Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Find something in the trash and plug it in"
Name a good band with two drummers?.....It's not easy is it .I can think of one off the top of my chrome dome and that's The Butthole Surfers and they are a truly great band. Other than that I'm struggling .I'm sure I saw some footage of Sigue Sigue Sputnik on TOTP 2 with two drummers , but they were an execrable marketing exercise more than anything else so don't...
Published on 19 Nov 2007 by russell clarke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lo tech electronica is the best description I have come across.
This is an interesting listen and there are a few really great tunes but as a collection it is more interesting than enjoyable. Before reading other reviews I didn't know much about the group but they are certainly interesting enough that I look forward to hearing more of them.
Published on 20 Dec 2008 by genejoke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Find something in the trash and plug it in", 19 Nov 2007
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lp (Audio CD)
Name a good band with two drummers?.....It's not easy is it .I can think of one off the top of my chrome dome and that's The Butthole Surfers and they are a truly great band. Other than that I'm struggling .I'm sure I saw some footage of Sigue Sigue Sputnik on TOTP 2 with two drummers , but they were an execrable marketing exercise more than anything else so don't really count. Led Zeppelin often sounded like they had dual drummers but they had John Bonham so that's understandable.
The reason I bring this up is that Holy F***(Should I use the asterisks bearing in mind their name is emblazoned all over the top of the page?) use two drummers and it shows. Even better than that it makes the music more exciting and gives it a rhythmic base that is suitably propulsive and yet diverse enough to bring something fresh to every track. More bands should try it, but what most bands really need to do is try writing some decent songs.
Holy F*** for the uninitiated is a lo-fi improvisational electronica band from Toronto, Canada. The band have been called "Toronto's evil super group". They are a part of Dependent Music, a music label/collective that began in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia in 1994.The band uses live instrumentation and miscellaneous instruments and non-instruments (including a 35 mm film sequencer) to achieve electronic-sounding effects without the use of laptops or programmed backing tracks. The core of the band are Graham Walsh and Brian Borcherdt though the line up seems to be in a constant state of flux which neatly mirrors the music. The music ahhh yes.... is difficult to describe accurately but I think describing it as an antagonistic melding of percussive mayhem and adroitly manipulated sounds will do just fine. That or it sounds like a dustbin cart backing down a narrow alley while alien mechanoids learn the art of disco dancing on some scaffold nearby will cover it as well.....though maybe not as well .
It's hard to view this album as a sequence of separate songs but "Lovely Allen" stands out as it approximates the nearest thing to a conventional song with a truly pretty keyboard melody. "Pulse " hammers home the point about how effective the dual drummers can be -its like Kraftwerk being hounded by a tribe of Burundi percussionists, as does the octane fuelled "Super Inuit". "Royal Gregory " integrates mangled vocals and a highly sussed dance susceptibility. "Milkshake" sounds like a funk band laying tarmac on the M62 at rush hour.
I'm not convinced that the album format is the best medium for this band to produce their music .Even over an album that has only nine tracks an album is difficult to stomach in one listen , or maybe that's just me. Mini albums or maybe E.P,s ( A sadly underused format nowadays) like the ones regularly employed by post rock masters like Bark Psychosis might suit their distinctive sound collages better. That minor point aside this is invigorating music that juxtaposes an almost organic and experimental resonance with the mash-up style of many an esteemed DJ. As the band themselves say :"Find something in the trash and plug it in."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play it loud and don't look back!!!, 12 Nov 2007
By 
Toby Staunton "dancing mole" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lp (Audio CD)
This album is a freight train of musical genius. I can now understand how the name of the band came around 'cause it was my instant reaction to hearing the dumfounding sound that these guys produce.

But all of that is not being very specific. Holy F*** kick the ass off any other band that I have listened to this year for one reason alone, they have everything in this album!!! From your pounding insesant drums on opener 'Super Inuit' to a near pop song in the form of 'Lovely Allen'. 'Milkshake' is a funky song that will have you somewhere between wanting to be in the middle of a mosh pit having you face punched in by flailing arms, and wanting to dance like you're listening to James Brown. To follow on after all of that you have 'The Pulse' and 'Safari' to come. There is just no end to the mastery and utter genius in this album. It is only 9 tracks long but for that it is perfectly formed and lasts just the right length of time that you can get to the end and start again without it getting drawn out and boring.

So who is gonna like it. Well fans of Battles, Foals and other similars will die when they hear this and will try and convince you that it is the greatest thing to happen to music since the gramaphone, and if I'm honest I would say that they're right!!!

ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lo tech electronica is the best description I have come across., 20 Dec 2008
This review is from: Lp (Audio CD)
This is an interesting listen and there are a few really great tunes but as a collection it is more interesting than enjoyable. Before reading other reviews I didn't know much about the group but they are certainly interesting enough that I look forward to hearing more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice band, shame about the name, 19 July 2008
By 
A. M. Cameron (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lp (Audio CD)
This is great fun, had me speeding along the motorway with its driving rhythms. Lo-tech techno or trance with a sense of humour. Favourites are 'Royal Gregory,' 'Lovely Allen,' 'Pulse,' 'Milkshake,' and 'Choppers.'

Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars drumbango!, 17 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Lp (Audio CD)
another good band with two drummers? pink fairies, briefly... and there is a similarity in the throw it all in, get naked, throw it all up again, loon-stomp aesthetic underlying this... probably a great laugh live, but an albumn length recording? hmmm... yeah, if that's your cup of mushroom tea maybe....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype..., 14 Dec 2007
By 
Emerica "emerica43" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lp (Audio CD)
I bought this on a bit of a whim after hearing a few of their tunes on myspace when I'd had a few drinks. It's pretty average to be honest. There's a few good rhythms and a couple of tracks that are ok like pulse but on the whole not really anything to write home about. Maybe it'll grow on me but it's gone in the cd rack and it may be a long while until it gets another airing cos there's loads of other good music past and present out there. One for ebay in the new year I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holy Fuck
Holy Fuck by Holy Fuck (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews