Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maximum warp....Engage!
Played on windows vista64.

I have played previous Star Trek games, like Voyager elite force & bridge commander etc... and although this game was a bit shorter than i would had liked, i really enjoyed it overall.

Basically this is all about flying Federation starships(SP mode) to complete missions, with the main goal being to chase a villian through...
Published on 1 Aug 2009 by Jules

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a disappointment
I had high hopes for this game as I was easy thinking of the good progression they had through the starfleet command series.

the biggest disappointment was the inability to up grade ships as with the other games.

also that only one faction is used main in the campaign as other could easly be added as they were just as much affected buy the events in...
Published on 11 April 2008 by Mr. P. Steel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maximum warp....Engage!, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Played on windows vista64.

I have played previous Star Trek games, like Voyager elite force & bridge commander etc... and although this game was a bit shorter than i would had liked, i really enjoyed it overall.

Basically this is all about flying Federation starships(SP mode) to complete missions, with the main goal being to chase a villian through the Federation timeline of famous ship Captains. You get to play as J.Archer, J.T.Kirk & J.L.Picard. All voice acted by them, or very good impersinations. The voices of C.Janeway & B.Sisko are also here, but not playable sadly(although you can purchase the ships they use at that Federation era for your fleet).

Off the cuff, Being linked with the company "Bethesda", Elder scrolls players will recognise some familiar voices of that series. For example the Klingons are voiced by the same person who voices the Orcs in the Elder scrolls games.

The ships and enviroments all look amazingly realistic, which imerses you, even if your not a die hard fan. On the downside, the games planets, are comicaly small compared to the size of the ships, but it doesnt make the game any worse, as its mainly ship to ship battles. Some of the missions are amazingly difficult too(filled my swear jar).

In each scenario, you gain command points for acomplishing objectives and for the number of enemies you kill. You can then use these points inbetween missions to purchase varied classes of ships as you like(of that Federation era) for your fleet(max of 4 incl. your flagship Enterprise). Obviously the flagship(Enterpise) cannot be changed.

The controls are pretty simple too, i basically used the WASD keys for ship movement, and i completed the game this way. I would highly reccomend replaying the first few missions, so you get used to the commands of using other ships, and controling your own etc. Now....Engage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like this, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Like the game just want to play more missions that do not evolve the Borg ore maybe a mother game with more missions that involve more ships that do not regally come in tho the Star Trek tv series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Legacy, 9 April 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Great game, great graphics. A pity once you've finished the campaign there ain't anything to do, the multiplayer is busted. And the campaign is a bit short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The basic game is rubbish but once you patch it!, 1 Jan 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Google star trek legacy mods and this game becomes awesome. im running the trek battles 2 mod (dont mix them!) and im using non standard upgraded vessles that would make players of the basic game weep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a disappointment, 11 April 2008
By 
Mr. P. Steel "Captain Peter" (Bognor Regis UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I had high hopes for this game as I was easy thinking of the good progression they had through the starfleet command series.

the biggest disappointment was the inability to up grade ships as with the other games.

also that only one faction is used main in the campaign as other could easly be added as they were just as much affected buy the events in the game.

A good thing about the game is that the gameplay is good as you are take control of up to 4 ships this keeps you focused on the game.

also the gaphics are very good but with a slow computer you will not be able to take advantage of them.
I had to put in a new graphics card and I already had and older style 256mb card, altough this is enough memory the processing speed of the older cards is slower and just did not work.

overall a reasonable game but it didn't seem well thought out as with some of the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars i expected better, 1 Jan 2009
By 
Jason Prudhoe (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
first off whoever written in that product description about the game being "Epic" doesn't know of what epic means clearly. this game is the opposite. the campaign can be completed in a matter of hours because they are only 3 eras that are covered, ENT, TOS and TNG each one has 4 episodes to complete so around 12 missions and lets face it, they are highly unimaginative, very easy and very linear.

the graphics are good in some places but are lacking in others especially the shadow rendering in the saucer sections of the federation ships, and any curved sections like the romulan warbirds main hull in TNG.

apart from tng many ships that are in this game are fiction and some including tng era as well. the only exceptions are the NX cruiser, Constitution cruiser, Miranda destroyer and the Excelsior battleship. i was disappointed some other canon ships like the Defiant in the mirror universe in ENT, the prometheus in TNG(VOY), Long island class in TNG(DS9), Norway class in TNG(ST:FC), Sabre class in TNG(DS9) and a few more off the top of my head that were not added, the same like just the 4 races. Federation, Romulan, Klingon and Borg. in all i can think of a dozen races that could of been worthy adversaries like the dominion, cardassians, tholians, suliban, xindi, ferengi, 8472 and kazon for example.

the ai and tactics are always point and shoot without any regard for what a real captain would do, the cloaking device is rarly used in the game and canon romulans and klingons use this device quite a lot in curious situations.

the controls of the game leave a lot to be desired, you press f to target a ship and the computer automatically changes your course and speed to full impulse everytime, until you press one of the WSAD keys to move your ship manually and mouse wheel to adjust the speed of your ship, left click to fire phasers and right click for torpedoes. however you are never fully in control of your ship when you enter a very steep incline/decline your vessel cant do a full 360, and if the ship ever gets upside down it will recorrect itself to straight axis which means certain moves in the game cant be accomplished like that in the canon trek.

the damage effects and debris is highly unrealistic, when you loose a section of hull on any of your ships a grey orangish coloring appears underneath that open area and that is suppose to represent damage. and when a ship is to be destroyed it will fracture apart and explode with force rings and once that clears, the fragments of these ships will shink on the spot then disappear altogether.

although there are mods out as well as patches to combat this worthless game problems, even these cant be good because the game itself limits the entire experience. these people should of been concerntrating on making this game excellent then rather worrying about competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bit of a dissappointment, 24 July 2010
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
if you want a nice neat story about how the borg became what they are, then go for it. if you like the mystery of the borg, good game play, and good space battles then give this a miss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very very buggy, 4 Oct 2008
By 
J. Pierce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I bought this game because the Star Trek name for the PC was a good one and has produced some excellent games. Unfortunately that was before Bethesda come along. The idea behind the game is actually quite good. However the game seemed very rushed through by the manufacturer and is fall of bugs the company still has not patched. I had a series of problems when playing this game. One I remember well was in the last mission when the Borg tactical cube would not come out of the vortex and the games story line wouldn't continue because it wouldn't let me destroy the Vulcan ship until that event had happened and she would destroy my ships within two seconds until after repeating the mission eight times the Borg tactical cube come out and the story line continued, I destroyed it then I was able to destroy her ship no problem and I was able to say goodbye to the game once and for all. There were many other errors too like when you tried to warp and on their own forum a lot of people have complained about the bugs. The story line was not bad either I just wished they had took a little more time with it and made it a classic like it should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wasted chance of a game., 13 Sep 2008
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Alas, this falls far short of what it could be.
The control system is clunky and does not even allow you to remap keys. This means you're stuck with what the developers decided they liked and made sense, despite it not being comfortable or even working well for you.
The camera judders from time to time, making you completely lose track of what's going on. Things tend not to work as you'd expect, and it feels buggy and half finished.
I got fed up after the first three hours, and decided enough was enough. I'd wasted a tenner on it, and I wasn't going to waste more of my life trying to start liking it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice concept, poorly implemented, 10 Sep 2008
By 
Peter Bloomfield (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
(I'm not much of a multiplayer, so I've only tackled the singleplayer side of this game.)

The gameplay concept for Legacy is quite fun... think of Star Trek Armada, but a 3rd-person perspective, instead of top-down. Unfortunately, it's spoiled by the implementation. Most importantly, the control and command system could definitely have done with more playtesting and refinement, although with practice you can more-or-less get the fleet doing your bidding... albeit a tad slowly sometimes.

Technical problems include severely shuddering mouse on menu screens, gimbal-locking flight model, and a rather fickle framerate (especially during critical action moments). There's plenty of audio dialogue (from actual actors!), but the script is almost comically bad at times.

If you can grit your teeth then the problems are just about bearable. Worth a try if you like Star Trek, and you can pickup a budget/preowned copy for a couple of pounds... certainly not worth much of your money though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek Legacy (PC DVD)
Star Trek Legacy (PC DVD) by Focus Multimedia Ltd (Windows Vista / XP)
Used & New from: 6.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews