Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roots
I watched the complete Roots story right through last weekend and found it gripping, powerful and a vivid portrayal of the journey of one family through history from the mid 1770s to the present day. It starts with Kunte Kinte, a young man of the Mandinka tribe living in Gambia being captured by slave traders, transported in appaling conditions in the hold of a slave...
Published on 17 Aug 2010 by David Rowland

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Roots
This was good although I thought that there was a episode missing as cd number six was not what it said it was. Not to happy
Published 18 months ago by Sophie Hickmot


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roots Dvd, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Again i totally loved this when i watched it on Tv years ago and i still love it today absolutely fantastic well worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roots, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This DVD was bought as a present for my cousin. I remember it when it first came out and it was very good. I am sure she will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars at last., 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
had been talikng about getting this so was pleased when i saw it on dvd all together just waing for time to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roots, 22 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This review is for the whole series of Roots and covers the capture of Kunta Kinte through the transportation of him and his kindred to the USA where, if they were lucky enough to survive the voyage in totally inhumane conditions, they were treated worse than animals.

Considering when this series was made, it is very graphic with scenes of violence, however this is needed and in general this could be viewed in my opinion by 12 year olds and upwards.

My only critism is that some scenery seems a little false in places and it would have benefited from being in widescreen, otherwise it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warner Box Set Errors Again!, 22 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I too received the set with the Next Generations covers missing and the Roots ones being repeated. I reported this to Amazon and returned it to them and within two days, received the replacement. I had warned Amazon, Warner Bros. being notorious for making box set errors (cf. the Superman collection, which in the end I didn't bother buying), that their entire stock would be the same. The replacement is the same problem. My experience - via email - has been very positive with customer services but they can't do anything about the cover problem.

I think I have little choice but to keep the set (at least the discs are correct!) and I have asked them to furnish me with a contact number or email, for me to contact Warner myself. Failing that, I'll have to mock up my own covers on my PC.

Watch this space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Great DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Discs Dodgy, 21 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I loved re watching this film still as moving as ever however some of the discs kept pausing and it was most annoying and at one point I did not think I would get disc 5 to play at all and was going to have to return them. They are not clearly marked as to what no disc they are my eyesight is good yet I struggled personally would of preferred to pay more money and of had the quality. I have not finished watching all of them so hopefully the rest will work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We need to look back...., 2 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
..... I have made sure my seven year old boy has started watching this series. I believe it is a must. Our children are taught that they were slaves. This series sets the records straight - we were MADE into slaves! Prior to that, we lived happy peaceful, prosperous lives on our wonderful continent, Africa. Our children need to know this so they can walk with heads held up high that they do not owe anything to society, all our debts are more than paid up, and the west cannot repay us even if they wanted to. Our ancestors worked hard to build the west, so it is in fact out inheritance. NO WAY are we second class citizens, no matter what people may think. Thank God for this record of events - it makes story-telling far easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong packaging, 14 Nov 2007
By 
Norbert Machado "Norbert" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I have been an avid fan of Roots since it was first aired in the UK back in 1977. I was so pleased when Amazon informed me that the complete series box set was now out on DVD having got the lot on VHS.
On receiving the complete series box set (Exclusively for Amazon.co.uk) I was disappointed to find some errors in the packaging and labelling.

Roots: 30th Anniversary series

Some of the episode information on the labelling around the centre of the double sided disc appears to be missing.

Roots: The next Generations

Correct box but the discs themselves were supplied in the presentation cases for the 30th Anniversary series.

Roots: The Gift

This appears to be OK

The actual DVDs for all series have not been viewed as it will take over 40 hours to watch so I cannot comment on quality, compatibility, errors technically or continuity.

Both the original box set and its replacement received from Amazon UK had the same inherent problems which I feel have occurred at the manufacturers.

I am returning both box sets of Roots and hope these gremlins get resolved so I can purchase the box set at a later date. I was hoping to watch Roots over Christmas.

Trying to contact Amazon UK customer services is an ordeal to say the least especially by phone as you end up talking to somebody in the far east who repeat well rehearsed lines in broken English so anything more involved or complicated they cannot deal with. The customer services website is not so flexible either when dealing with more specific enquiries.

It would be nice if there was a friendly English voice in the UK who could handle more specific enquiries rather than a huge organization who hide behind an IT brick wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but ego-centered at the end, 30 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: The Complete Roots Collection: Original Series (30th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
ALEX HALEY - ROOTS - ROOTS THE NEXT GENERATIONS

This TV mini-series has become a classic in thirty years and it deserves to be. Yet the quality of the filming and editing has aged and the film is not served by the fact it was done for television that tends to show too many close-ups and to avoid vast rapid movements and wide landscapes. But it has become a classic by its theme.
The first mini series deals with the fate of black people from when they were captured in Africa to their liberation after the Civil War. The vision of Africa in the 18th century is slightly improved on what it was. Some rituals are nicely evoked but not shown, circumcision for example, and nothing is said about excision for the girls. The capturing of Bantu blacks in western Africa and their enslaving had been going on for centuries. The new thing is that the captured Bantu blacks were no longer sold as slaves to the northern Moslem tribes or even Moslem Maghreb people, but to the whites for only one reason: the whites paid better and more. It seems to be done in order to avoid any restrictive rating. It is the same with the whole period about slavery. The film concentrates on odious but altogether rather limited facts: one whipping, a couple of children sold, very few rapes by the whites who produced mulattos that could be sold for a profit. The hardships of field work are also curbed. The living conditions and quarters are quite luxurious when we know what it really was. Even the Civil War is shown with a lot of reserve. They may say the number of dead but they don't show the battles, the medical care of the wounded, the savagery of the war and the innumerable amputees and victims. Altogether the first part is rather tamed. It enhances the main theme of this first part: one has to retain the memory of one's origins, roots, past, even if only a name, a few words, a few episodes. Those recollections passed from one generation to the next will feed the sense of belonging, the hope that brings the future, the light that may one day illuminate the dull and dark present. And the joy of the liberation is important, but the first part ends on a closure too: the whites are still there and the blacks have to live with them and compromises are not always easy to find and not always to the real benefit of the blacks. Slavery is replaced by sharecropping but the black sharecroppers start with the debts that are attributed to them to pay for what they need to work and they should get free since they worked for nothing for decades. That's how it works with the whites in the South, and yet the family we are speaking of managed to finagle a plan to get the mules free and to move out without paying for the debts of slavery from North Carolina to Tennessee where one freed member who got the chance to make some wealth in England had bought some land. That's the real freedom this family achieves after the Civil war: to possess the land they till and thus the harvest they grow.
The second part is telling the history of the USA after the Civil War as much at least as the history of this family. So we see the reconstruction period, and the emergence of the Ku Klux Klan, the imposition of segregation, WWI, the New Deal and WWII, and then the post war period. In this second series that ends with the author Haley as the main character, I am amazed that it is more contemplative of the injustice coming up than really fighting against it. The only positive point is education. But if there is some kind of resistance it is always one person and not the community. In the 1930s, the subsidies voted by Congress to small farmers to help them survive the crisis and get even, blacks included, are systematically, for the blacks at least, hijacked by the land-owners and if one black farmer manages to get his check it is the private initiative of one man and the black farmer ends up in prison, wounded and to stay in prison for a while and his mules have been repossessed by the landowner and he has been totally pauperized and expelled from the county if not the state. If after WWII there is some improvement the discourse is concentrating on the personal efforts of Alex Haley, his own personal way to wealth and grace. The closest we get to the struggle of the black community for the end of discrimination and more justice is a couple of scenes with Malcolm X and his assassination. But where are Martin Luther King, Rosa Parks and the collective massive battles waged by the blacks, including against the Vietnam War? Even Kennedy is some kind of epiphenomenon that does not count for much, and his assassination is not even evoked. That has to lead to a real ego trip at the end and Alex Haley going back to Gambia and meeting with the griot of the village of his ancestors and hearing from his mouth the story that had been told from generation to generation in his family and meeting one last descendant who still has the name Kinte like the ancient ancestor Kunta Kinte. And Alex Haley himself adds a verbose conclusion about the importance of knowing one's ancestors. What pride am I supposed to get from the fact that my ancestors were the serfs of a small nobleman? That kind of nostalgia may make us unable to embrace the future today.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne, University Paris 8 Saint Denis, University Paris 12 Créteil, CEGID
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews