Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!!
Very pleased with this cd, theres not a bad song on it. I bought this as a fan of the beautiful south, not being familiar with the housemartins (cept for 2 songs maybe). Must say it has awakened a yearning to hear more of the Housemartins, theres only 7 songs by them on this cd, and left me wanting more. The Housemartins music has a more hectic, and energetic syle than...
Published on 5 Dec 2008 by M. Telford

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Now don't get me wrong - the music is fantastic...
... but this must be one of those unnecessary pre-Christmas releases that some 12-year old record company goon has dreamed up.
Both The Housemartins and The Beautiful South were quality bands, with a fantastic back catalogue which I urge you to discover. Cramming tracks from both bands onto one CD simply does not do either of them justice.
Take my advice: spend...
Published on 19 Nov 2007 by Jolene


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Now don't get me wrong - the music is fantastic..., 19 Nov 2007
By 
Jolene (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Soup (Audio CD)
... but this must be one of those unnecessary pre-Christmas releases that some 12-year old record company goon has dreamed up.
Both The Housemartins and The Beautiful South were quality bands, with a fantastic back catalogue which I urge you to discover. Cramming tracks from both bands onto one CD simply does not do either of them justice.
Take my advice: spend your money on two 'best of' CDs and discover these bands properly. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy the other best off albums, 9 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Soup (Audio CD)
The review for the Beautiful South's "Carry on up the Charts" album states that one in every four households owns that album, so why buy this one? Is it simply for the few addittional Housemartins's tracks? if so buy their best of compilation it is not only more comprehensive but cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!!, 5 Dec 2008
By 
M. Telford "Irish Writer" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soup (Audio CD)
Very pleased with this cd, theres not a bad song on it. I bought this as a fan of the beautiful south, not being familiar with the housemartins (cept for 2 songs maybe). Must say it has awakened a yearning to hear more of the Housemartins, theres only 7 songs by them on this cd, and left me wanting more. The Housemartins music has a more hectic, and energetic syle than The beautiful South which has a smoother more polished, and commercial sound.
The Housemartins have a raw youthful energy about them, possibly as they were younger and hungry for success at the time their music came about.
Theres 22 tracks on this cd, all the Beautiful South favs are there and the track order is about right i feel.
If you like the melodic qualities of guitar and piano blending together that is a trademark of the beautiful South's music, you will love this.
The tracks by the Housemartins are a lovely bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another pointless release!, 17 Nov 2007
This review is from: Soup (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of the Beautiful South, but like the recent Rolling Stones and Led Zepp compilations this is another unneccessary release. Apart from the fact that I own everything on it as I have all the albums, even for the less committed there are already three BS compilations available and one excellent Housemartins compilation which covers their career much more comprehensively than does this release. Just to try and tempt people to shell out yet again for what they've already bought they've thrown in a DVD edition as well, but it won't be tempting me!
Once again 5 stars for the music and 2 for the album itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pointless compilation, 27 Nov 2007
By 
Hespro (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Soup (Audio CD)
A great band - but a totally pointless compilation. Is there a household in the land with out a BS album? A totally cynical pre-Christmas marketing effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music made easy, 16 April 2008
This review is from: Soup (Audio CD)
Unlike everyone else who seems to review this album, I really like it. I don't buy many albums, as you tend to get a few good songs, and then the rest are ok nothing more! But this mix for me is brilliant, two great bands one album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Can of Soup, 25 Aug 2009
By 
P. Milligan "book worm" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soup (Audio CD)
Mention the "Caravan of Love" and people will know it was by the Housemartins. What many people don't know is the Housemartins and a number of good records, including Happy Hour. When you here it you'll think, "I know that song".

After the Housemartins we come across The Beautiful South (Briana Corrigan was the background vocalist). The songs are easy listening and recommended if you are an early Beautiful South fan and even if you're not. A "Song For Whoever" is worth listening too, in particular try picking out the lyrics about the Performing Rights Society (now PRS for Music) who keep sending the cheques!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 STARS FOR THE SONGS ONLY!!, 15 Jan 2009
By 
Jason Thorne (England / Oxford) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Soup (Audio CD)
This is a pointless album really all you get extra is a handful of songs from the Housemartins, which is great to listen to again. The rest is The Beautiful South which most people have already got again still great to listen to. I think it's just another way to make abit of extra money sticking The Housemartins songs on but can you blame them really ever other artist does it so good luck to them. 5 stars for the selection of songs while 2 stars for how the album has been put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still hungry., 30 July 2014
By 
P. Smithson "****" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soup (Audio CD)
Was expecting a heartening liquid based snack but it's a musical cd. I was hungry so crunched through it anyway. Have a feeling that I dislodged a filling and my hunger came back fairly rapidly. I recommend that you are careful when purchasing and to read the description , don't merely go for the picture. The music however was delightful while it lasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow this is good, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soup (Audio CD)
the very best of the very best excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soup
Soup by Beautiful South (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews