Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wii controls save average FPS
This is a pretty bog standard Medal of Honour game to be honest, plenty of action but awful AI from both opponents and teammates.

Thankfully the Wii controls are so smooth and accurate though, that it feels much more than your average run of the mill game.

The single player is fairly short and has an arcade-y feel to it as you get a rating at the end...
Published on 3 April 2008 by The Milkman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fun? Yes in patches. Worth £30? No
The Wii has had shortage of good, solid first-person shooters since the very beginning, and MOH2 does little to change things.

But first things first ... is it worth a punt? Yes if you can find it, as I did, for £15 or so. Anything higher and you'll feel short changed.

The problem with MOF2 is certainly not in the controls. In fact I'd go as far as...
Published on 26 Oct. 2008 by RJ


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wii controls save average FPS, 3 April 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
This is a pretty bog standard Medal of Honour game to be honest, plenty of action but awful AI from both opponents and teammates.

Thankfully the Wii controls are so smooth and accurate though, that it feels much more than your average run of the mill game.

The single player is fairly short and has an arcade-y feel to it as you get a rating at the end of every level. This ensures that the game has a decent lifespan as you can go back and look to get top marks on all the levels and complete all the subquests. The actual Arcade mode is pretty good too. An on rails shooter thats ideal for the Wii Zapper, and a good one at that.

The graphics are very sloppy and there is really no excuse for this as Wii owners have Super Mario Galaxy and Resident Evil: Umbrella Chronicals which show that excellent graphics are possible on the machine. This however, graphically at least, is just a PS2 port. Which is a shame.

The actual in game combat is excellent thanks to the Wii remote - I really find it a struggle to go back to FPS's on my 360 now because these controls (along with Metroid Prime 3) are so good. It just feels much more natural and immersive to actually point at where you want to shoot on the screen rather than just line up with analouge sticks. Its much more accurate too.

The games big selling point is the online multiplayer and it doesn't dissapoint at all.

Now some things like a lack of voice chat I would imagine would be a negative for a lot of people, but I dont really see why because in my experience voice 'chat' just means children swearing at each other, so its not something I miss, but I guess you can make your own mind up there.

There are various game modes like Death Match, Team Deathmatch, Capture the Flag etc that all work superbly.

One thing that makes it different from other current online shooters is that it takes a lot of bulletts to kill people. You really need to learn to look down your scope and pick your shots as otherwise you will waste alot of ammo. I do like this as it sort of levels the playing field and means that beginners dont just get slaughtered everytime. Dont get me wrong though, there are some expert players that just never seem to die.

Overall, I wouldn't say this was the greatest game in the world but its an excellent value package as you basically get 3 games that will all last a decent amount of time, especially the online multiplayer.

I would recommend buying it, but somewhere in me there is a slight feeling of dissapointment because I feel the Wii deserves a five star FPS because of the superb control method. I mean playing Call Of Duty and Halo now is ruined because you want the Wii controls with them so much!! Hopefully something like that will appear in the future but for now this is really good and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Online Multiplayer For The Wii!, 2 Nov. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
While away in Canada, I heard about this games day. So I went along and found myself sampling the Medal of Honor; Heroes 2 game. While playing the single player provided solid gameplay and a satisfying campaign, I was blew away by the online multiplayer. Before i go in depth about all the multiplayer etc, I'll give a brief overview of the game.
1) First up is the graphics. Yes, we all know the Wii isn't the most graphically advanced console. But that's because it's target audience is different and the Wii is aimed for casual gamers and the family experience. The graphics are pretty good on this game. The players models and good, smooth animations and realistic environments. The urban environments look a lot better in my opinion but the whole game is polished and have solid graphics.
2) Next up, the sound. the sound on this game is good with some very realistic effects but the soundtrack i.e. the music behind the shooting and 'nading isn't as good as that featured in Call of Duty 3 but still I can't mark a game down on it's sound unless it's truly awful.
3) Now the gameplay. The controls for this game are a lot better and you can play in two control formations. There are some really nice intuitive controls. For example, Tilting the remote left and right will let you peer around a corner. Little details like these make this game incredibly satisfying and shooting a runnning target in the head is very fun and feels rewarding.
4) This next section will have to be a prediction on how long the game will last. As with most online shooters, they are appealing for a long time and with a single player campaign to turn to, there is a guaranteed long life of this game. After playing the multiplayer for under an hour, I can say I was totally hooked and I cannot wait till this game arrives November the 30th. The multiplayer consists of 3 modes. Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch and Capture the Flag. there are 6 maps varying from small to very large extensive maps. Each game can host upto 32 players which can be havoc on the smaller maps. I can see myself playing on this multiplayer for hundred's of hours honing my skills. :)

Overall, this is a Wii game with great online multiplayer, very fun, very intuitive control scheme which feel natural and rewarding. The multiplayer is enough for me to pre-order this game. All in all, a fine game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fun? Yes in patches. Worth £30? No, 26 Oct. 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
The Wii has had shortage of good, solid first-person shooters since the very beginning, and MOH2 does little to change things.

But first things first ... is it worth a punt? Yes if you can find it, as I did, for £15 or so. Anything higher and you'll feel short changed.

The problem with MOF2 is certainly not in the controls. In fact I'd go as far as saying these are single handedly the best FPS controls on any home console, besting even the sublime action of Metroid. Aiming and strafing is so quick, so responsive that playing Halo on my Xbox now feels incredibly clunky. The range of actions utilising the wii-remote is impressive, from grenade throws to shoulder-hefting bazooka action and a brilliantly unwieldy section where the player wrestles with the wii-mote and nun-chuck to control a weighty machine gun-placement.

Unfortunately, this is as immersive as it gets, a major flaw considering the 'realistic' setting of the game.

Playing a rather cliched one-man army, you move from grey-dull corridor to grey-dull corridor, fighting some respectable, nervy, but repetative gun-fights with little variation. It's by no means terrible, and the game is almost worth buying for the sharp frame-rate and controls alone.

However, my biggest gripe has to be the tech behind the whole game. For some unknown reason -and to the major annoyance of early adopters- developers are failing to show how the Wii is '3 times' the power of its predecessor, the Gamecube. Visuals are sharp but lacking detail. Collision detection is dreadful - at times you are are INSIDE your team member, shooting right through him -, AI is non-existent, with all the enemy running to scripted spots, getting caught on objects, firing into walls and worse. Finally, enemies vanish as soon as they die, sometimes in mid-air before they've even hit the ground, which is just about the least impressive thing that can happen in a modern day shooter: its like playing a PC FPS from 1999. When you think of the groundbreaking AI of Halo or the physics of Half-Life 2 - they were all done on a console over half a decade ago. MOH2 is dreadful in comparison.

All said and done, I paid 15, got 5-6 hours of fun, repetitive game-play, and traded it for 6. Not a bad deal for the best 'true' FPS on the system, its just that that's not saying that much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best online game on wii, 15 July 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
this game is amazing.the onlinr mode is brilliant as it never lags and its easy to play. The controls are awesome, this might be the best ever war game on the wii. The game could get addictive online. The only thing thats gets me wound up is that if you're using a thomson gun or mg gun it takes alot of rounds to finally kill the other player, aim for the head always.

A must buy game for onliners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb single player AND multiplayer fps, 10 Feb. 2008
By 
B. Ward (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
I have been looking forward to getting this game for over half a year, and was disappointed to find it's release date delayed till Feb 08 (was planned for 07 release in UK). However, it is here now, and it is brilliant. Firstly the 2 negatives. The AI is not the best ever, but not as bad as the reviews are making out either. It is all too easy to creep up on Axis soldiers, and sometimes they will stand right in front of you shooting in another direction (but that is rare). However, one time I noticed a soldier attempt to throw a grenade back at me before it blew him up, and one time I threw one they ran and hid in another room till after it exploded, so it isn't too bad. The other downer is SOME of the graphics. They are mostly great, but close up you tend to notice VERY blurry textures and lack of polygons themselves in places too. One good instance of this is the start of the city level. If you turn around to the truck behind you and look at it's tyre, it is almost hexagonal in shape, and the texture of the wheel is just one big smudge. Poor. Okay, the good points now. The graphics in general are very good for the Wii, and graphics at a distance are very detailed. There is a long draw distance- in fact, in certain areas of a mission you can virtually see the whole map. Control is perfect as you can change everything regarding aiming sensitivity to your liking. Gameplay, other than dodgy AI is superb. You have quiet moments, and you have frenetic moments, and all of it is great fun. There are plenty of checkpoints to keep you moving forward when it gets tougher later on. There are eight missions in all, and all bar the first take quite a while to complete. Even once you finish the game, there are secrets to find to get 100% in each, and medals to earn too, so there is plenty of replay value. There is also an Arcade mode, which allows you to play the same missions, but using an 'on-rails' method, where movement is done for you, and all you have to do is shoot- great little diversion. Then there is the ONLINE multiplayer. Wow. Up to 30+ players online at a time in Death Match, Team Death Match, or Capture The Flag. This is exactly what the Wii needed since it's launch. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good FPS, good multiplayer option, ok graphics., 4 April 2008
By 
A. Davis (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
I have been playing this now for a few weeks and am very pleased with it.
The campaign is ok, not too hard and easy enough for a casual gamer like me to get into.
The controls take a bit of getting used, but once you play it a bit you soon get used to it.
Multiplayer is enjoyable, my only gripe is I cannot seem to join games, and have to create my own every time. But once in a game its good fun.

So whilst it will not win any graphics awards its a good enjoyable game that seems to make good use of the Wii remote functionality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 Feb. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
I bought this game and have been playing on it all the time. this is the best graphics Wii game I have. The game play is easy to pick up and feels natural (My favourite is the Bazooka) the online is good but it is hard with 20-30 people but easier with 3 or 4 people. the campagn is good but the problem is there are no in mission saving points, which can b frustrating when you get 3/4 through a level and your Wii turns off.
The only problem is that there is no multiplayer that isn't online which is bad because my Dad enjoys to play Medal of Honour with me. With all its bad and good points i would give this 9 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted, 16 Jan. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
I was disappointed with COD WAW on the Wii, the gameplay was just too frustrating. The graphics on this are not as good but the fun aspect is way better.
As an older player I just want to pick up my lightgun, play for an hour and leave happily. I cannot fault this game. The sound is fantastic whereas the COD guns sounded like toys and the arcade mode on rails is perfect, actually perfect!
The levels are interesting and realistic with a good story and even the arcade mode has objectives that make you want to go on and you don't just feel like you're being dragged around. Great, fun game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good with a few flaws, 13 Feb. 2008
By 
NP (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
Decent (though not brilliant) graphics, superb controls, easily the best FPS type controls on the Wii except Metroid Prime (I found the default setting a bit slow to turn, but you can adjust it until it's pretty close to the feel of the advanced setting on Metroid.)
The multiplayer is very good, though there isn't a huge choice of game modes or maps - and it's one of those games where (in the multiplayer game) it takes a hell of a lot of shots to kill each other, and there's no option to adjust it, so you will sometimes have to empty whole clips of ammo into someone to kill them (unless you're really good at head shots, or are using sniper rifles etc.)
The singler player campaign is fun, but quite short, and has some very bad enemy AI and is a bit dated in some ways - eg. enemies vanishing instantly when they fall over dead, scripting of events (eg. an anti-aircraft gun you need to blow up is surrounded by houses, you clear the houses of all enemies, then you blow up the AA gun, and instantly a load of fresh enemies magically appear inside the empty houses and come out to attack, lots of stuff like that happens in the game.)

There is a bonus of a rail-shooter type arcade mode too, which isn't too bad by rail-shooter standards.

It's not the advent of a truly great FPS for the Wii that we were all hoping for, but it's a passable attempt and certainly the best FPS on the Wii (if you don't count Metroid Prime as a true FPS that is). Just be prepared for a pretty short single player campaign and some dodgy AI and disspearing corpses and linear level design with scripted events-happening-when-you-reach-a-key-point type of game design that harks back to the days of Goldeneye, and feels very dated compared to some of the really ambitious FPSs around nowadays. If you don't mind all that, then you've got a decent game engine with a fantastic control system, great multiplayer (with Death Match, Team Deathmatch, Capture The Flag and Infiltration the only modes to choose), and an enjoyable (while it lasts) single player campaign to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the controls, 30 Mar. 2010
By 
Mitya (Nottm., UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
As others have said, this is a fairly average WWII shooter which doesn't bring anything new to the table. What saves it, however, are the superbly implemented Wii controls. Clearly a lot of thought has gone into how the Wiimote can be used to simulate the realistic use of the array of weapons available.

These are often tried-and-tested and obvious, like the need to pump your shotgun after firing, whilst others go that bit deeper, like having to hoist the bazooka on your shoulder to fire it. That feels truly brilliant.

I didn't think the graphics were that bad. This was a fairly early Wii title and clearly the budget went into using the Wii controls for the weapons. For the most part it looks good, but then I guess it's relative to whether you're used to the likes of a PS3 or not, which I'm not.

Now the AI, on the other hand, is just terrible. The original Half-Life for PC, which came out 12 years ago, was lightyears ahead of the AI in this game, and there's really no excuse. The AI works on a "if you're there, we know about it" basis. No matter how few centimetres of your body are showing, they'll shoot you. Stealth? Surprise? Forget it.

This also renders sniping pointless. One early level sees you in a tower sniping at Germans far away below. But the second you lean out from the window just enough to get them in your sights they'll shoot you. It makes a mockery of the otherwise well-done "lean" feature done by moving the nunchuck whilst in aim mode.

In a nutshell, if you can get past the hideous AI and enjoy it for what it is, a WWII weapons simulator with interesting and well-done controls, then you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 (Wii)
Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 (Wii) by Electronic Arts (Nintendo Wii)
£17.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews