Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Grim Grotto Review
I think 'the Grim Grotto' was a brilliant book with loads more mysteries unravelling as it spills out it's dramatic cotents.
The Baudelaires encounter deadly fungus, a tap-dancing ballerina fairy princess veterinarian, a mechanical monster and a search for a sugar bowl.
I thought it was the best book in the series yet, it was exciting and mysterious.
Published on 18 Jan 2005 by Scarlet Meredith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars True to Lemony
I thought that this book was pretty good.Lemony stayed true to himself and kept right on form.I've read every single one of his books and loved them all.This isn't his very best, but it's not his worst either.You could say that i'm addicted to all his books.As a severe addict and young (11)but harsh book critic, I'm pretty hard to please.But Snicket always succeeds in...
Published on 13 Mar 2007 by lindabookworm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Grim Grotto Review, 18 Jan 2005
I think 'the Grim Grotto' was a brilliant book with loads more mysteries unravelling as it spills out it's dramatic cotents.
The Baudelaires encounter deadly fungus, a tap-dancing ballerina fairy princess veterinarian, a mechanical monster and a search for a sugar bowl.
I thought it was the best book in the series yet, it was exciting and mysterious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A water cycle shouldn't leave you high and dry, 23 Oct 2004
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This eleventh book in the series is all wet. Dreams evaporate, misfortune precipitates, and unanswered questions collect. The Grim Grotto however, is far from boring, with the introduction of the Widdershin family of submariners, who have a surprise in store that will hook the unsuspecting reader. Old friends are reunited, enemies are more amusing than threatening, and young romances blossom from the depths of the Stricken Stream to the shores of the Briny Beach.
However, if despite all the warnings you insist on finishing this book, you will realise that after you have followed the Baudelaire siblings through their latest collection of tragedies, you are still no further along the story than when you started, but you will have gained valuable knowledge about poisonous mushrooms and wasabi. Be sure to make a note of all this, because, dear reader, you never know if this dubiously useful information will save your miserable life one day.
Lemony Snicket shows his sensitive side, reducing his most evil villain to a giggling, doting boyfriend, organizing poetry readings, and ending the story with the slimmest hint of happiness. There's something very wrong with this picture.
This is not a stand alone book, even though quite a hefty chunk of it is devoted to flashbacks. If you haven't read the first ten adventures, I'm afraid you have the untimely and expensive misfortune of having to go and buy ten books, providing of course you are prepared to partake in a collection that will depress you if you haven't been blessed with a strong constitution. Persons suffering from melancholy and depression disorders should heed the author's warnings and read happier books with pleasant endings.
This episode is a one sitting read if you're a Very Faithful Devotee, but the unanswered questions and sub-story lines that lead nowhere will leave you Veritably Foolishly Dumbfounded. It's really a 3.5 star book, but like the elusive Mr. Snicket, I like to end on a less sad note every once in a while.
Amanda Richards October 16, 2004
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Grim Grotto:A great read., 5 Oct 2004
Book The Eleventh:The Grim Grotto.
In this installment of the lives of the Baudelaires, Violet, Klaus and Sunny encounter such horrors as a deadly disease, hypocondria, a guy that says 'Aye!' all the time and a bearded guy on their divers suits
All in all, a good read, a must for all fans of Lemony Snicket, and the best yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eleven Down - Two to Go!, 7 Dec 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I've read every one of the Series of Unfortunate events - and certainly had no intention of missing this episode. However, I was slightly disappointed with the book this time.
The story is reasonable enough by Snicket standards - but we learn little of any real value to further the ongoing plot or get answers to any of our questions (though an intriguing new character is introduced on the last page). It rather felt like 'filling in' until the final book or two. Normally, with the witty narrative and dialogue, that wouldn't have been a problem - but there were several things that made this book somewhat irritating to read:
1) New character Captain Widdershins says 'Aye,' after almost every sentence - 8 -12 times every single paragraph of dialogue. Then as if that isn't enough to, his niece starts doing it too.
2) There are several (intentionally dull) double page segments about the water cycle intended to lull the reader to sleep to avoid reading any further misery; it's only funny the first time, by the fifth/sixth it's a nuisance.
3) Count Olaf has a new and very annoying way of laughing, saying things like: Hee hee hee sniggle haw snaggle heepa heepa ho ho heffalump ... after virtually every sentence. Esme does it too.
4) Carmelita keeps telling everyone she's dressed as a 'tap-dancing ballerina fairy princess veterinarian'; funny a few times then it starts to grate.
5) There's an enormous amount of plot exposition woven in which seems unnecessary; if you've read all the other books you know this stuff, if you haven't, you shouldn't start by reading part eleven of a series anyway.
All that being said, if you're a die-hard fan eager to read this series through to the end, then this, of course, cannot be missed. But speaking personally, it's my least favourite so far ... and just seems to lack the originality of the early episodes. It makes me wonder if stretching this tortuous tale in to 13 episodes is perhaps stretching it a little too far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wet and damp - ugh!, 13 Jan 2008
Unless you are a slug, a sea anemone, or mildew, you probably prefer not to be damp. You might also prefer not to read this book (which I am writing about), in which the Baudelaire siblings encounter an unpleasant amount of dampness as they descend into the depths of despair, underwater. In fact the horrors they encounter are too numerous to list, and you wouldn't want me to mention the worst of it, which includes mushrooms, a desperate search for something lost, a mechanical monster, a distressing message from a lost friend, and tap dancing. This book sounds a bit to horrible to read so only read in you really dare!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, 19 Mar 2007
I loved this book. I loved Klaus' ill-fated connection with the mysterious Fiona, the crisis with the mushrooms, and above all the last chapters, where the bigger mysteries of VFD finally begin coming together. The ending is probably the single best ending in the series...

I am now ready for book 12, which unfortunately I am getting only for Christmas. In the meantime a discovered a new very interesting series titled "Why some cats are rascals". Totally different story, but how captivating! I gave it for my younger sister as a Christmas gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The misery continues., 20 Jan 2005
By 
Rebecca Herman (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Baudelaire orphans continue their miserable adventures in the newest book in A Series of Unfortunate Events. When the story begins, they find themselves trapped on a floating toboggan in the middle of the Stricken Stream. Eventually, they are washed downstream to the sea, where they encounter a submarine, the Queequeg, and its crew: Captain Widdershins, who is extremely fond of saying the word "aye"; his stepdaughter Fiona, who loves to read about mushrooms; and Phil, the cook, who they met long ago during their time at the Lucky Smells Lumbermill. Captain Widdershins is searching for the lost sugar bowl, determined that it will not fall into the hands of Count Olaf and his evil associates, and so Baudelaires and their new friends head off to the Gorgonian Grotto, where even more misfortune awaits them. Fans of the series will not want to miss this latest addition. It's just as miserable, hilarious, and wonderful as the previous books in the series. I cannot wait until the next book in the series is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars True to Lemony, 13 Mar 2007
By 
lindabookworm ((Dromore,Northern Ireland)) - See all my reviews
I thought that this book was pretty good.Lemony stayed true to himself and kept right on form.I've read every single one of his books and loved them all.This isn't his very best, but it's not his worst either.You could say that i'm addicted to all his books.As a severe addict and young (11)but harsh book critic, I'm pretty hard to please.But Snicket always succeeds in doing so and i love his books.While i was still reading his books, i never slept at night.I stayed up reading his books-and still do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must keep going...., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable book, am slowly but surely coming to the end of this series of books, must have started about 10 years ago! Didn't give it 5 stars as some parts of the story were very slow to develop and his style of writing can rub you up the wrong way if you are a bit restless while reading. All in all a good contribution to a fantastic story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Story, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, the whole series greatly enjoyed by my 10 yr old daughter. Only wish Lemony Snicket could come up with a new series as since reading A series of unfortunate events I can't stop her reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews