Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Success in the face of adversity
Russell Watson's second album of 2007 (and his seventh to date) was released, apparently against the advice and wishes of his management and record label, shortly after his discharge from hospital following surgery to remove the regrowth of his brain tumour.

Ignoring the advice of his management and record company (Decca) to release what is possibly an...
Published on 11 Jan 2008 by Mart

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars russell watson,just
A fair quality sound, but not as good as he used to be (possibly understandably)
Published on 19 Sep 2009 by Mr. David R. White


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Success in the face of adversity, 11 Jan 2008
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Outside In (Audio CD)
Russell Watson's second album of 2007 (and his seventh to date) was released, apparently against the advice and wishes of his management and record label, shortly after his discharge from hospital following surgery to remove the regrowth of his brain tumour.

Ignoring the advice of his management and record company (Decca) to release what is possibly an incomplete album or considered an ill-timed release speaks volumes for Watson's desire to please his many fans. The original release date was scheduled for 2008, after the singer's second life saving operation, and there was probably some concern by Watson that his health condition would prevent him from enjoying the appreciation of those fans had he delayed it until then.

I have great respect for anyone who enjoys fame in the face of adversity, and his perseverance through the pub and club circuit to his eventual recognition, initially thanks to his rendition of 'Nessun Dorma' during those early shows, has reaped its rewards.

I think this album continues and improves upon its predecessors in that it appears to be an almost randomly chosen selection of music, and the three special guests certainly add variety to the assortment of songs.

'Time To Say Goodbye', the duet with Hayley Westenra, is a beautifully sung version of this popular piece - it's in every ones repertoire these days it seems - and it's so good to hear it performed in a more slow and measured way than is often heard.

'Baby It's Cold Outside' with Denise van Outen (yes, she really CAN sing) is a simmering, sultry interpretation which helps erase the memory of Tom Jones and Cerys Matthews 1999 shambolic version of this song - I do have respect for both singers, but that duet was a gross miss-match I think.

The third duet with Jocelyn Brown is a nice ballad style version of 'Amazing Grace'.

The diversity of songs from the popular ('Love On The Rocks') to opera ('Nessun Dorma') will attract critics who claim a lack of direction by the singer, and although I can appreciate such views I think life really is too short and precious to let such concerns hinder music making and the enjoyment of it.

The album dedicates Nessun Dorma to the late Pavarotti, who I'm sure would approve of this powerful 2007 performance, and the sleeve notes dedicate the album to Watson's two daughters who helped him to 'be strong enough to carry on fighting through this very difficult period of my life'.

In summary an extremely entertaining album, full of variety and interest.

Best wishes Russell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outside In- the best!, 5 Jan 2008
By 
Phillippa Shepley (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outside In (Audio CD)
This is an amazing Cd with the Voice showing his versatility with a wide range of songs. La Califfa is fantastic and so is Jill's America, but each song is beautifully sung. This man has amazing talent and I along with many others hope he makes a full recovery and continues entertaining us for many years to come. It is worth buying all his CDs. The only one, which was still good, but not to my musical taste was That's Life. Many people rave about it though. Outside In is an essential for everybody. Congratulations Russell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUALITY FROM RUSSELL, 26 Dec 2007
By 
K. Johansen "luvmusic" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outside In (Audio CD)
I have every cd Russell has recorded and every one is superb.

It is very hard to say which album is better, to me they are all great.

Russell really is a most versatile singer as he sounds completely different singing contemporary pop music, many classical artists sound stilted when singing something more popular but not Russell.

I won't go into detail on any of the songs, suffice to say Russell has never let me down and to listen to one of his albums is always wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Russell Sings It All..., 5 Dec 2007
By 
David A. Preiser "Mannequin Man" (Tacoma, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outside In (Audio CD)
Russell Watson Proves Once Again That He Can Sing Any Style Of Music & Sing It FANTASTIC!!!! On His Newest "Outside In" He Sings Great Classical, Standard, Pop And Christmas(Thank You Russell)Songs With Great Ease & Feeling And The Results Are Stunning!!!!! I Love The Mix Of Styles As The Cd Can Be Listened To Over & Over Without Boredom. Russell Has Always Been The Best Of The "Popera" Singers IMO Because He Is Not Only A Terrific Classical Singer, He Is A Wonderful Pop Singer With A Pure Pop Voice!!!! Wishing Russell A Speedy Recovery & Happy Holiday!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 4 Jan 2008
By 
lizzy "Liz." (Chatham, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outside In (Audio CD)
I have all Russells CD's and this one is another hit. An interesting mix of music. i wish him all the best for 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Hit !, 28 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Outside In (Audio CD)
This late 2007 album is another to add to the collection for Russell Watson fans.Its a little strange to grasp but the mix of classical and pop is sometimes a good one and Russell is the "Daddy" of crossover the Voice as he is also known as because he has power and range beyond most singers classical or pop that are round at the moment.
There has always been a debate over is classical best for the Voice? as he sings and entertains in his music and the passion and power shows what ever he sings!So its good to hear what else this versatile voice can do!What ever you may think of his success it is undeniable he has talent ,I am sorry but sour grapes just does not cut it with me his success is a reflection of his talent and voic.Come on ! if he was so bad no one would buy his music instead he sells millions of albums worldwide so he must appeal to someone!
There are some outstanding tracks on the album and I for one will continue to listen to them. if you like classical he has done a great ultimate collection,something different? then he has more to choose from it up to you! I am sure we have more albums to come from this powerhouse of an artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing record, 3 Dec 2007
By 
P. V. Crammer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outside In (Audio CD)
He just gets better and better. . .'La Califfa' and 'One more time' were just so moving and every track a masterpiece as usual.
Get well soon Russell and give us more wonderful albums please and live performances
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!!!!!, 1 Dec 2007
This review is from: Outside In (Audio CD)
if you dont have this you should once again the voice does not not dissapoint la califfa and one more time are faves russell may god bless and keep you we pray for your continued recovery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every album Russell has recorded, 20 Nov 2007
By 
Sheryl L. Kahre "Faux Girl" (Omaha Ne USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outside In (Audio CD)
First I want to say to Russell, our thoughts and prayers are for your speedy recovery!! Second of all I want to THANK you for all your wonderful albums as I listen to them literally everyday.
I am a decortive painter and find immemse inspiration listening to your angelic voice and doing my work...I CAN'T WAIT FOR YOUR NEW ONE..
Get Well, and know so many people are thinking of you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside In (Audio CD)
This is Russell at his best - but then when isn't he? You wouldn't regret buying this so go to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outside In
Outside In by Russell Watson (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews