Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series
This is a great series but unfortunately too short. The characters were mostly believable and the story is good but incomplete.
Published 18 months ago by Phil

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the money
Not a bad little anime. Good story,nice art etc. Its never gonna win any awards but enjoyable all the same
Published 20 months ago by Geordie Mark


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series, 23 May 2013
By 
Phil (Ivybridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokko - Complete Series Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great series but unfortunately too short. The characters were mostly believable and the story is good but incomplete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood, monsters and swords, 14 Dec 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tokko - Complete Series Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Monsters, blood, swords and the potential destruction of the world. Good stuff!

It's also most of what "Tokko" is made up with, along with a generous amount of totally gratuitous cleavage. It's fairly funny, very violent, pretty well-written and its solidly suspenseful storyline is only marred by an ending that... isn't. Almost is, but isn't.

Five years ago, a hole appeared in front of a Machida apartment complex. Savage demonic creatures emerged and slaughtered almost everyone in the building.

Ranmaru Shindo is on his first day's duty as a cop, when his team is attacked by zombies controlled by demon larvae. They're only saved by the intervention of sword-wielding cops from the mysterious division, TOKKO. One of them is a childhood friend of Ranmaru's, Sakura, who has been haunting his dreams recently.

He becomes convinced that the zombies and TOKKO are connected to the Machida massacre... and the strange tattoo that's appeared on his arm. Of course, he's right -- turns out demons are flooding into our world courtesy of a shattered alchemist's box. But thanks to demon symbiotes -- like the one on Ranmaru's arm -- TOKKO is able to fight and kill them.

So naturally Ranmaru is transferred into TOKKO, and he turns out to be stronger and more skilled than anyone suspected. But his investigations into the alchemist box and the Machida massacre become more dangerous when a sinister old man becomes involved -- and Ranmaru faces losing more than his soul.

The first half of "Tokko" is a sort of detective story wrapped in supernatural trappings, but the second half is when things really heat up. Basically, the whole world will be devoured by demons unless our heroes stop them... except they have demons in their own bodies. What a mess.

But it's a fun mess -- lots of creepy cliffhangers, spraying gore, dismembered bodies, zombies, monstrously carnivorous demons, swords, and (for the boys) utterly gratuitous boobery. And once Ranmaru settles into Tokko, things start getting even more violent than before. Basically that's the core of the series, along with the detective work.

But it has some solid atmosphere as well, especially in the second half -- Sakura fighting the "evil Ranmaru," the horrific climactic battle, and walls crawling with demons. And it has some funny dialogue, usually from Kunikida ("I was told you were hooked on a respirator in ICU, stoned out of your skull on a morphine drip, and ****ing the bed from your internal injuries!" "I have a really good doctor...?").

So what's the problem? Well, there's only half an ending. The immediate storyline is nicely wrapped up in the last episode, but there are still some flapping threads. And the last few seconds drag the plot right back out. It's pretty clear they intended to continue the anime, but sadly that didn't happen.

Ranmaru is a pretty typical action-anime hero -- he's sort of boyish and cute, but can be a brutal fighter when the story demands. Sakura is a bit too mysterious to be an engaging love interest, but Kureha, Ryoko and the kooky Saya all are interesting. And Kunikida is a pretty hilarious character -- a foul-mouthed, womanizing, tough-as-nails police chief who says everything in a dull roar.

"Tokko" is all blood, skin and swords, with lots of action and an interesting detective story. Just don't expect much closure at the finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You mean Tokko in the second division?, 21 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokko - Complete Series Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
To begin with this is my favorite DVD series with regards to new anime. Tokko is a series full of confusion, swords, amazingly drawn characters and above all the most annoying ending in a series ever. However, if you are starting out in the world of anime or a seasoned lover of the stuff I believe there isn't a funnier (theres a weird incest story line at the beginning which is very funny) more worthwhile series than this. I purchased this because it was cheap, no other reason to begin with but after vol. 1 i watched all the episodes back to back. Now i cant do that with any other anime mostly because half the series consists of bogus realisations about 'oh yeah btw the your actually a dragon/robot/monkey/human/god etc.' No the great thing about this series is that its straight forward. eg- dudes family is killed, he wants revenge, finds out its demons, joins Tokko. Although its annoying in places, has the strangest plot and makes hardly any sense the first time you watch it, i've never felt happier sitting through any other series and i feel its the most overlooked series around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokko - Complete Series Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
I thought it was a good series with a decent story behind it, definitely great value for money and one for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bomb, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokko - Complete Series Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
would recommend its a all out gore feast of killing a must see and the fight scenes and awesome A + +
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Srangled at Birth, 31 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokko - Complete Series Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
I picked up this DVD on a pure whim whilst buying some other things and had no idea or expectations of what I was in for.

The basic premises of the series is that we follow Average High School Student No.569845 as he begins to have strange dreams about a topless women who slices him open with a sword. He quickly bumps in to her in real life and is soon drawn in to a battle for mankind's future as the demon world begins to force its way in to our world. A fight he may be more important too than he thinks.

This is normally where I explain the twist they put on the series to make it stand out a bit more from the already over crowded "Teenagers Fight Daemons" Genre and it does have one up its sleeve. It's violence!

It never quite reaches Battle Royale levels of ludicrous gibs but the series has no fear of murdering a whole bunch of men women and children in the course of its,a admittedly short, run time. That short run time is the ultimate down fall of the series. I can't shake the feeling that this was a show they expected to take off more than it did since the ending has the reek of the "Oh god we have no more money" about it with a ending narration that would be funny if it were not so tragic.

I have given the show a 2 star rating not because I hate it, in all honestly I find the fact that they obviously had very little budget makes the show quite endearing. They tried to do a grand sweeping tale of inter dimensional conflict and were handed the budget of a very cheap primary school pantomime to do it with.

The lack of a satisfying ending and the rushed nature of every character interaction does ultimately stop the show from being anything other than a curio for most.

Give it a miss unless you really like blood and tits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Action, 15 May 2013
By 
Ms. J. Mann (Cheltenham - England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokko - Complete Series Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Good action fight scenes and good characters, the only flaw is the sudden abrupt end and I mean abrupt !!!... one minute high drama the next ..everything all sorted .... with no explanation as to how, why, who, what or where...was obvious they intended further episodes but was pulled , which was a shame , but all in all a good manga to watch ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the money, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokko - Complete Series Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Not a bad little anime. Good story,nice art etc. Its never gonna win any awards but enjoyable all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Demon Slayer Goodness, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: Tokko - Complete Series Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Tokko is a great anime series by Manga Entertainment. In this anime series we follow the life of Ranmaru Shindou who has just graduated from the police academy and has joined a divsion known as the mobile investigation force but Ranmaru didnt join the MIF to protect and serve. He joined to avenge his parents who were killed five years ago when a mysterious creature slaughtered them and everyone else around them. So will Ranmaru be able to avenge his parents and save others from sharing the same fate or will this mysterious creature continue its rampage across the city and slaughter more people?

Tokko is a mysterious and thrilling series as you will be trying to figure out while watching it how and why all this is happening and who is behind all this and also you will be wanting answers to questions about certain characters and certain events that happen throughout this series.

I would recommend this series to anyone who loves a mystery, thriller, gorey or paranormal acitvites in a anime series. As you will get all this and more as you sit down and watch Tokko without ever wanting to miss a single second of this amazing series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tokko, a manga dvd, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokko - Complete Series Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
All of you manga lovers out there (the ones that enjoy a little over the top violence) are due to enjoy this outing brought to us from those nice manga people, I enjoyed all of these excellent DVD`s & found all 3 discs to be of equally good art work! I would put this series up there with the best of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tokko - Complete Series Boxset [DVD]
Tokko - Complete Series Boxset [DVD] by Masashi Abe (DVD - 2007)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews