Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars42
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2007
The film is great, but I'm afriad its CUT. The infamous razor scene is censored by the BBFC, so if I where you I would by the 'Anchor Bay' version which is fully uncut.
33 comments|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2009
One of Fulci's exploitation/slasher/giallo movies.
If you are a Fulci fan or a fan of the graphic, violent Italian horror films of the 70s and 80s I suspect you'll like it and would give it more than 3 stars. It is a violent giallo film that has the usual Fulci explicit gore in abundance.
It revolves around a serial killer (who speaks in a Donald Duck-type voice! - yes, really!) and is essentially a violent whodunnit with some false leads and twists.
Not a bad film (for the genre), some good sequences and a bit of tension at points. The reason I've only given three stars is because it feels a bit uncomfortably misogynistic. (I'm a bloke who will quite happily watch Argento films all day long without feeling that he's misogynistic).
If you are a Fulci fan and don't own this it is probably one of his better films and you'd probably like it.
If you are not a Fulci fan there are much better giallo films out there - try some Argento's ("Tenebrae", "Profondo Rosso"/"Deep Red") for example.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
Still cut in the UK, after all these years. What are we, sissy's? Alot of the content on here is no worse than the kind of thing you see in the Hostel or saw films.

It's an utterly pointless release, the blu underground version (unrated) is far superior in every way, and fully uncut.

I don't get why the BBFC are doing this. There are no animal killings in the film (unlike Cannibal Holocaust) and it's all just special effects. Read that line again, JUST SPECIAL EFFECTS.

If you really want this great, gory little Giallo from the master of gore Lucio Fulcio, buy this one instead. It may be more expensive, but if your a fan, and want the real deal with a great transfer and extras, it would only seem logical (or just get it imported from amazon.com, seems like they are no longer selling the product brand new).

New York Ripper [Blu-ray] [1982] [US Import]

One middle finger up to the BBFC for treating us adults as kids YET AGAIN. Pathetic.

Film- 4.5 out of 5.
Release- ZERO.
55 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is one of the director Lucio Fulci's 'giallo' films. Giallo being derived from many italian detective and mystery novels being published in the past with yellow (gialli) covers, and on first inspection this is a kind of murder mystery film.
Fulci to be fair was not the world's best director, and all of his films have an element of strangeness to them that cannot be narrowed down to anything like translation problems with the script. Instead it appears that the strangeness was just a part of the way he made his films. Fulci made odd films either by accident or design, with plots that often did not really make sense even after the expected twists were revealed, and often with excessively graphic violence, gore, and general nastiness.
The New York Ripper attained a certain amount of notoriety in the 1980's as it was caught up in the 'Video Nasty' furore, in fact never officially making it to video in this country at that time as the early cinema prints that were sent over were all escorted out of the country as the film was considered too vile! The film has remained banned until this Vipco edition was released. This edition has been censored by the BBFC to remove the worst of the violence, but still retains virtually all of its power to shock and offend.
Many viewers will not find anything to enjoy about the film. It is not rubbish, although it certainly is not good, but will have a certain sleazy charm to some. The plot revolves around a well worn detective hunting a vicious killer. A killer that preys on women and murders them in particularly unpleasant ways. The killer is supposedly intelligent, leaves no clues behind, but for some reason feels compelled to call the detective and talk to him in a duck voice!
Of course, there are a number of twists and turns in the plot, and a fair few red-herrings before the big finale. By this time you may well have given up caring who the killer is, what with the some of the plot twists being bizarre and other parts just making no sense at all. You will also likely have been revolted by some of the odd behaviour of some of the characters and the ugliness of the violence towards the female victims.
On the whole then, a kind of middling film. Worth watching if you are into the more extreme end of Italian cinema, a Fulci fan, or just wanting to find out what all the 'video nasty' fuss was all about, but not really worth going out of your way to see, and definitely one to avoid if you don't like to see violence towards women.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
I hate having to recommend imports however if it's the only way to see a film as it was originaly shown it's the only wayThe New York Ripper (Uncut Version) (Special Restored Edition) (Region 2) (Import) I own this version of the film and I have to say it's very good also as it says its uncut.
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2007
You either love it or hate it - but if you are going to buy it you might as well buy it un cut elsewhere. see other reviews for details
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
Although different from his other films, I do enjoy Ripper a great deal. However this long anticipated "Fan Edition" is still cut. Buy the AWE edition instead.
44 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2009
Why oh why have 2 video reviews been transferred to this product? Absolutely pointless.

I have owned every format of this film from the NTSC VHS to the Anchor Bay DVD, the Another World Restored edition and now the Blu Ray.

I remember watching the restored AWE DVD and being stunned by the transfer quality. I gave it a much deserved 5 stars.

After watching the Blu Ray last night I am absolutely stunned (again), but even more so this time. The quality of the transfer is a thing of beauty for a film that was made 30 years ago and not with top of the range equipment. It is a thing of beauty.

The extras are o.k. but not as good as I had hoped.

For anyone who is yet to watch the film be prepared for some rather graphic and sleazy violence and story. This is one of my favorite films and I find a couple of scenes rather horrid. The locations make the film and I can't think of a film that show's New York in the start of the 80's better.

5 stars all the way.
33 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2009
Just one question: how comes that this "uncut and uncensored version" runs for 87 minutes only, while the other one runs for 93 minutes?
55 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
Uk version is ripped to shreds by the idiotic censor, not worth the paper it's printed on - get the R1 version which is intact or European versions which are again intact, both can be found here on Amazon at excellent prices.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)