Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another quality reissue from the finest POP group in history.
The real genius of Abba's music was in the ease in which their songs addressed the ups and downs of personal relationships from both a female and male perspective.For a so called pop group Abba sang about difficult personal issues [in retrospect they were merely writing about their own crumbling inter band relationships,whilst becoming the most popular group in the...
Published on 26 Nov 2007 by Paul M

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Truly crippled reissue not worth the money
Let's be clear: ABBA's The Album is great music and I think it is their best album. No Question. But i'm reviewing this remastered reissued Deluxe Edition. And the reissue is not that great at all.

As a remaster, I hoped it would sound better than the 1984 German Polydor CD. To my disappointment, the remaster sounds worse: it is louder, and at first it seems to...
Published 15 months ago by Joost


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Truly crippled reissue not worth the money, 18 April 2013
By 
Joost (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABBA The Album Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Let's be clear: ABBA's The Album is great music and I think it is their best album. No Question. But i'm reviewing this remastered reissued Deluxe Edition. And the reissue is not that great at all.

As a remaster, I hoped it would sound better than the 1984 German Polydor CD. To my disappointment, the remaster sounds worse: it is louder, and at first it seems to have more punch than the 1984 master. But it also sounds much harsher, and the silky vocals of Agnetha and Frida (and the hi-hats) suffer from excessive hissing. The initial impression of more punch is seductive, but it is accomplished by compression of the master tape as a whole. This means that instrument separation is lower - the remaster sounds more muddled. So this remaster is a louder, brighter and more muddled version of the 1984 CD. Really sad. I'll stick with my latter.

As a Deluxe Editions, you might expect some extras. This edition contains a booklet, 6 bonus tracks and a DVD with 12 scenes. The booklet is a 28-page story (with some pictures) of how The Album was created. Really interesting to read. But hey, don't expect to find any lyrics in it. The 6 bonus tracks are a mixed bunch: 2 Spanish versions (I do not care), 2 live versions (nice to hear that the girls could really sing, but why not include a full live set?), the single version of Eagle (shorter than the album version) and the Doris Day version of Thank You For The Music (awful in my opinion). But why do they not include a live recording of Get On The Carousel? The track that is mentioned in the booklet, and was only sung live! The DVD is quite nice, although I would have liked a full concert video. The videos at hand reveal that Agnetha didn't like looking at the camera, and that in those days you could have quite silly and unprofessional footage and still be taken seriously.

All in all: the extras are not overwhelming and the sound didn't improve at all. If you already own a version of The Album, this version doesn't really add anything worth having. If you don't own The Album already and you want to have the best listening experience, buy the 1984 CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another quality reissue from the finest POP group in history., 26 Nov 2007
By 
Paul M "ROYALSFAN" (Reading ,England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: ABBA The Album Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
The real genius of Abba's music was in the ease in which their songs addressed the ups and downs of personal relationships from both a female and male perspective.For a so called pop group Abba sang about difficult personal issues [in retrospect they were merely writing about their own crumbling inter band relationships,whilst becoming the most popular group in the world].

This reissue of the soundtrack to the bands tour movie of 1976 is perhaps the nearest Abba got to treading water in their prime[sandwiched between the pop brilliance of "Arrival",and the more mature "Voulez Vous"],but the sheer quality of the songwriting, production, and performances just illustrates how on top of their game Abba were in this period.From the mellow opener, "Eagle", to the classic pop genius of "Take A Chance On Me" Abba never short changed their huge audience on a musical level,and very few bands have ever sustained this level of quality throughout their careers.Whilst essentially a cheerful album, a sly hint of the bands emerging melancholy and maturity can be found in the brilliant "The Name Of The Game".

This reissue has 6 interesting curiosities especially the "Doris Day",[read less produced], version of "Thank you For The Music",which i personally prefer to the album version, and two Spanish versions of tracks from the album.

The dvd is a bit of a gem,with some hard to find,television appearances and interviews[including some in Swedish],that offer more than standard record company propaganda[especially interesting is a brief Blue Peter clip where the bands professionalism is as noticable as their obvious desire to be elsewhere].

Overall this is a fabulous package and worth the investment.It may not be quite as much fun as the "Arrival" Deluxe Edition,but that is merely splitting hairs,and should not stop anybody from purchasing this small slice of Seventies nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing, 16 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ABBA The Album Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
First of all ABBA the album the original album is still fantastic and is still five stars. However this deluxe version is a real cash in. Firstly no promos for take a chance on me or name of the game. You get a clip from Blue Peter and a few other live performances, the picture quality is poor and the sound is mono. Considering this Album was accompanying the Film Abba the movie there is a lot of material that could have made this DVD well worth it,perhaps even the film which is owned by ABBA anyway would have made a real value package, however my advise is buy the single disc there is nothing special or Deluxe about this version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this album has been pulling my strings for nearly four decades, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABBA The Album Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
the only problem I have with this deluxe edition is it could have included get on the carousel as I love that song, but you can view and hear that song online, so it's a small misgiving. the live version of take a chance on me is brill, as is the live version of I wonder and the dvd is pleasant too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the amusing DVD content, 25 Jan 2013
This review is from: ABBA The Album Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
First off, the album is worth five stars. While it's not their most accessible collection, the musical prowess on show here is really indicative of how talented ABBA were as a group, a fact commonly overlooked by people who judge them only on their 'party hits'.

The DVD section was a tad disappointing, although I genuinely laughed aloud at two points:
- The group rush on to a TV show to perform and no sooner have they grabbed their mics, 'Take a Chance on Me' begins, but valuable seconds are lost and neither of the girls' mouths are moving for a few lines.
- The Blue Peter interview, in which the presenter keeps addressing Bjorn as Ba-jorn. Research, woman!

All in all, it's worth a once over but the content is a little dull and the group don't seem very happy in the off-stage interviews, but it's all more than compensated for by the sheer quality of their musical strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Edition, 6 Sep 2009
By 
Gjergj Kota "Georg" (Durres, Albania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ABBA The Album Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Length:: 6:36 Mins

A very interesting deluxe for an Abba Fan.
The videos are exellent. A very interesting footage is ABBA In London interview(BBC).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Raw Remaster, 26 Feb 2009
This review is from: ABBA The Album Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
I picked a copy of this CD up as a spur-of-the-moment thing, already owning the 2001 remaster of the original album myself.

The DVD overall is very good, and by far much better than the CD of the album itself. This remaster is by far the worst I have ever come across - and not even being your typical "audiophile", the distinct lack of noise compression applied during the remastering process is blatantly obvious.

The "raw" remastering effects are worst felt when using headphones, which makes for EXTREMELY unpleasant listening. It's most noticeable on the quieter tracks such as One Man, One Woman, and Thank You For The Music, though is apparent in all tracks residually.

To conclude, this album is worth buying for the DVD. Add to that the excellent linear notes, and for the price you can't go wrong. However, as for the album itself, I would recommend buying an additional copy separately. I don't often rate things so harshly, but honestly, the amount of background noise on the CD tracks is, frankly, appalling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AOR/Broadway minefield, 24 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABBA The Album Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Good value buy and delivered in good time and good condition. A curate's egg as far as the Abba canon goes, but I'm falling as we speak and the DVD is an absolute clincher. Marvel as Lesley Judd gets not one, but two Abba member names wrong on Blue Peter. Not as good a package as Arrival special edition, but, hey, not every creative spurt can be a Sistine Chapel. It's still more artistically valid than the entire careers of U2, The Who, REM and The Clash combined. Capish?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're even half a fan, you'll love this!, 15 April 2009
This review is from: ABBA The Album Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
I'd just bought the deluxe edition of Arrival and that was so good I had to buy this one!

The extra tracks are interesting curios and worth having, but the dvd is absolutely wonderful for ABBA junkies like me!!!
I thought I'd seen everything that was likely to be released but this has new footage from 1976 through 1979 or there abouts is just fantastic. There are studio performances and a fly-on-the-wall concert documentary, and behind the scenes interviews all neatly subtitled where the Swedish commentary runs. It's bizarre to see ABBA being mentioned in the same lofty company as The Beatles and The Bay City Rollers! How times do change.
The music on the cd is as good as ever and there to be enjoyed by anyone, and the dvd just makes this an even better buy and even more worth having!
I hope they do deluxe editions of all the other albums, especially The Visitors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing DVD, 1 Dec 2007
By 
Basil (Middlewich, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ABBA The Album Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Fantastic album -that goes without saying.

Lovely package and booklet although the 'tracing paper' insert is a bit of a pain!

I must admit I was very disappointed with the DVD. The performances are just them miming over tracks at various TV shows. The mini documentary features are very bland and feel emotionally cold.

What I'd like to have seen on the package (and any future ones)

*New interviews with members of the group talking about each album track in detail. Genesis of track, lyrics, early versions/mixes etc
*More actual live material
*Features with the people involved in the album, including those working on the reissue project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ABBA The Album Deluxe Edition
ABBA The Album Deluxe Edition by ABBA (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews