Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of protection software, but you need a firewall too!
Installation is simple and painless. It is important to realise though this software is not a firewall in itself. You also need a piece of firewall software in addition to this item.
From the icon on the start bar, you can open an Internet Explorer windows with extra privacy built in, which prevents web pages being added to your history, remove items from the...
Published on 27 Aug 2008 by Mr. Graham Cummings

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not compatible with 64 bit Vista, no anonymous surfing
Considering that Zonealarm are not even willing to try to convert any of their current software to a 64 bit operating system, you'd think that they would be upfront about it. No warning about this basic requirement on the box, on their website or on this Amazon page. Any prior knowledge of this problem requires a good search around some tucked-away forums...
Published on 28 Aug 2008 by the antiquary


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not compatible with 64 bit Vista, no anonymous surfing, 28 Aug 2008
This review is from: ZoneAlarm ForceField (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Considering that Zonealarm are not even willing to try to convert any of their current software to a 64 bit operating system, you'd think that they would be upfront about it. No warning about this basic requirement on the box, on their website or on this Amazon page. Any prior knowledge of this problem requires a good search around some tucked-away forums.

Apart from concerns about how competently Zonealarm's code is written you ought to be aware that their software may not play nicely with other things already on your computer - Kaspersky antivirus for instance.

With so many other security programs - firewall, antivirus, antispyware (and Vista itself!) - offering browser security and anti-phishing the only real selling point of this product seems to be privacy, however Forcefield does not offer identity theft protection - it claims a 'private browser' although it does not appear to hide your IP address.

All FF seems to offer which is not already covered elsewhere is to stop any other other users on your PC from finding out where you've been - which I'm sure you know is easily accomplished on your Menu Bar with:

'Tools, Delete Browsing History'.

(XP users look under Internet Options)

And if this wasn't enough Microsoft have recently added InPrivate to the soon-available Internet Explorer 8, which is another way of hiding your browsing habits for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complementary Protection, 27 Aug 2008
By 
Richard Kelly (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: ZoneAlarm ForceField (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
ZoneAlarm ForceField is a product that is aimed at the missing link in most Windows computer security products. It has a very simple aim, protect computers from Browser Hijack/spyware attacks. It privides protection from the following types of attacks

Phishing Web Sites - web sites that look legitimate but are looking for you to type in your private/credit card details.

Key log/screen grab attacks - although this may not work if you have a security suite that provides encryption of keystrokes anyway.

Spyware Flushing - stops spyware being downloaded and installed, but will not remove any that you already have!

Spy Site Blocking - flags sites that download spyware for you so you don't get it downloaded in the first place.

Dangerous download detector - checks downloads for potential nasty spyware, but not for viruses

Web site safety check - uses a traffic light system to show the relative safety of a web site.

The killer feature for most people will be the Virtual Browser. When this function is invoked all the usual Web Site history and cookie items are stored in a virtual area of the registry and file system. When you close the browser all the items are deleted so there is no trail for your friends/siblings/parents/spouse etc to follow.

The product is small and once I attempted to install from the DVD it told me that there was more upto date version on the Internet - that was a 5.5 MB download and it took a couple of minutes to install. Once installed there is basically no configuration. You get a toolbar at the top of your browser from where you can change the settings, which I haven't, as the default behaviour is that everything is on. I did notice that my browser takes longer to start up now and some sites take longer to load, but the delay isn't much of an issue.

All these sound quite good, BUT you must still use good practice on your machine as this is not an AntiVirus product it is simply a Browser Hijack Security product. To keep yourself safe on the web you there are a few simple rules that should be followed - this product is an attempt to povide these rules to systems where people are either not technically literate enough to follow them, or who wish to not follow them. And remember to remove any spyware that is already installed on your machine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good product, 27 Aug 2008
By 
Sam "msaa500" (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: ZoneAlarm ForceField (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very good addition to ZoneAlarm's security products. Having tried their Firewall before, I gave this new product a try, and it did not fail to impress. The concept is good, Forcefield creates a virtual image of your pc, and integrates into your browser, so whenever you visit a website, whatever happens, happens first in the image. I ran it on WinXP SP2, with Firefox 3.1, it seemed to be good. However, my browser seemed to be slowing down, especially at start up, it did take a while for the browser to load and open the homepage. After that, I did not notice a big difference in speed. The need for this product varies of course from one person to another, It definitely does the job well, and adds to your antivirus, and firewall applications an extra layer of security. I found it useful because I am using Firefox with a script blocking add-on, but sometimes this add-on has to be disabled in order to view some sites, like youtube for instance or any other sites with multimedia, and this is where Forcefield comes in handy. You will be sure that if that site is trying to run a damaging script, your computer will be safe. This is a very good product, will definitely give some peace of mind and together with an antivirus and a firewall will be perfect. There are two very nice features that I found great, one which the forcefied button, which shows you whether a site is safe or not, which is not a new feature and McAfee's siteadvisor already does this job, but still it is very useful when doing online banking for instance, extra assurance is never bad. Second one, the private browser, which does not leave any trace of your activity behind, very good, also found in other products, but nice to have everything in one bundle. I have not tried it with Internet explorer, so cannot comment on its performance. In a nutshell, nice product, good value, certainly very useful, and worth getting for everyone who does not want their system to be harmed through the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of protection software, but you need a firewall too!, 27 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. Graham Cummings (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ZoneAlarm ForceField (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Installation is simple and painless. It is important to realise though this software is not a firewall in itself. You also need a piece of firewall software in addition to this item.
From the icon on the start bar, you can open an Internet Explorer windows with extra privacy built in, which prevents web pages being added to your history, remove items from the downloads, erase auto-fill and auto-completion details, and block all cookies.
The information it records is very useful, it lets you know whether or not the site is safe to browser, and the application displays a banner at the top of the page to let you know that you are using a private browser. I checked my website (which obviously cam back fine) and it even reported that the site had a valid security certificate.
I tried to find some dodgy websites to try it out, but I couldn't find any! I still believe though, given the amount of detail it provides you, that the software is fully capable of what it says it does on the tin. I've used the ZoneAlarm Firewall (from the same stable) for years and it's always been a top notch piece of software, and this item feels no different.
It's good that you can choose an unprotected browser too though, because being a web designer/developer I need to be able to test legitimate processes. Even when I am shopping online at trusted sites, I won't always want to stay anonymous.
At the very least, the application is useful for the indicator in the browser that lets you know whether or not the site is safe to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super-duper extra security - my PC is like Fort Knox!, 23 Aug 2008
By 
H Pedder "bookworm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ZoneAlarm ForceField (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This browser security software complements your additional PC security to give you added protection whilst surfing the net. It's a doddle to install and the simple toolbar gives easy access to view how it's working to protect your computer. I've already got the McAfee 10-in-1 security suite installed and I didn't think I'd really need anything else, but this software has given me added faith when on the internet. It creates a 'clone' of your PC so that, whilst visiting a website, any attacks/phishing/screen log attempts etc. are directed at the clone and not your actual PC. VERY clever! It also tells you whether it considers a website to be 'safe' or not (but to be honest, my McAfee does that anyway) and automatically alerts you to potentially dangerous downloads.

It also allows you to open a 'private browser' (with the same level of security) that removes all trace of your internet activity at the end of the session. Handy for when you want to buy a present/book a surprise holiday for your other half...of course, it could also be used for less savoury purposes..! Either way it's a nifty tool.

*EDIT* Over the past few days, I've experienced several problems which have never occurred before I installed this software. The makers claim that it can be used in addition to any existing security, but it seems to be clashing with my McAfee on a sporadic basis. Every now and then my McAfee stops working - the next day it'll be fine. This is a worry, as the McAfee security is my main priority, not this. Furthermore, I've had problems today when I've downloaded a Word document from the net and saved it to my desktop...it's disappeared from my desktop completely! I can only access this document by going to the website from where I downloaded it and browsing the attachment options from my comp. Not sure why or how this is happening, but it's never happened before now. Seems to be linked with the protection that Forcefield is offering. It would appear that it's rather over-protective...you've been warned. I'd alter the star rating if I could but I can't now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and Effective to use, 24 Aug 2008
This review is from: ZoneAlarm ForceField (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
On first installing the software I had a wee problem with the serial number on the DVD casing which
wasen't recognised by the installation. This was due to the Os and Is being mixed up with the 1s and zeros
figures, after sorting all that out the software installed no problem. It supports Vista as well as XP
and is Firefox 1.0, 2.0 and 3.0 and Internet Explorer 6 and 7 once you update the software from the net.
Once the software is setup thats it you can leave it to get on with the job. When you browse the net
it will inform you by colours which sites to avoid in your internet search result. Green is all go, yellow is
go with caution etc.If thier is an update ready to download it will inform you of this too and you can choose to
download it then or later. The program will also give you opportunity to browse the net privately, this means
you can go anywhere you like without worry of anyone who uses the PC knowing this as if you've never surfed at all.To do
this you just click on private browsing.

Thats about it really if I come across a problem with the software later I will certainly
report back here but alls well so far. The manual is a simple 6 page postcard size leaflet so no need to spend weeks
getting to know the program like I said its one of the simplest commmercial but effective programs I have come across in
my years of computing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent addition to your security suite, 25 Aug 2008
By 
Mr Gumby "DH" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: ZoneAlarm ForceField (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
ForceField is designed to complement your security suite by protecting your browser (IE or FF). It doesn't replace firewalls or antivirus tools but blocks keyloggers, warns against dodgy downloads, prevents access to phishing sites, etc.

Based on just a week's use, it certainly seems to do its job effectively although several well-known valid downloads were `unknown' and I was left to make my own decisions. That included Firefox!

Forcefield can automatically wipe all details of financial transactions. That does mean you have to enter all your details every time, but is of course a very wise precaution. If you use a tool like Roboform, as I do (highly recommended), then you don't need your browser to remember those details anyway.

Forcefield does sometimes slow Web access a little. Having said that, it was generally unobtrusive, and you can always choose to bypass Forcefield and browse without it. In any case, there is an overhead to all security tools, and the overhead has to be accepted in exchange for enhanced security and peace of mind.

Overall, unless you really can't tolerate the odd pause in your surfing, I'd recommend Forcefield as another brick in your security wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad thing to have..., 16 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. A. L. Cooper "drunken_munkey" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ZoneAlarm ForceField (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Okay, so you've done some digging around on the internet and maybe elsewhere, looking for that program that'll stop viruses and various other unknown amounts of nasties getting on your computer. Norton? McAfee? Ring any bells? Well this program DOESN'T do this.

Fine... so a five star review for a program which claims to protect your system and isn't an antivirus. Wacky? Wacky. But please, bear with me. This program is designed to hop onto your internet browser (either Internet Explorer or Firefox you'll be glad to hear) and prevent the current user from clicking unknowingly on a link which will lead you to a site which will stuff your PC full of things you don't want. This thing tells you when you're about to do something horrific and generally make surfing the internet a lot safer. So there you have it. Instead of killing off potential threats on your computer, it does it's best to stop those threats from even getting on there.

Not only this, but it'll even allow you to surf more descretely. For instance: say you're wanting to visit your bank's website and check your balance. Or perhaps buy something from Amazon. You're going to have to enter private information: username, password, email address, telephone number, credit card details... whatever. By utilising the option of 'Private Browser', you can go ahead and enter those details knowing that NONE of that information will get stored on your machine. "But I'm the only one that uses this computer" I hear you say. Well here we are again: say for instance you close this program and visit dangerous websites without the protection offered here, you may pick up a nasty virus or malware. And this ain't an antivirus. Your computer and the information stored on it could be made public via something which YOU downloaded, without knowing.

So to cap this off...

What it does:
-Protects you when surfing the internet
-Stops bad virus-distributing websites being accessed
-Gives you dicrete browsing with no information stored whatsoever

What it doesn't:
-Remove viruses/malware/adware/spyware
-Slow down your system like an antivirus might
-Make you coffee

So all in all, you may be feeling slightly bewildered, but hopefully more knowledgeable now about why you'd need such a program as ZoneAlarm Forcefield. It's really down to how you use your computer, but I'd recommend it to anyone in need of that little bit extra security which antivirus programs just don't offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Security protection, 25 Aug 2008
By 
Romreader "pawsperson" (Gosport, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: ZoneAlarm ForceField (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Zone Alarm does exactly what it says on the cover. It is easy to install and private browser stops the next person seeing what you have looked previously which is good when buying presents online for your family and not giving the game away.
The Key log/ Screen grab jamming again adds further protection with the addition of anti phishing.
Forcefield shows you if a sight is safe to go on to.
This is compatible with most security suites and Micro soft, It also can be used on Windows Vista or XP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 23 Jan 2009
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ZoneAlarm ForceField (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's a good idea but the actual product does have some problems. The good points are that it adds a layer of security to your antivirus and internet security suit - assuming that you use them. It also installs very smoothly and is super simple to use; however I found that it caused my IE7 to hang up when shutting down and making access to the command menu unavailable. It does also slow up the internet browsing process to a fairly noticable amount, especially when first opening up IE. Okay, given the way this product works by checking sites first and if you wish creating a virtual computer online for surfing I expected some reduction in speed, but to be frank it was to such an extent I found it exasperating. After about two days I uninstalled it which thankfully proved to be as easy as installing it - unlike some on line security products - stand up Norton and McAfree. In all honestly I just don't think that I could reccommend using it unless you have a computer dedicated for finance or similar which you are very cautious about. It's a pity because I've used other ZoneAlarm programs and they were excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ZoneAlarm ForceField
ZoneAlarm ForceField by Avanquest Software (Windows 2000 / Vista / XP)
Used & New from: £7.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews