Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boy who lived brought to life
Adapted from JK Rowling's amazing magical novels, this DVD boxset features the first five films in the Harry Potter series.

Year 1 - Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone:
Harry Potter learns on his 11th birthday that he is the orphaned son of two powerful wizards and possesses magical powers of his own.
Harry then begins his first year at Hogwarts...
Published on 19 Nov 2007 by Dr Evil

versus
40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Unfortunate Disappointment
The Harry Potter blu-ray set was one of the first DVDs I ordered when I bought my blu-ray player a couple of weeks ago because I'm a manic Potter fan and couldn't wait to see the films in HD brilliance.

Unfortunately, like a fellow reviewer, I have been left disappointed. Films one and two, the oldest in the series, look no different to their normal...
Published on 8 Jan 2009 by Carl Spencer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boy who lived brought to life, 19 Nov 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Adapted from JK Rowling's amazing magical novels, this DVD boxset features the first five films in the Harry Potter series.

Year 1 - Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone:
Harry Potter learns on his 11th birthday that he is the orphaned son of two powerful wizards and possesses magical powers of his own.
Harry then begins his first year at Hogwarts and with the help of his new friends Ron and Hermoine, takes on Lord Voldemort for the first time to stop him from using the mysterious Philosopher's Stone.

Year 2 - Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets:
Cars fly, trees fight back and a mysterious house-elf comes to warn Harry Potter at the start of his second year of a danger that may threaten his life. The Chamber of Secrets reopens and the heir of Slitherin returns to Hogwarts.

Year 3: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban:
With the escaped criminal, Sirius Black on the loose and terrifying Dementors on guard everywhere, this begins Harry's darkest and most dangerous year at Hogwarts.

Year 4: Harry Potter and the Goblet Of Fire:
When Harry Potter's name emerges from the Goblet of Fire, he becomes a competitor in a grueling battle for glory among three wizarding schools - the Triwizard Tournament.

Year 5: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix:
Harry returns for his fifth year of study at Hogwarts and discovers that much of the wizarding community has been denied the truth about his recent encounter with the evil Lord Voldemort. Fearing that Hogwarts' venerable Headmaster, Albus Dumbledore, is lying about Voldemort's return in order to undermine his power and take his job, the Minister for Magic, Cornelius Fudge, appoints a new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher to keep watch over Dumbledore and the Hogwarts students. But Professor Dolores Umbridge's Ministry-approved course of defensive magic leaves the young wizards woefully unprepared to defend themselves against the dark forces threatening them and the entire wizarding community, so at the prompting of his friends Hermione and Ron, Harry takes matters into his own hands. Meeting secretly with a small group of students who name themselves "Dumbledore's Army," Harry teaches them how to defend themselves against the Dark Arts, preparing the courageous young wizards for the extraordinary battle that lies ahead.

The scripts stick very close to the books' storylines, with only a small few scenes missing in the first three films. Anyone who has read The Goblet of Fire though will find huge chunks of the story missing, such as the whole lead-up to the Quidditch World Cup and the Society for the Promotion of Elfish Welfare (S.P.E.W) storyline. To be fair though, it is a massive book so I suppose some of the minor storylines had to be cut. The Order of the Phoenix is very similar to the book up to a point and then massive cuts and changes are made, which if you are a big fan of the books, will spoil the movie for you a little.

When I watched the first Harry Potter film I had already read the first four books and had created visions in my mind of what the characters and places all looked like and I could not believe how spot-on the cast and locations were, with only minor differences to the books.

The acting from the younger cast members does get progressively better as the films go on, mainly due to age and experience, although the three leads (Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint and Emma Watson) do perform excellently from the start, providing fascinating entertainment. Older cast members include top well-known actors like Robbie Coltrane (Hagrid), Alan Rickman (Snape), Maggie Smith (McGonagall), Richard Harris (Dumbledore in years 1 & 2), Richard Griffiths (Vernon Dursley), Gary Oldman (Sirius Black), Michael Gambon (Dumbledore in years 3, 4 & 5) and Ralph Fiennes (Voldermort in years 4 and 5), to just name a few.

This boxset is one that every fan of Harry Potter should own and although the films are aimed more at children than the books are, they are still great fun to watch with lots of exciting action and are also full of laughs that the whole family can enjoy. The new slim DVD cases also save a lot of room on your shelves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's nothing wrong with the picture quality, 4 Jun 2009
By 
Film Buff (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've owned these films on HD-DVD in the past and now I own them on Blu-ray and they look fantastic in HD. The first film is a huge upgrade from the standard DVD in terms of picture and sound. The rest of the movies have the same great picture quality too. Ok, they gradually improve in picture quality as they go along BUT...there's hardly any difference between HP1 and HP5. If some of the reviewers can't tell a difference then maybe they should get their equipment checked? Either that or they have unrealistic ideas of what HD is supposed to be. Picture quality 4/5 Sound 4/5 Must own at this price which is £9 a film! Check the HDDigest review - they rate the picture quality of these films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter - The Best Versions, 4 July 2009
By 
I think a little perspective is needed, having read some of the negative reviews & personally I like to buy the best product/medium that is available - not for all films, but the one's hand picked that I particularily enjoy.

The Harry Potter series has always been a joy to watch & the first few are invariably older in terms of modern day cinegraphic techniques.

However, I don't sit & evaluate every pixel & compare every frame, because it would not only detract from my enjoyment (& attention), but I would also be missing the point.

Blu Ray is the best medium currently available & the picture & sound are the best that can be produced from the original format, despite what techinical "limitations" there were on original production.

All the films are far superior to their ordinary DVD counterparts & I would thoroughly reccommend this box set.

So relax.......and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 15 Jun 2009
By 
Raivo Nool (Estonia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Image quality is just wonderful! And the sound ofcourse too. Movies 3-5 have the best quality, first 2 aren't so good but still better than dvd - much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the normal DVD's - med danske tekster :-), 23 Jun 2009
Nice pictures, half price comparing to Denmark, Og til danske købere...der er dansk tekst på alle fem DVD'er :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter in HD - What's not to like?, 18 May 2010
Well worth buying if you are a Potter fan, have an HD DVD player and can find a copy. The transfers of all the movies are done very well - they look and sound superb in HD. The boxed set itself is very nice, presented in a fun manner for kids and containing various extras, such as postcards and the like. An extra disc of special features exclusive to the box rounds it out nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern classics, good value for money., 6 Aug 2009
By 
A. Hanrahan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Much cheaper than buying them individually and you get the same experience, except for the lack of special features. Personally I'm not fussed about that, its not something I'm prepared to pay more for, however if like all that behind the scenes stuff then perhaps this is not the product for you. Still excellent value for money, considering you're getting 5 blockbuster films for £14.68. Highly entertaining modern classics that people of all ages can enjoy, parents will sit down to watch it with their kids and find themselves getting sucked in! If you like the films you'll love the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Unfortunate Disappointment, 8 Jan 2009
By 
Carl Spencer "Carl" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Harry Potter blu-ray set was one of the first DVDs I ordered when I bought my blu-ray player a couple of weeks ago because I'm a manic Potter fan and couldn't wait to see the films in HD brilliance.

Unfortunately, like a fellow reviewer, I have been left disappointed. Films one and two, the oldest in the series, look no different to their normal counterparts - the picture is just as grainy and dull and theres no hugely noticeable difference in the sound. Films three and four are a little better - the sound is good and the active scenes do look good but still lack real blu-ray colour, vibrance and detail. Goblet of Fire is particularly dark and dull in places.

Order of the Phoenix, the most recent film, is the only one which looks like a true blu-ray film rather than a plain DVD slapped with a special sticker. The picture is incredibly crisp and colourful and the sound is much clearer than the normal counterpart - the picture perfect example of what the other four films should have been.

My recommendation is simple - buy the blu-ray Order of the Phoenix ASAP as it is magnificent - but don't rest too many hopes on the quality of the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter DVD 1-5 box set, 9 Oct 2009
By 
H. Davies (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very good value set of the first 5 Harry Potter films. Please note that DVDs do NOT contain any 'extras' eg deleted scenes, interviews with the cast, behind the scenes or games like you get when you buy them individually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good box set for potter fans!, 18 April 2012
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was bought to replace some old scratched potter discs.

Absolutely great movies each and every one. This box set was in perfect condition with no damage or scratches at all. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter Collection Years 1-5 [Blu-ray] [2002] [US Import] [Region A]
Used & New from: £89.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews