick Clement and Ian La Frenais writing at their absolute best with so many classic lines it's nigh on impossible to list them. I saw Sean Williamson reprise the role of Fletcher on a recent stage revival and they all came flooding back.
With a wonderful supporting cast - Richard Beckinsale as Godber, Sam Kelly as Warren, Peter Vaughan as Grouty and Fulton Mackay and Brian Wilde as the prison officers, not to mention guest performers like David Jason as Blanco, this was a consistently funny and enjoyable show - surprising given the subject matter of prison life. From the golden age of BBC TV comedy. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovable classic, 2 Feb 2010
By 
Sagadolly (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Porridge - The Complete Series Box Set (Series 1, 2, 3 and The Christmas Specials) (DVD)
I always loved Porridge and watching it again after all these years I still laughed out loud and found it had lost none of its sparkle and dry wit. It proves you don't need an overload of swearing to have really good comedy. Even with all the channels available now I have plenty of time to watch Porridge when there is 'nothing on'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of the best!, 2 May 2011
This review is from: Porridge - The Complete Series Box Set (Series 1, 2, 3 and The Christmas Specials) (DVD)
This is simply television comedy at its best. Truly classic!
Yes, some of the jokes are rather well worn and the plots are obvious; but that's not the point! The writing, the delivery, the timing and the acting make it head and shoulders above pretty much all other TV comedies. I have just finished watching the first series and although I am more than familiar with each episode...it still makes me laugh!

Why can't they write stuff like this anymore?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Porridge Box Set, 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: Porridge - The Complete Series Box Set (Series 1, 2, 3 and The Christmas Specials) (DVD)
Porridge is timeless and although I would have seen most of them before, I can not believe how much I did not remember, what I saw this time but must have missed or ignored the first time around, and the laughter was infectious. Some of the family were crying it was so funny, ( Tears of Joy ).
I would imgaine that this will stand the test of time, and if I were able to be present in 100 years time, I can imagine people still finding the episodes funny.

A great buyPorridge - The Complete Series Box Set (Series 1, 2, 3 and The Christmas Specials) - Wish I had done it sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars porridge complete series, 18 Dec 2009
This review is from: Porridge - The Complete Series Box Set (Series 1, 2, 3 and The Christmas Specials) (DVD)
I found this box set well worth the money.And also one of the good things about it is,it is region 2 and 4.So living in Australia i was well pleased that i was able to watch it.Ronnie Barker was such a brilliant entertainer and so funny.I loved every minute of every episode.Ive also sent for the follow up,going straight.Im sure that will be as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best British Comedies ever, 8 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porridge - The Complete Series Box Set (Series 1, 2, 3 and The Christmas Specials) (DVD)
The complete box set of all the great episodes and specials of Porridge.

From a dark dingy prison comes a show you can watch endlessly - and actually feel a warmth towards the main character - a common thief!

That takes good writing, but most importantly great actor's - enter Barker and Beckinsale - a perfect combination. They work so well off of each other, a great testimony to Ronnie as he had the same ifinitey with David Jason in Open all hours.

Life lessons with a smile - excellent.

Sit back - get comfortable and prepare to laugh (and at this price - you can laugh even louder!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Porridge is more than just for breakfast!, 18 Dec 2009
By 
Roy Anderson "War Buff - and civilian combatt... (Mount Brydges, Ont. Canada.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porridge - The Complete Series Box Set (Series 1, 2, 3 and The Christmas Specials) (DVD)
Who'd have thought that a prison could have made such a highly entertaining 'sit-com' possible? Not only possible, but a 'sit-com' that will ever remain among the finest and funniest of its genre.

Ronnie Barker's genius as a comedic actor is legendary and in none of his many highly successful and humorous characters is any better than his superb portrayal of the recidivist 'Fletcher' enjoying the hospitality of H.M. The Queen in Slade Prison.

The supporting actors, as always with Ronnie Barker, are given wide scope and are allowed many of the 'best' lines. Barker's self confidence and huge ability, allow him to be utterly unselfish with the humour. If you don't laugh at the antics portrayed in this 'sit-com', you likely require a humour transplant - for it is truly and memorably funny.

The title 'Porridge', for those of the modern generation, comes from the fact that in the 'old days' porridge was the perennial breakfast food for inmates of HM Prisons. Today, along with much else that was good and healthy, porridge doesn't feature on Prison menus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good diet of Porridge, 7 April 2010
By 
A. Culley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Porridge - The Complete Series Box Set (Series 1, 2, 3 and The Christmas Specials) (DVD)
I bought this as a birthday present for my Dad but to say I haven't seen it would be silly. We all know that porridge is good for you. It's a great, timeless comedy as funny now as when it was first broadcast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent item!, 31 July 2011
By 
Abbafan1972 (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porridge - The Complete Series Box Set (Series 1, 2, 3 and The Christmas Specials) (DVD)
Bought this for my dad for father's day, as he used to love watching this on the TV. I was too young to remember it the first time it was broadcast, but loved watching repeats of it. The humour is funny without being crude and I love Richard Beckinsale in it. Such a shame that he died so young. The box-set was well received by my dad. Would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews