Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (51)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film with some jaw dropping stunts.
Kurt Russell is Stuntman Mike, a guy with an eye for the ladies and a penchant for vehicular homicide. In fact, there's nothing that Stuntman Mike enjoys more than using his 'deathproof' car to wreak a little havoc and take a few lives.

The girls are sexy, the music is great and the stunts are fantastic.

About 45 minutes in everything ramps up for...
Published on 17 July 2012 by Mark G.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death Proof - Not quite the thrill ride promised
Other reviewers have dealt with the fact that this film was originally released as a double feature with Robert Rodriguez's Planet Terror under the title Grindhouse, so I wont go into that again here.

This part of the feature is Quentin Tarantino's homage to the Grindhouse genre of cinema, those cheap, gory films that infested the flea pits of the seventies and...
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by Victor


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film with some jaw dropping stunts., 17 July 2012
By 
Mark G. (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death Proof [DVD] (DVD)
Kurt Russell is Stuntman Mike, a guy with an eye for the ladies and a penchant for vehicular homicide. In fact, there's nothing that Stuntman Mike enjoys more than using his 'deathproof' car to wreak a little havoc and take a few lives.

The girls are sexy, the music is great and the stunts are fantastic.

About 45 minutes in everything ramps up for the most gratuitous and amazing crash sequence in the whole film and it is certainly impressive, not to mention voyeuristic with its multiple camera shots showing each victims demise in bloody detail.

The first half of the movie contains the most gratuitous death scene but the second half is the one with the most memorable stunts, particularly the one involving real life stunt woman Zoe Bell on the bonnet of a white Dodge Challenger. It's one of those rare moments that you get in a film where you are just watching in a stunned silence completely focused on what is enfolding on the screen. There is also a really well done motorcycle stunt in the second half that is almost a throwaway moment, which passes by so quickly that it's almost a case of blink and you'll miss it and yet it is a fantastic looking stunt.

Tarantino displays his flair for long scenes in which the characters just talk about nothing in particular and often nothing that's relevant to the plot in a style that isn't always realistic but works so well cinematically that somehow you just can't help but listen and become engrossed in what is being said.
Anyone familiar with the movies partner film Planet Terror will recognise a few characters from the hospital scene, and Tarantino/Rodrigez regular Michael Parks once again reprises his role as Sherriff Earl McGraw.

Stylistically the two halves of the film are different, with the second half being the cleaner image of the two. Almost making it appear like a different movie.

You could argue that a lot of time and money has gone into making a film that is homage to a genre of movies that were made quickly and cheaply. You could also argue that the scratchy film stock and jumps in editing are more artistic than a result of the low budget nature of grind house movies. The thing is, despite its flaws, this is still a really good and entertaining film. Anyone who is a fan of the old `car chase' movies from the 70's will get a kick out of this.

I'm a fan of the movies and style that Deathproof is referencing, so I guess my opinion is a little coloured by that fact but I would recommend this to anyone that hasn't seen it before and then recommend that once it's over, go out and watch the films that are mentioned in this movie.

Annoyingly the single disc edition still has `disc 1' printed on it, somehow mocking you for having bought that version. As the two are(at the time of writing) identically priced and as expected the single disc edition is minimal on the extras, then the two disc version is the one to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vengeance movie at its heart..., 29 Mar 2008
By 
J. Parsons (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Proof (Two-Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Yeah theres all the arty stuff and all the references to old movies and the amazing style, sound and direction. The camerawork is great, there are sexy ladies and Tarantinos performance in this one wasnt too bad. But even all of this doesn't make a great film.

For the first half I didn't get it. I sat there hating Stuntman Mike (Kurt Russel) and hating the film. I thought Tarantino had missed the mark bigtime, like a lot of other people here. I sat and watched as the second half of the film built up the backstory of more characters, and then stuntman mike appears again and I feared more of the same.

It was about then I realised this was a vengeance movie. I would go as far as to say one of the best of all time, only behind "Oldboy". To be frank most of the movie is just building up to the end; but what an end. Never have I hated a main character so much that the thought of vengeance, which dominates the other characters on screen, was resounding so deep within me that I was so sure the antagonist deserved what he got. To be shown a desire for vengeance like that was something no film has ever made me feel before.

This movie is the pure, distilled example of how to make the audience really care about the characters on screen. There is no complex plot. There wasn't a big budget. But the raw emotion this film can invoke, if you let it, is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death Proof - Not quite the thrill ride promised, 9 Mar 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Death Proof [DVD] (DVD)
Other reviewers have dealt with the fact that this film was originally released as a double feature with Robert Rodriguez's Planet Terror under the title Grindhouse, so I wont go into that again here.

This part of the feature is Quentin Tarantino's homage to the Grindhouse genre of cinema, those cheap, gory films that infested the flea pits of the seventies and eighties. In all honesty all Tarantino's films could be said to be an homage or continuation of this genre, but her it is more overt. The story is essentially that Kurt Russell's Stuntman Mike likes to kill people using his car as the weapon. It's a great story, and could lead to a thrilling action packed film (which is what you'd think you were getting from the advert!)

But Tarantino is far to interested in being clever to bother delivering what you're expecting. The film is shot largely in that old fashioned oversaturated technicolour, which gives it a seventies feel. To add to the effect, there are lots of deliberate scratches on the film, editing errors, jumps and flickers and even a short section filmed in black and white. Tarantino has made so much effort to make it feel like a cheap seventies flick that it almost feels churlish when you get annoyed by the artifice rather than charmed by it.

Most of the film is girls sat round various bars and cars chattering inanely with dialogue that is supposedly cool and witty, but in reality incredibly dull. Kurt Russell is a great contrast, not saying too much but making a huge impression. He really seems to enjoy his role, and gets right into the spirit of the creepy Mike, relishing some of the best lines in the film.

When the action finally picks up it is supremely well staged. Got to give Tarantino that, no one stages action scenes quite as well as he does. And the car chases and smashes, when they arrive, are a real thrill. The final sequence is worth sitting through the rest of the film for.

The sound track, as so often the case with Tarantino, is a real strength. A well chosen set of tracks that really drive the film along and accentuate the vibe. This aspect I loved all the way through.

3 stars in total. It's a bit too knowing and clever for its own good, but when it gets going it does so with style and verve. And any director who mentions one of my favourite bands, Dave Dee Dozy Beaky Mick and Titch, so prominently gets an extra mark from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's put a few things straight, 24 Sep 2007
If you're reading this you probably know that Deathproof was originally released as part of Grindhouse, which pays homage to some of the less well made cultish films of yesteryear. Deathproof was made and cut into a much shorter version, to be released with the other feature "Planet Terror" as part of one film eancapsulating the "Grindhouse experience". This however is substantially longer, and was filmed and written as a full length feature. This means that the film isn't longer because they put all the crap they cut out back in, more that the Grindhouse version had to cut lots of things out.

Now if you complain about this film having too much dialogue, then you can't have seen many Tarantino films before. His films are all about the dialogue! Tarantino dialogue doesn't appeal to everyone, even I cringe on occasion, but his dialogue and storytelling style is largely about people being cool rather than being entirely beleivable. It's all about colourfull characters, in unusual situations.

Now the film isn't perfect and i'm not going to stick up for it's flaws. Clearly the action scenes are what makes this film memorable, particularly as the Kiwi actress Zoe Bell (playing a character called Zoe who is a Kiwi) actually did those stunts for real, no harnesses etc.

Just because there isn't action all the way through doesn't matter. You wouldn't say jaws was a bad film just because the shark wasn't there the whole time. When stuntman Mike appears, things happen.

This film is great, but I admit not Tarantinos best. However, I really enjoyed it. Turn your mind off, watch the girls in skimpy clothes deliver dry witty diaglogue, then squirm in your seat as the inevitable happens and cheer at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good combination of dialogue and car chases, 22 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Proof [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As a Tarantino fan, this is another must have for my collection. A true fan should have both this and Planet Terror as seperate releases, as well as the Grindhouse edition. The latter is basically a director's cut of both movies combined. Deathproof as a standalone flick has more drawn out dialogue that will probably irritate the illiterate, but it is still classic Tarantino. The Dolby True HD soundtrack especially is kick ass. Cheers, enjoy the ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Won't be a Tarantino classic, 1 Mar 2008
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Death Proof (Two-Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I understand what Tarantino tried to do with this film (all the homage stuff etc) but he probably failed to realise that very few people care about those old films, or stunt-people for that matter, and doesn't know that what we really want and expect from this writer/director is a film that we want to see again and again and is unlike anything we've seen before. Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction are films I can see 50 times and never grow tired of them, while Jackie Brown remains his best film to date thanks largely to some brilliant characterisation; Death Proof however I may not bother with again because it's message is so simple, it's utterly devoid of characters you could care about, and even the car chases are unfortunately not as brilliant as Tarantino hoped. This film is surely much, much too long, and let's not forget it was originally meant to be just ONE HALF of a set piece of which Robert Rodriguez' 'Planet Terror' was the second half (a disastrous bastardisation of the Dusk til Dawn concept). Then when everyone started telling QT how boring and meaningless all this Grindhouse stuff is, he dumped the Rodriquez second half and added about half-an-hour of very mundane material from Death Proof that until then had (very sensibly) been lying on the cutting room floor. The script, if you could call it that, is ultimately wasted once you understand what the main point of this film is. It's a pure indulgence on his part and if anything I fear that we may have seen the best of him. That would be a pity, because clearly he once had supreme talent. I suppose if you watched this film and didn't know that he wrote or directed it, you would still guess that he did (apart from the fact that he appears in it of course) because it still has that 'something' to its style that is, if only just, Tarantino flavoured, but the bottom line is that the high points of this film are the car chases and I doubt that the main one would make any car-chase-lovers' Top 10 once the dust has settled and this film has been forgotten about. Technically it was good, but IMHO the pursuit lacked the tension, drama or class of such memorabilia as Bullitt, Ronin or - most importantly - Vanishing Point. In the end it was just plain daft, and a waste of a good idea.

By the way, if you haven't seen it and you just want to know what it's about, I can explain in very few words: It's about an aging stuntman turned serial killer who uses his 'death proof' car as the murder weapon. As for the reason he does that, well, that's never explained. Kurt Russell took the part after several others turned it down, including Mickey Rourke who I would suggest would have been rather better suited to the role.

I've given it a 3-star rating mainly because I like the macho sound of a 1970s Dodge Challenger (and Charger). If I had turned the sound down I would have given it one star for the pleasant distraction of seeing Mary Elizabeth Winstead (as 'Lee') dressed as a cheerleader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as bad as they say and not as good as others say, 4 April 2008
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Death Proof (Two-Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Death proof is a film that has divided so many on its worth to film,the reviews start at a one star rating and jump about all the way to a five out of five rating,in my opinion this film was a victim of its own hype and the previous work of tarantino,it is a homage to the 'b' movies that littered american cinema in the late 60s and early 70s with low production values and even worse acting,well the first half of this film is certainly tribute to that old ideal,so with in mind then this is deliberatley bad but has some redeeming factors as well.
The film deals with a stuntman who is played by kurt russell who has a deathproof car,well deathproof to himself,any other passenger will be killed in it and thats what he likes to do,he is manic,cool,vunerable and certainly sadistic,i mention the word vunerable as he is a bit of a cry baby but i will say no more on that.
The film breaks into two really with each narrative containing four women who talk their heads off and encounter kurt who wants to turn them into mince meat,both stories follow similar styles but with very different endings.
If you love your deaths bloody and your car chases rapid then sign this up,if you aint that mad on no real plot and loads of overblown dialouge then take care on this as tarantino loves to let his cast chat and chat and then chat,he admitted himself that between the action not alot happens and by george that is true but i cant help but like this,did i love it,no,would i watch again,yes,will i get a deathproof poster ,oh no,so there you have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Grindhouse simmers, 20 Jan 2008
By 
Fantasy Lore - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Death Proof (Two-Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
It isn't terrible. It isn't awesome. But it is worth seeing.

To preface, I'm an admirer of Tarantino's works- `Jackie Brown' and `Kill Bill' in particular and I really wanted to revel in `Death Proof' in the same way. I was prepared to disagree with the majority of negative or dissatisfied reviews here, but unfortunately I'm forced to agree with them and conclude that `Death Proof' doesn't hit its target often enough to make it a successful Grindhouse feature.

The problem isn't that Tarantino isn't successful at re-creating those elements of Grindhouse that made the genre so shocking in its heyday- there are impressively shocking scenes of horror and gore, there's a superbly innovative car chase, there's a regularly unnerving (and occasionally hilarious) performance by Kurt Russell. But sadly, those scenes aren't frequent or powerful enough, where as the film suffers greatly from being padded by those familiar scenes of mundane banter between characters that any fan of Tarantino will recognise from his earlier movies (e.g. `Pulp Fiction' and `Reservoir Dogs'). While these conversational asides (delivered by the actresses in the movie described only as `the girls') have a certain poetry to them, the content of the discussions is surprisingly dull and nowhere near as engaging as those similar discussions in Tarantino's previous films, and by the time those tedious scenes culminate in moments of carnage, the viewer is left with the feeling that it's all just too little, far too late.

If you've watched any Tarantino film before you'll be aware of this director's strange relationship with the opposite sex, alternately debasing and empowering them. He does both here, but I was still disturbed by Tarantino's treatment of his female characters, the majority of whom are little more than sex-obsessed sex objects to be disposed of on the whim of a madman, which I wanted to overlook because that's obviously the point of the movie to some extent. But even though `the girls' are awarded payback towards the end of the movie, only a couple of women in this feature are truly allowed to show strength independent of men- Zoe Bell (stunt artist) and Tracie Thoms (a talented comic actress). Bell may be a little wooden as an actress, but she and Thoms have good chemistry, which works well until the final (very anti-climactic) climax of the film. Having said all that I would still recommend you see 'Death Proof' for yourself, it's a complete one-off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where on earth do I begin?, 24 Feb 2009
By 
G. Thomas (Canterbury UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Death Proof [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I must say that it's rather sad that I believed the baying mob for so long and have only just watched this film two years after its initial release.
I was shocked and had to watch it again immediately to make sure I wasn't mistaken. Could this be Tarantino's greatest work to date?
I think it possibly is.

He has taken all the elements that made his other films so good and distilled the essence down into this perfect little number. There is so much that is noteworthy about "Death Proof" so where on earth do I begin?

This is such a loving homage to exploitation cinema that you can actually have difficulty separating the real-thing from the tribute. When one of the characters used a mobile phone I was momentarily thrown by the appearance of modern technology in such a convincingly 1970's film.
At times I also found myself thinking that certain images, moments, events, sounds, dialogue and perceived impressions could only be spooky coincidences because everything feels so very right. Then you realise this is actually the level of love and detailed effort that Tarantino has gone to in order to make this movie such an authentic experience.

Most of the negative points quoted in other reviews for this and other formats are precisely the effect he was trying to achieve but the nay-sayers just won't understand.

Unfortunately a certain (mistaken)percentage of Tarantino's inherited audience doesn't want him to do what he does so well...play with cinematic form.
This is a modern version of an exploitation film yet it doesn't actually exploit the usual targets of such cinema but daringly empowers them. Misguided adolescent fanboys don't want to see strong female characters on screen and are equally disappointed when the body count isn't higher than the last film.
Wake up, he isn't that kind of lazy film maker and you do him a great disservice by expecting it.

Personally I am in awe. This is exactly how I remember this type of movie down to the smallest detail.

The much maligned character development stages are absolutely vital (I'm guessing it's mostly male viewers who find these sections tedious or pointless). Firstly to make us "know" the girls and thus be even more shocked by the brevity and brutality of what is to come....and secondly because the kind of film "Death Proof" is trying to be were quite often long on character development and short on action because of budgetary restrictions.
I also quite often see people complain about the "wasted" effort they had to put in to the first half of the film but then I believe Alfred Hitchcock once stunned the movie-going public with a similar device by making them waste all that effort on Marion Crane in "Psycho"!

As for the unnecessarily poisonous viewpoint stated here in another review about the wonderful Zoe Bell:
1) She's not an actress she's a stuntwoman (playing herself)
2) Shame on you sir.......seriously, you need to catch yourself on.

Anyway on to the Blu-ray itself.

Let's get the subtitle issue out of the way first:
English and Spanish subtitles only

Lovely reproduction, even in the grainier sections of the movie where the slightly washed out look of cheap 70s films is spot-on (every scratch lovingly reproduced) but the picture crystallises for the second half into the expected beautiful hi-def quality.

There's an amusing selection of mini-featurettes (none in full HD) and commentaries some with Quentin enthusing in his inimitable style about anything and everything. His excitement is, as always, contagious.
I particularly enjoyed the "say hello to Sally Menke" section but generally I've never really been a fan of extras.

This is an almost groundbreakingly intelligent film with the added bonus of many iconic moments (which, luckily, we have come to expect from Mr Tarantino) The amazing crash, the soundtrack, the final chase and not forgetting Vanessa Ferlito's sizzling lapdance all burned into memory and destined to be part of cinematic history for generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Self-indulgent, boring and just plain awful., 24 April 2010
By 
Ernie (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Death Proof [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say I'm a big Tarantino fan, and even though the `Kill Bill' films were not up to par, they did somewhat capture the essence of the Asian revenge genre and were pretty enjoyable. I was really looking forward to `Death Proof', and even though it bombed in the U.S, I still had high hopes for Tarantino's tribute to the Grindhouse genre of horror, but I have to say this is an absolute stinker of a film and easily the worst I've seen in a long time.
The basic plot of the film revolves around a serial killer named Stuntman Mike, who builds a death proof car in which he can initiate fatal car crashes and escape with only minor injuries. The trouble is that the killer within the story hardly features at all, and instead the film focuses the two groups of women who will become his victims, this could have been good except there is no real pay off. Kurt Russell as Stuntman Mike could have been a great character though he's criminally under used, you never learn anything about his character, and in reality has only three brief scenes in the whole film.
The dialogue, which is usually superb in a Tarantino film, is just plain awful, uninspired, unengaging and nothing more than meaningless waffle. In reality the entire format of the film is 30 minutes of dull pointless dialogue, 3 minutes of action which include two 3 second gore scenes, 45 minutes of even more dull pointless dialogue, a 5 minute car chase and a really feeble ending.
The truth is that `Death Proof' is so awful even the most dedicated of Tarantino fans will find it an enormous let down. If you want to see a decent modern film which pays tribute to the 70's Grindhouse genre then rent the superb `House of 1000 Corpses', the 2003 remake of `The Texas Chainsaw Massacre', or `Wrong Turn'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death Proof (Two-Disc Edition) [DVD]
Death Proof (Two-Disc Edition) [DVD] by Quentin Tarantino (DVD - 2008)
4.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews