Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warming the Winter Nights
A reprinted collection (2007) of novellas from four Paranormal Romance authors, celebrating the magic of Christmas.

**Melting Frosty - Maggie Shayne
12 years ago Matthew lost his father, and he's never enjoyed Christmas since. 12 years ago Holly lost her entire family, and has been trying to enjoy life ever since. Christmas is an extra special time for...
Published on 6 Jan. 2010 by Book Gannet

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enchanted Season
I only purchased this book for the Nalini Singh story which I found brilliant as usual, unfortunately I didnt find the other stories to my taste. So only three stars.
Published on 21 Mar. 2013 by Jean Hill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warming the Winter Nights, 6 Jan. 2010
By 
Book Gannet (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A reprinted collection (2007) of novellas from four Paranormal Romance authors, celebrating the magic of Christmas.

**Melting Frosty - Maggie Shayne
12 years ago Matthew lost his father, and he's never enjoyed Christmas since. 12 years ago Holly lost her entire family, and has been trying to enjoy life ever since. Christmas is an extra special time for her, full of hope and memories, so when Matthew's life bumps into hers, she knows she must teach him to enjoy himself and Christmas again. With help from optimism, snow and one very special hat.

Saccharine sweet, Holly is over the top cheerful (and oddly pushy), while Matt should just stay out in the snow. A short story that felt too forced in order to meet the requirements. Too corny for me - 2 stars.

**Charlotte's Web - Erin McCarthy
Will and Charlotte have been best friends for years, both secretly in love with the other, but not daring to do anything about it. Until Charlotte's latent witchcraft powers and her empathetic sister Bree decide to take matters into their own hands.

This is a story of contrasts - at times Charlotte and Will are entirely too sweet, then they get together and the tone completely changes. Talk about a merry Christmas! In all, cute - 3.5 stars.

**Beat of Temptation - Nalini Singh
The healer of the DarkRiver leopard changer pack, Tammy has been in love with Nate for years. Which is handy, since he's her mate. However, because their bond kicked in when Tammy was just fifteen, Nate will do anything to give her time and space. With ten years between them, Nate is determined not to repeat the mistakes of his parents, who married too young. And if that includes keeping his hands off Tammy until she's ready, so be it. But Tammy has had enough of waiting. Now nineteen, she's all grown up and wants to claim her mate - no matter what he has in mind.

A prequel to Singh's `Psy/Changeling' series, it quickly delves into changer life, full of the details and characters Singh has created. The struggles of both Tammy and Nate are wonderfully done, building towards a satisfying conclusion. Good stuff, though the Psy plot seems a little superfluous - 4.5 stars

**Gifts of the Magi - Jean Johnson
In snowy late December three travellers end up at a quiet country inn, whose young owners face financial difficulties. But Christmas is a time of miracles, and the Bethel Inn is about to experience several.

A sweet tale of the magic of love, friendship and lending a helping hand, with a sprinkling of religious tolerance - 4 stars

****
Focusing more towards sweet romanticism than the paranormal, this anthology will warm the heart over the cold winter nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas with four of the best, 24 Oct. 2012
By 
Ladybubbles (Croydon, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a Christmas anthology featuring four top notch authors....

"Melting Frosty" by Maggie Shayne is a story about two people who have both suffered tragedy during the festive season and how differently they have dealt with their grief. While Matthew has hated Christmas ever since his father died, Holly on the other hand has embraced the holiday season more than ever since losing her whole family just before Christmas. Can a mystical fedora hat help them to find happiness with each other?
In "Charlotte's Web", Erin McCarthy writes about a witch in denial about her powers and wishes to celebrate Christmas the traditional way with the man she has loved for years, her friend Will Thornton. All she needs to do is think of a way to get Will to notice her as a woman and without her interfering family using magic to assist her!
"Beat of Temptation" by Nalini Singh is part of her Psy-Changeling series and the reason why I bought this anthology. Tamsyn Mahaire is the Healer of the DarkRiver pack, an unusually high position for one so young. The mating bond between Tamsyn and Nate Ryder snapped into place when Tamsyn was only fifteen years old. Now, at age nineteen, Tamsyn is ready to be claimed by Nate but he thinks she is still too young. Will Nate wake up to what Tamsyn needs or will he lose her for ever?

"Beat of Temptation" is a passionate, beautiful tale of the power of love. Nalini Singh captivates readers with this precursor to the beloved books starting with SLAVE TO SENSATION. As always, her story perfectly encapsulates both the joys and the heartaches that falling in love entails. If you haven't experienced the magic of Ms. Singh's wonderful series, "Beat of Temptation" is the perfect opportunity to get a taste of what this incredibly talented author has to offer. If you enjoy this short story, I would suggest you get the rest of the series starting with "Slave to Sensation" - you won't regret it.

"Gifts of the Magi" by Jean Johnson concludes this anthology. Steve Bethel and his fiancée, Rachel Rutherford, are trying to make a living from the Bethel Inn. A freak blizzard has led to cancellations of all of their scheduled guests, leaving a mortgage they can't pay due to their miserly banker. However, unexpected visitors have arrived and miracles will be in store this Christmas. This is an enchanting universal tale of celebrating the Christmas spirit no matter what religion you believe in.

What an enchanting tale! Jean Johnson has crafted a very clever tale that touches on the holiday spirit for all religions. The universal theme of helping another in need is shown clearly throughout this heart-warming story. The love between Rachel and Steve runs deep, and their sudden fortunes are sure to bring a smile to even the most miserly.

This was a brilliant buy! I was pleasantly surprised to say I enjoyed all four above; there was not a bad one in the whole bunch. I promise you that you won't regret it if also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enchanted Season, 21 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only purchased this book for the Nalini Singh story which I found brilliant as usual, unfortunately I didnt find the other stories to my taste. So only three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!!, 5 July 2010
I bought this book, purely for Nalini's story as I'm a huge, huge fan. What an amazing start to the Psy/changeling world, I have read the story a few times and it never fails to make me cry!!

It's worth buying just for Nalini's story, the others are really good too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 9 Dec. 2009
By 
M. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I brought this book in error, simply because nowhere, was it stated that this was simply a reprint of the original book printed in 2007. I was therefore disappointed that it was not a new collection of stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars FEEL CHEATED, 4 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AN Enchanted Season (Psy/Changeling Series) (Kindle Edition)
Disappointed that the nalini Singh story was the same as in the book wild invitations. The other stories were ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug. 2014
By 
Pamela Harding "pamelaharding" (pamelaharding) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AN Enchanted Season (Psy/Changeling Series) (Kindle Edition)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews