Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent study
It is a pity that the previous reviewer was not able to see this film with the subtitles. I had some problem with them too, so the first time I watched it without subtitles and, though I was able to follow the plot, I had the feeling that I had missed a lot -which indeed I had. So I tried it again and the subtitles were there and the movie, which had seemed interesting...
Published on 7 Dec. 2008 by Georgios Xenias

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars not for me
watch this movie today , sorry to say i hated it, yes there was a gay connection, but the story line had to many loose ends and nothing seems to work for me, i thought the actors were very wooden and lacked any spark that might have made this movie more interesting. athough i watch the whole film i really wanted to turn it off after about 20 mins but thought that it might...
Published on 26 Jan. 2012 by kevin quarmby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent study, 7 Dec. 2008
By 
Georgios Xenias (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amnesia: The James Brighton Enigma [DVD] [PAL] (DVD)
It is a pity that the previous reviewer was not able to see this film with the subtitles. I had some problem with them too, so the first time I watched it without subtitles and, though I was able to follow the plot, I had the feeling that I had missed a lot -which indeed I had. So I tried it again and the subtitles were there and the movie, which had seemed interesting the first time, came out as an excellent study of a troubled individual, at the same time making some very keen comments about homosexuality and the seeking of identity.
The story was inspired by true events. A young man was found naked and beaten-up in the streets of Montreal, Canada. He could not remember who he was, but after a while he remembered he was gay and a little later a name came to his mind, which he assumed was his own. (It is interesting that his sexual identity came back before his actual one.)
In the film, the story is presented through the research of a student who decides to make her thesis about it. (She is the main French-speaking party and she provides all the poignant commentary on the social situation surrounding the hero.)
The script is excellent, unfolding the facts of James's life in a detective-story fashion, while at the same time addressing social and psychological issues.
Though this is a rather low budget film, the cinematography is quite good and we never get a sense that any of the choices were made because of financial limitations.
The acting is first-rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Challenging film which leaves you uncertain, 20 Dec. 2008
By 
Andrew (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amnesia: The James Brighton Enigma [DVD] [PAL] (DVD)
This film is like a documentary - unfolding as you watch without knowing where the plot or conclusion is going. Which of course is the reality of this true-life scenario. It's like a jigsaw - the pieces start to fall into place. But the key event - the key drama - is hidden and only revealed near the end. The story has a hard unhappy core. The whole drama revolves around an event which is "blanked out" by the main protagonist. We have to learn to discover what happened like everyone else around him. But you don't really know where the resolution is. Where the future lies. There is no happy scenario in sight. But perhaps this is the strength of the film - there is unfinished business - we have a long way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 1 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amnesia: The James Brighton Enigma [DVD] [PAL] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this film and agree with all the good reviews it has received. It would have been interesting to have been told rather more about what actually happened to the main character in real life - we are simply told at the end that he now lives in the USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 26 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amnesia: The James Brighton Enigma [DVD] [PAL] (DVD)
watch this movie today , sorry to say i hated it, yes there was a gay connection, but the story line had to many loose ends and nothing seems to work for me, i thought the actors were very wooden and lacked any spark that might have made this movie more interesting. athough i watch the whole film i really wanted to turn it off after about 20 mins but thought that it might get better as the story line developed, i think this will appeal to someone wanting something a little diff, but for me it just did,nt work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving and intense, 8 Oct. 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amnesia: The James Brighton Enigma [DVD] [PAL] (DVD)
Interesting little film about someone doing research to make a film about what happened to the main character after the events. You very quickly undersetand that (considering what I have just said) that something is not quite right, but not what that something is. The build up, the mixture of documentary, narrative and traditional film story telling makes for a captivating film. If you are looking for a gay film, this is not it though: it is a film about a character who happens to be gay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stomach churningly sick flick, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amnesia: The James Brighton Enigma [DVD] [PAL] (DVD)
Or at least one part of this fairly decent film is. A horrible event. A shocking crime. Nasty bastards brutalising innocent defenceless victims. Still there are far worse films out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amnesia: The James Brighton Enigma [DVD] [PAL] (DVD)
OK I like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WTF, it's in French!!!, 8 Oct. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amnesia: The James Brighton Enigma [DVD] [PAL] (DVD)
I bought this DVD direct from Amazon, because I noticed Amazon sellers were all american region 1 disks. But in spite of the note "Langugage: English" it's not ... it's mostly in French. The DVD itself says there are English subtitles, but there aren't any I've been able to get using three DVD players. Absolutely don't buy this unless you want a film spoken in French without any subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amnesia: The James Brighton Enigma [DVD] [PAL]
Amnesia: The James Brighton Enigma [DVD] [PAL] by Denis Langlois (DVD - 2008)
£4.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews