Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun - good quality
I have used 4 packs of these now (ballerinas & fairies) and my 4 year old and 8 year old love doing them. It is very easy to mix the plaster and pour it into the moulds. It takes around 15 minutes for the plaster to set and then the painting can begin. It is tricky to paint the detail right - my 8 year old can take up to 30 minutes to paint one little figure - but she is...
Published on 7 Dec 2009 by Happy and Smiling

versus
61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun activity with adult supervision
It is easy to get started, all you got to supply is about 60 ml of cold water and a mixing bowl and spoon (plastic recommended). You will also need a pair of scissors to open the packets.

The instructions tell you to mix water into the plaster. This is wrong! You must always put water first and then sprinkle the plaster on top. Once it's wet, you gently stir...
Published on 3 April 2011 by Zontania


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun - good quality, 7 Dec 2009
By 
Happy and Smiling "I love books and audio boo... (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mould & Paint Glitter Ballerina (Toy)
I have used 4 packs of these now (ballerinas & fairies) and my 4 year old and 8 year old love doing them. It is very easy to mix the plaster and pour it into the moulds. It takes around 15 minutes for the plaster to set and then the painting can begin. It is tricky to paint the detail right - my 8 year old can take up to 30 minutes to paint one little figure - but she is old enough to make them look amazing. My 4 year old paints them quickly and they don't look that great but she finds them beautiful and is very proud of them. The quality of the paint, brush and glitter is very high, as is the detail in the moulds. The figures are easy to get out of the moulds without breaking them. This is great for anytime entertainment for the children, and also for playdates. Also makes good presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mould and Paint Ballerina, 29 Jan 2009
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mould & Paint Glitter Ballerina (Toy)
Great for little girls who love craft and painting activites! I recently purchased 4 of these as they make fantastic birthday presents. My daughter is 6 and she loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun activity with adult supervision, 3 April 2011
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mould & Paint Glitter Ballerina (Toy)
It is easy to get started, all you got to supply is about 60 ml of cold water and a mixing bowl and spoon (plastic recommended). You will also need a pair of scissors to open the packets.

The instructions tell you to mix water into the plaster. This is wrong! You must always put water first and then sprinkle the plaster on top. Once it's wet, you gently stir the mixture and pour into the mould. If you do it the way they suggest, your mixture will have lumps in it and be brittle. After you pour the liquid plaster into the mould, do not forget to tap the mould on the table to help the air bubbles rise to the surface.

When the plaster is cold and has hardened, you can turn out the mould onto a towel. Break any extra plaster around the figurines with your thumb. You can smooth the edges with fine sandpaper if you wish but I am sure the kids will be eager to start painting. Advise them to start with the lighter colours first and let each layer dry before they proceed to the next. You will need to mix the paints for them in a palette because at a younger age they are not able to do this successfully. Protect their clothes and surfaces as the paint is not washable (no matter what they claim). The amount of times that strip of paint tubs has dropped on a carpet or overturned on the table... It takes increased manual dexterity and colour sense to produce figurines as beautiful as the ones pictured on the package. Some children may find using felt tip pens easier than using the brush as it is miniature work.

Now to a bit of criticism to the product:

1) the moulds are not detailed enough
2) the plaster is not good quality. It is not Plaster of Paris (the white one which gives a really smooth and pleasant finish).
3) the pins are fiddly to insert so wait till the mixture has thickened (but not fully set) before you insert the pin and hold it till the surface hardens or it will drop into the mixture and be unusable. I don't like the pins and anyway the figures are bulky to be used as badges.

But the positive thing is you can reuse the mould with some Plaster of Paris (buy it at any Craft shop) and keep experimenting. Craft shops also sell magnets.

PS: to clean the bowl used to mix the plaster, wait till the remnants have hardened and then give it a bash against a hard surface and the pieces will come off easily. For environmental reasons and to save yourself from pipe blockage, do not pour powder or liquid plaster down the sink!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mould & Paint Ballerina, 3 Jan 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mould & Paint Glitter Ballerina (Toy)
I bought this set for my 6 year old granddaughter and she loved it. The set comes with six moulds which are adequate for the purpose and two bags of plaster. Each bag is sufficient to make the six moulds so you get 12 figures. Also included is a set of five or six paints which again are adequate for the job. My granddaughter had great fun making and painting the figures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Birthday Present, 12 Dec 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mould & Paint Glitter Ballerina (Toy)
Brought this present for my daughters friend who is 6 and loves ballerinas and the present was a great success as she loves doing anything creative so a fantastic present for a ballerina fan who loves to make things. Delivery was fast and accurate. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mould & paint ballerinas, 12 Dec 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mould & Paint Glitter Ballerina (Toy)
These kits are great for girls' presents, min age about 6-7, needs quite a lot of help from an adult to create something neat as small areas to paint. We used extra glittery paints we had for another project and they worked out really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted my god daughter, 19 April 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mould & Paint Glitter Ballerina (Toy)
My god daughter is heavily into arts and crafts and just adored this kit. It was complicated enough to keep her attention, but easy enough not to lose it - not an easy balance to find for a 6 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for girls, 23 Nov 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mould & Paint Glitter Ballerina (Toy)
I bought this gift for my friends daughter she was so excited to get started. She loves this product so much I'm going to buy her the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mould & Paint Glitter Ballerina (Toy)
Brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Adel Harper "Adel" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mould & Paint Glitter Ballerina (Toy)
My 8 year old daughter got one of these when she was a bit younger and really wanted another so I got it for her for christmas and she absolutely loved doing it again. Many hours of fun making and then decorating them. fun and easy to do. Not a lot of mess. If your child likes making and creating and they are girly this will be a perfect present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mould & Paint Glitter Ballerina
£4.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews