Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The plot thickens
Just when you thought that Lemony Snicket was running out of steam he delivers the best yet in the Series of Unforunate Events. Truth be told, all the tales of various woe were starting to get a tiny bit repetitive, though they were largely redeemed by Snicket's entertaining style of stroytelling. But the Ersatz Elevator gives new hope that he'll be able to spin this out...
Published on 3 Jan. 2005 by Break

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow and Frightening
My children did'nt enjoy this as much as the other books in this series and found it a little slow and a bit frightening - especially when Esme hurls the children down the elevator shaft. They also were frustrated at the wimpiness of Jeremy. Count Olaf does'nt have such a big presence either.
Published on 7 Jun. 2001 by Ferradura


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The plot thickens, 3 Jan. 2005
By 
Break (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Just when you thought that Lemony Snicket was running out of steam he delivers the best yet in the Series of Unforunate Events. Truth be told, all the tales of various woe were starting to get a tiny bit repetitive, though they were largely redeemed by Snicket's entertaining style of stroytelling. But the Ersatz Elevator gives new hope that he'll be able to spin this out for the full thirteen.
The basics: this is the 6th book in the story of the Baudelaire orphans: Violet, Klaus and Sunny. The death of their parents in a mysterious fire has thrown them into the path of the nefarious Count Olaf, who is determined to get his hands on their enormous fortune. So far so good, but what distinguishes the Ersatz Elevator is the emergence of what may appear to be a subplot but is actually the intrigue that underlines all of the novels: the secret of VFD. This adds another dimension of interest to the book, which is also richly populated with a new set of characters and the kind of bizarre humour in which Snicket revels.
All the old devices are there: the definitions of vocabulary, the literary references, the hidden jokes and secrets: all of which will keep adults as well as children entertained. The plot is pacy and uncomplicated, and while the story seems the stuff of fairy-tales, Lemony Snicket's dry, dead-pan irony and skewed perspective is deliciously dark. The most enjoyable yet in a highly enjoyable selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Series Of Unfortunate Events - The Ersatz Elevator, 19 Feb. 2005
By 
Peter Robson (Witham, England) - See all my reviews
This book was very entertaining and also well written. A truely great book for kids alike. It don't have any major complaints about this book except for stalling the good bits in the book. It was like Lemony was biding time to save something or other. I also was displeased at the end of the book when Jerome Squalor, the Baudelaires new guardian decides to abandon them on a account of the the displeasure of argumentive conversations. He leaves them without clothes or any other form of neccisity which I find very discomforting. But all in all this book will provide you with much excitement and wonder.
PS : Violet, Klaus and Sunny will never be free of upseting lifestyles but maybe in the future thirteenth book things could brighten up their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Miserable Baudilaires Create Another Breakthrough Story, 14 April 2004
When I started reading the book, it started out as all of the storys in the past had: Mr. Poe taking the childeren to their new home and the poor kids ending up misererable.But as I read, the story took a strange new twist that was so fun and myserious, I had my eyes glued to the pages for two hours straight. I couldn't get enough of it and soon after I picked up the book, I couldn't put it down. The strange adventures of the three Baudilaire childeren had transported me to another world where I was one of the Baudilaires and I had to go thruogh the exact same things they went through. This book, (provided you read all the other books in the series before number six) is a definate must read. I would definatley reccomend this book most to childeren nine through twelve who enjoy mystery and fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snicket's Twisty book, 24 Nov. 2009
This book you want to buy, has so many twists i cannot count. When the Baudilare orphans go from their school to a hotel on a dark, dark street, they know this couldn't be a perfect home. After climbing the stairs which seemed to take forever, they meet the cheerfull Jerome, oh, and Esme.

Esme is obsessed about whats "In," which would be parsley soda, pinstriped suits, orphans and the dark. Despite their new foster mother they love Jerome, and he loves them. He wants to buy the children everything they desire, tools, books and biting materials. But then something happens, and when they turn to Esme, somthing else happens. Huge twists. And the Baudilares end up in catacombs, trying to find a way out, and see a blast from the past............

Can they save their friends? Can they tell Jerome all about his wife? Will Count Olaf or "Gunther" get away?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best book in series, 19 July 2008
A Kid's Review
I personly think this is the best book in the sereis so ingnore Lemony Snickets warning. After having a miserable a Prufrock prep in the Austere AcademyThe Austere Academy (A Series of Unfortunate Events No.5)<.The Baudelaire (i think thats how you spell it)orphans go to 667 Dark Avenue to live with Mr and Mrs Squalor only to find Count Olaf found them again. This book has more of a sense of mystery with a bit less misery and more of the "element of suprise" Thosewho like bieng more miserable shoud skip to the the vile villageThe Vile Village #7 (Series of Unfortunate Events) but if not get htis book now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 29 Jan. 2008
I am ten years old and I cant see why people think that this series of books is to unfortunate for us to read.
you are certainly not unfortunate if you pick up this book of a shelf.
yes, it is true that not one happy thing happens in this book but does that really matter.
I couldn't put the book down .
every second your waiting for something good to happen next but it never does.
I would recommend this book to advanced readers and to anyone who doesn't mind an unhappy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulously twisted, 12 Nov. 2014
It has become very clear over the first six books that Lemony Snicket has a pattern. In essence, this book is exactly the same as all the rest. The Orphans are taken in by a guardian and soon find themselves trying to foil the scheme of a disguised Olaf. However, I've rated it a little higher than the others purely because I enjoyed it the most.

I love the setting of this novel and the tongue-in-cheek jabs at fashionistas. I love the absurd descriptions of 667 Dark Avenue and the Cafe Salmonella. I loved the eventual twist in this story's tale. And, as always, I love Snicket's deliciously dark writing style.

It only really lost a star due to its lack of originality. I do hope that Snicket mixes things up a little more in the Vile Village as I'd hate for this series to grow stale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY FAVOURITE BOOK IN THE SERIES!, 23 Jun. 2012
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The sixth book in the A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS saga, THE ERSATZ ELEVATOR, is my favourite installment in the entire 13-part series for several reasons. I'm not going to ruin it for you but this one introduces a very important villain to the story. The Quagmires are featured again and the setting is extremely fun. There are some surprisingly eerie sections but it's lightened by some hilarious jokes. The ending is what makes it so good. There is quite a lot of action, twists and turns and discoveries. It's just an awesome book! THE BEST OF THE SERIES! 10/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure literary heavan!, 25 Jan. 2005
It's probably a tie-up as to which book is the best in the series, The Ersatz Elevator or The Hostile Hospital. Well, for m it's probably the ersatz elevator which is enthralling from the start with Snickett's usual mysterious yet hilarious style! It's so good i've read it about 10 times and now, I think I'll read it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Orphans were out then...now they are in", 9 Mar. 2005
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Throughout the books in this series I have noticed a clear trend, which consists in the Baudelaire orphans having to face more complex and dangerous situations as the story progresses. In the previous book, Violet, Klaus and Sony finally found friends in the presence of the two Quagmire triplets (yes, you read it right...two triplets!). But the joy did not last long, and soon the mischievous Count Olaf kidnapped the Quagmires. Now the orphans have to figure out a way to remain safe, but also have to try to rescue their friends in the process, and the only way to do this is to find Count Olaf and solve the mystery of VFD.
After a journey that has taken them through their fair share of scary and woeful places, the Baudelaires are finally close to their home once more. The problem is that close is not close enough, and Dark Avenue, the street where their new guardians live, is really what the name suggests: a dreadful place. The neighborhood in which the Squalors live is in the dark because dark is in! In the same manner, the elevators are out, and the orphans, the pinstripe suits and the aqueous martinis are in. Even though the orphans are forced to climb the stairs to the apartment of Jerome and Esme Squalor in the dark, either to the forty-eighth or eighty-fourth floor, and all the nonsense they have to put up with about what is in and what is out, they are safe and sound and that is enough to give them some solace. However, they cannot help but feel some fear about what will happen when the orphans are not in anymore.
Of course, Count Olaf will show up disguised as usual and bring danger to the world of the Baudelaires, and there will be excitement, happiness and sorrow. Violet will have to show a great deal of her inventing talents, Klaus his ability for research and Sony the strength of her four teeth. Also as usual, the reader will get a fair amount of excellent entertainment, with Snicket's witty remarks and unusual technique for writing. One aspect of this technique is that when the book starts we are given a preview of what will come, through the use of dictionaries and words in quotes...but I am going to let you figure that one out on your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews