Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think of a Car Race, Practically any Car Race
I bought 2 copies of this game from Amazon before Christmas for myself and my brother in law and I have to say I am extremely impressed by Rfactor. As default the game comes with cars enabling you to race in F1, F3, tarmac rally, formula first and touring cars which sounds alot by comparison to other racing games and then you start to look at the available MOD's on the...
Published on 9 Jan 2008 by Mr. A. D. Hill

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Infinitely expandable, but mediocre racing
rFactor is well known in the PC race sim community thanks to the endless mods and tracks (including at least 3 versions of the Nordschleife) that are available to download for free. rFactor is quick to get into thanks to a fluid and easy menu system, the graphics are good and the car handling is fairly realistic (although the quality of amateur mods can vary from fairly...
Published on 6 Dec 2008 by Mr. A. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think of a Car Race, Practically any Car Race, 9 Jan 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rfactor (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I bought 2 copies of this game from Amazon before Christmas for myself and my brother in law and I have to say I am extremely impressed by Rfactor. As default the game comes with cars enabling you to race in F1, F3, tarmac rally, formula first and touring cars which sounds alot by comparison to other racing games and then you start to look at the available MOD's on the web which I will come to in a minute. There are a number of unlicensed tracks available in the game including a certain famous Northamptonshire track in the UK which are all accurate down to the bumps in the track surface. The only criticism I would make of the game is that you cannot devise your own championships although there is a program available to download online to do this. The game has a huge online following with MOD's available to download for a wide range of races including Touring Car, Rallycross, Truck racing and also a huge number of accurately modelled tracks meaning that this is practically the only racing game you need. This may not be the prettiest racing game but the lower quality graphics (still looks great to me though) does mean that this will run on lower spec machines contrary to what Mr Evans is incorrectly saying in another review. The min spec for this game is a 1.4Ghz processor, 512Mb RAM and Geforce 4200 or Radeon 9200 128Mb Video card. I highly recommend this game although as previous reviewers have said a good steering wheel is also recommended although keyboard/gamepad control is possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money!, 27 Sep 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rfactor (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is one of the best racing sims for PC! Lots of content, open architecture that enables a vast team of modders to create new mods and tracks.

Great online gameplay and good offline AI challenge.

Great value for the money you pay... Highly recommended!

P.S:"Please buy a good steering wheel to take full enjoyment out of this game"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Online Racer, 17 Dec 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rfactor (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Mr Evans hasn't got a clue what he is talking about when it comes to pc racing games. This game is great fun, it has hundreds of mods that are free to download and tracks too.
The online code is one of the most stable there is and you'll find loads of online servers running this game. Graphic aren't Simbin beating but they are still good. As for needing a high end pc...that's just not true, the games minimum spec pc is actually quite low compared to many of todays games.
All in all a highly recommended racing game.

To get the best out of any of todays pc racing games you really need to have a good force feedback steering wheel but lots of people use game pads but they would be faster with a wheel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Great Sim!!, 6 Nov 2007
By 
Luke Attwell (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rfactor (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have been looking for a Formula 1 game to come out on the PC for some time now (the last one i played was Geoff Crammonds GP4), and was getting very frustrated that i could not reenact the performaces of Lewis Hamilton from the comfort of my PC.

Then i stubbled upon this game, which has been made to be modified by the players, so although the game does not come with all the F1 cars and tracks, there are mods out there that you can download and install to get that great F1 sim that the PC so desires. But its not just for the F1 fans out there, you can pretty much get any mod for which ever type of racing you like, you just have to search for it!

I agree with the comment above, to get the best enjoyment out of this game a good quality force feedback steering wheel is a must! Although i have a few friends who say its quite easy to control with an anologue joypad.

So to sum up, Great game, Great car physics, Highly addictive, a must but for any racing sim fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best game... by a long way, 1 May 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rfactor (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have searched for so long for a Formula 1 game with all the current teams and drivers and I couldn't have found a better result. The game's quality is pretty good, until you set all the detail levels to full and then the game will leap out at you and make you feel like you are really racing against the greats of Mclaren and Ferrari.
The first time I played this I could not believe how absolutely perfect it was. The vehicles look actually life like and touchable. Its the first game I have seen where the reflection of the car is done in a thorough way. The sound is brilliant however if you have a bad sound card like me you won't be able to hear it to its maximum.
The only real racing car that is out there in real life with the exact same paint job, is the BMW. However on [...] it is possible to download mods full of exquisite detail easily and hassle free. There are many different mods whether you want a beautiful F1 lineup or a nonsensicle dune buggy with over-the-top wheels or even just some cool and lifelike tracks.
Once you get inside the game there is an opption for Testing, Race Weekend, Race season or Race replay depending on what you want to do. You can also choose the type of season you want and in races you can choose any of the vehicles in the game to take part.
In conclusion rFactor is a brilliant game enhanced by mods on [...] however you will need a pretty good graphics card and sound card to get the best out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 30 Dec 2007
By 
H. J. Blake - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rfactor (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Ignore the geezer from wales, hes talking crap, the game is not at all processor hungry and runs very well even on low-end pc's. Ive been playing pc racing games since I was a young nipper and the graphics are no where near as defined as gtl but god it feels real!

hb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For maximum enjoyment, you need a mentor/team., 25 Dec 2007
By 
G. Hogard "addcoachglen" (Tulsa, Oklhoma) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rfactor (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have been racing this sim for 1.5 years now with a team in the U.S. I have a P4 3 GHz and an AGP video card and a high speed 4mb/s cable modem. If it wasn't for the friend who recommended this sim and league to me, I would probably have given up. However, the hardware demands are not high as I have no problem with a 4 yr. old computer. But learning how to do the install properly and get the mods to work and then the hrs. of practice needed to get good at it: well, it takes work and is very rewarding when you begin to master it.

Check out rFactor (central) site for mods and tips and leagues to join. We often race EU pickup races and one of our league members (an open wheel series only) is from the UK and he can run on the server we have from here.

To get the most from this sim, you have to learn about it and get involved. It's not like a console game where you can pick it up and go online the same day and compete. I know several professional drivers who race rFactor (you would know some) and may or may not use their own name. But you sure can tell when they are on the track passing you! This sim rewards practice and setup knowledge and especially teamwork to get good.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Infinitely expandable, but mediocre racing, 6 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. A. Brown (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rfactor (PC DVD) (Video Game)
rFactor is well known in the PC race sim community thanks to the endless mods and tracks (including at least 3 versions of the Nordschleife) that are available to download for free. rFactor is quick to get into thanks to a fluid and easy menu system, the graphics are good and the car handling is fairly realistic (although the quality of amateur mods can vary from fairly good to downright awful).

The problems with rFactor are as follows: -

Firstly, the driver AI is awful, with no attempt made to do anything other than follow the racing line. On the opening lap, there is usually a lot of crashing and banging as the cars drive in 2-by-2 formation, braking like idiots in the outside lane of the M1 and leaving the door wide open to steal dozens of places. For the faster mods such as F1 and DTM, it is almost impossible to get round the first lap without your car either getting beached in the gravel or smashed to pieces thanks to the numbskull AI and grossly biased simulation that allows AI to float over gravel and recover impossible spins.

Secondly there is no weather whatsoever, which surely must rate as a essential part of anything claiming to be a racing simulation.

Finally, the force feedback is nonsensical, doing nothing to communicate what the front tyres are doing. I really don't want to feel the engine rattling at idle, what I want to do is feel the amount of grip available when trying to set the car up for a corner.

I also can't understand how they have managed to make such a realistic simulation of Silverstone and then failed to secure any kind of licence to actually call it Silverstone. I can't vouch for the realism of Nurburgring grand prix circuit but I imagine it's the same. So we have Northamptonshire and Nuerburg racing circuits!

I still enjoy playing rFactor, I would still recommend it to anyone who has the slightest interest in motor racing because of the vast library of free downloads available for it, but I can't help the feeling that it should have been much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Advanced racing simulator, 24 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rfactor (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Rfactor is probably the best car racing simulator ever. The original game is fantastic, but there are a lot of room for the expansion. There are several modifications available on the net, and you can do your own mod !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best race game out, 14 Oct 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rfactor (PC DVD) (Video Game)
i have been playing this game for some time,then i purchased race 07,to be honest rfactor looks better(eg on the higher settings you can see the grain and blemishes which look realistic on the tyres),plays better and has a massive range of mods available to down load for free, f1-nascar-gt-irl-trucks-vw beatle fun cup-go carts and on and on,theirs just about every track available as well.
you can download a season mod creator,make your own seasons for each mod,points system etc.
its a racing sim that you can through options give a arcade feel to,great sense of balancing the power and braking as you over cook it into a corner and lose that place you fought so hard to claim lol.
i prefer the more sim side of the options(damage on<traction control,abs and stability set to low or off)as this gives you that(as my girlfriend says) look of concentration and fear as i go into the first turn with massa to the right and a spining bmw in front of me at 180 mph lol.
its a great game and with mods covers just about every level of motorsport you can think of,looks better and plays better than race07.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rfactor (PC DVD)
Rfactor (PC DVD) by Sniper (Windows XP)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews