Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roots
I watched the complete Roots story right through last weekend and found it gripping, powerful and a vivid portrayal of the journey of one family through history from the mid 1770s to the present day. It starts with Kunte Kinte, a young man of the Mandinka tribe living in Gambia being captured by slave traders, transported in appaling conditions in the hold of a slave...
Published on 17 Aug 2010 by David Rowland

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Roots
This was good although I thought that there was a episode missing as cd number six was not what it said it was. Not to happy
Published 19 months ago by Sophie Hickmot


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marlon brando, 7 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Brilliant story but at the end of the last dvd it says next on roots and shows malcolm x and starring marlon brando but it's not on there is there another series perhaps , does anybody know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roots: The Complete Collection (Region 2 Boxset), 2 Nov 2007
By 
Agent47 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Just recieved this boxset this morning. Not had a chance to start watching it yet but I must say I was a little disappointed to find out that the boxset was not in the style of the Region 1 set which Amazon first advertised. Im pretty sure the much bigger R1 set includes a book with pictures of the DVD chapters (the reason for 4/5). None the less Roots collection is as important as it is educating. The Next Generations is a lot more positive than the original. The artwork for the Next Gen is exactly the same as the Original Series which is very confusing and must be an error. The extras are a bit bare for me. The Gift is the on set which does not have a documentary to complement it. Also the picture quality on this disc isnt that good and seems like an episode from a Star Trek tv series because of three well known faces that star in it (lol).
But overall I am so pleased to have the 'Complete Collection' on DVD. Actually it isnt complete without 'Queen' (another Alex Haley mini series) in the set. Hopefully that will be released next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I remember, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Having watched the original TV series decades ago I was looking forward to a nice glass of wine while watching it again. However to me the series now looks ham acted and slow. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Positive, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Fantastic quickservice.Fantastic quick service, will definitely recommend you to other people and good value keep up the good work, kind regards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roots Dvd, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Again i totally loved this when i watched it on Tv years ago and i still love it today absolutely fantastic well worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roots, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This DVD was bought as a present for my cousin. I remember it when it first came out and it was very good. I am sure she will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars at last., 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
had been talikng about getting this so was pleased when i saw it on dvd all together just waing for time to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roots, 22 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This review is for the whole series of Roots and covers the capture of Kunta Kinte through the transportation of him and his kindred to the USA where, if they were lucky enough to survive the voyage in totally inhumane conditions, they were treated worse than animals.

Considering when this series was made, it is very graphic with scenes of violence, however this is needed and in general this could be viewed in my opinion by 12 year olds and upwards.

My only critism is that some scenery seems a little false in places and it would have benefited from being in widescreen, otherwise it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warner Box Set Errors Again!, 22 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I too received the set with the Next Generations covers missing and the Roots ones being repeated. I reported this to Amazon and returned it to them and within two days, received the replacement. I had warned Amazon, Warner Bros. being notorious for making box set errors (cf. the Superman collection, which in the end I didn't bother buying), that their entire stock would be the same. The replacement is the same problem. My experience - via email - has been very positive with customer services but they can't do anything about the cover problem.

I think I have little choice but to keep the set (at least the discs are correct!) and I have asked them to furnish me with a contact number or email, for me to contact Warner myself. Failing that, I'll have to mock up my own covers on my PC.

Watch this space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews