Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars63
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2008
If you've heard Daft Punk's earlier album 'Discovery' then you'll know the incredible transformation that Daft Punk can muster from seemingly limited samples. Imagine that same genius transformation gifted to DP's already well-realised and much loved repertoire and you might just begin to understand what these punks have achieved. After hearing 'Alive' you'll realise that 'Discovery' was just a stepping stone to this marvel and the songs on it now sound like they were written by DP's infant children.

If you haven't had the pleasure of 'Discovery' then it's hard to know what to compare this to. Just imagine the music that Optimus Prime and Elita One make oily, robot love to and you're in the right sort of area.

Some Highlights: The break in `One More Time- Aerodynamic'(I won't spoil it for you.)
The `Face-to-Face- Short Circuit' remix.
The trance section in `Too Long- Steam Machine'.
Just the whole damn thing really!!!

Negatives: `Digital Love' isn't used in any of the songs, but that's easily forgiven.

This isn't just a display of the potential of Daft Punk; it's a display of the potential of Techno, Dance, Funk, Electro music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
I was lucky enough to see Daft Punk live when they released their first album "Homework" and they were incredible. Now years later my interest in all things daft was re-ignited with the release of the excellent "Random Access Memories". Alive 2007 was available as a download at less than a fiver so it felt rude not to. It's a good album but you really need to be there .........
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2007
What can I say?

This is an astonishing album and recreates perfectly the fantastic "Alive" set that I experienced with thousands of others in Hyde Park earlier this year.

Daft Punk have playfully and with utmost skill mixed up/mashed/altered and HAMMERED out a near perfect set that takes you on a journey as much as any live gig that I have ever been too.

Don't worry if you didn't manage to catch them live - just turn it up and its as good as being there.

A couple of my highlights...

Track 10 which mixes Brainwasher, Rollin' and Scratchin', Prime Time...and Alive effortlessly into something totally insane

When Technolgic PROPERLY crashes in after the speeded up voice. Takes no prisoners

Television Rules the Nation....wow!

The interesting thing is that after the lukewarm reviews for their last album "Human After All" you might expect those songs to fall short. This is not the case whatsoever - it just proves to me that they were designed to be listened to LOUD!!!

Enjoy!
Oh, it is also the perfect workout album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
Some artists defy genres and categorisation, they simply produce great work and Daft Punk are a great example of that. It is dance music but the influences range from Prog to Hardgroove Techno.
This live album follows 3 fantastic studio albums, essentially, this live set is a complete mash up of a good chunk of their previous releases. Like an intricate DJ mix of their tracks with elements of a few tunes all played over each other. Obviously they know their own stuff but that can not hide the sheer hard graft and effort it must have taken to put this together. It will renew your love for their work and open your mind to the possibilities of a live show. Unfortunately I missed out on this tour but everyone I know who saw them all state, without hesitation that it was the most profound, special, live gig they'd witnessed. Not just within dance music, but the best live show ever! Take a listen to this album and you'll be in no doubt that they are indeed correct.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2011
If you like Daft Punk this is a must have CD, in fact if you like any form of Dance or Electronica music, this is a Must have CD. A live show recorded in Bercy, France Alive 2007 takes some of Daft Punks biggest hits and completely remixes them with other brilliant tracks by the duo. Each track melds perfectly into the next and of course all the tracks are mixed masterfully. This is why Alive 2007 won the Grammy Award for Best Electronic/Dance Album in 2008.

At this price, even if you don't like this CD, you won't have spent too much.

Amazing CD
Amazing Value
Amazing Music

Also delivery was very quick even though I chose the free 'Super Saver' option.

º°¨? ¸ø¤º°¨ø¤º°¨°º¤ø¸¨°º¤ø¸¸ º¤ø¸
¨°º¤ø Daft Punk FOREVER !! =] º¤ø¸
¸ø¤º°¨¸ø¤º ¸¨°º¤ø¸¸ ¸ø¤º ¸¨°º¤ø
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 June 2008
This really is a cracker of a live album. I wasn't familiar with any of Daft Punk's stuff but after hearing this I went out and bought all the back catalogue only to find that none of it was as good as this live CD!
Recorded in their home town at the Palais de Omnisports in Bercy this is one live album that make you wish you had attended the gig. This does not let up in intensity from start to finish and I shall be looking out for any live performances in the UK with keen interest. Throw away any pre conceived ideas - whether you like electronic music, dance music or rock this album deserves a listen. Can't recommend it highly enough
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
Ive loved Daft Punk for quite a while, and thought it was time to get the Alive album after purchasing there studio albums, I wasnt expecting much of a difference, but i was very wrong..

This album, in my honest opinion, is the best live album ever recorded, the tracks are made up of several songs mixed together, and it is superb. The general vibe of the music is amazing, the mixes are genius and all fit perfectly, and once again, Daft Punk have pushed the boundries of what is achievable live on the Electronic front.
I highly Recommend this to ANYONE who likes Daft Punk or Even just electronic music - Its truly unmissable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2007
Well, Im very very impressed....

It brought back MANY memories from seeing them live my self!

The Buzz from listening to it is just AWSOME!!!

There are track from Every single album they have Released, and they mixed together to create a fantastic live set...

I was at the GIG when this was recorded and NOTHING will ever top the experince.

Buy This Album, even if you havent heard of daft punk, even if your "not too keen" on their music, EVEN if your Old and drawing your pension!

This Album WILL rock your socks off and you wont be able to Stop nodding your head, closing your eyes and letting your self gooooo!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2007
If you like dance music you will love Alive 2007! I was at the O2 gig in Leeds 3 days after this was recorded and it was the best thing i have ever seen or heard!!!!!

Amazing!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2008
I've always been more into bands like The Cure and Pink Floyd but every now and then i'll try a random cd from the dance section in a hope that one day i'll build up a nice collection. After discovering Gabriel & Dresden, Digitalism and SMD i thought i'd check out Daft Punk last week for the first time. Picked up 'Alive 2007' and stuck in on in car on the journey home. Let's just say my 20minute journey home ended up 45minutes as i didn't want to turn it off!
The first track is perfect to get you in the mood, and having now listened to the album versions i can say that these live mixes are seemless and perfect. Each song just rolls into the next and the vocals are let lose with perfect timing.
Highlights: usually i'd pick some..but the whole cd is amazing. It's is one of those rare cds you can play from start to finish with no fast forwarding and no track skipping.
A fantastic advertisement for this type of music...if people who did not like anything dance related heard this instead of all the rubbish that you often hear then they would likely have a change of heart!
It's just jumped straight into the top 5 cds in my collection!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)