Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GEOFF LOVE AND MANUEL
TWO CD`S, ONE DEDICATED TO GEOFF LOVE WITH HIS SOMBRERO (MANUEL), AND ONE WITHOUT.

CD1 GIVES THE GEOFF LOVE ORCHESTRA, WITH TRACKS LIKE "LOVE IS BLUE", "ALWAYS", "MISTY" AND "TRUE LOVE" AND 19 MORE. ALL THE TRACKS ARE ARRANGED AND PLAYED TO PERFECTION. CD 2 IS GIVEN TO MANUEL. MOST OF THE TRACKS, SUCH AS "RODRIGOS GUITAR", "GRANADA", "LA BAMBA" AND "AUTUMN...
Published on 22 Feb. 2012 by ROBIN

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When I was young and impressionable.
This is one of my favourites when I was a youth and abroad with the RAF. Never thought it would be available on a DVD with much better quality than those scratchy old vinals. Happy days !
Published on 25 Mar. 2010 by H. Butcher


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GEOFF LOVE AND MANUEL, 22 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The Very Best Of Geoff Love And Manuel And The Music Of The Mountains (Audio CD)
TWO CD`S, ONE DEDICATED TO GEOFF LOVE WITH HIS SOMBRERO (MANUEL), AND ONE WITHOUT.

CD1 GIVES THE GEOFF LOVE ORCHESTRA, WITH TRACKS LIKE "LOVE IS BLUE", "ALWAYS", "MISTY" AND "TRUE LOVE" AND 19 MORE. ALL THE TRACKS ARE ARRANGED AND PLAYED TO PERFECTION. CD 2 IS GIVEN TO MANUEL. MOST OF THE TRACKS, SUCH AS "RODRIGOS GUITAR", "GRANADA", "LA BAMBA" AND "AUTUMN LEAVES" ARE GENERALLY IN A LIGHTER VEIN.

IN ALL THERE ARE 46 TRACKS, GIVING WONDERFUL VALUE FOR MONEY. A COUPLE OF HOURS OF INTENSE PLEASURE. SIT DOWN WITH A CUP OF TEA, OR A GLASS OF SOMETHING STRONGER, AND ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *****, 7 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Geoff Love And Manuel And The Music Of The Mountains (Audio CD)
48 tracks on 2CDs. All your favourites are there and played by the inimitable Geoff Love orchestra - aka Manuel and the Music of the Mountains. A modestly-priced collection of beautifully-arranged music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing, 29 Jun. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Geoff Love And Manuel And The Music Of The Mountains (Audio CD)
I purchased this Album for one track - "Rodrigo's Guitar Conterto De Aranjuez" but I love them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A FABULOUS JOURNEY WITH A BUDGET BUY OF GEOFF LOVE, THE VERY BEST., 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is said that at all times, somewhere in the world, Geoff Love's recording of "Rodrigo's Guitar Concerto De Aranjuez," is being played. I don't know if it is true or not, but it is a wonderfully recorded piece of music under his guise of, MANUEL and HIS MUSIC OF THE MOUNTAINS. A Yorkshire man, Geoff Love was born in 1917 and thru' his musical life he accompanied, composed for and arranged for the cream of British, and sometimes American, entertainers including, MATT MONRO, FRANKIE VAUGHAN, PETER & GORDON, ALMA COGAN, JUDY GARLAND, LAURIE LONDON, and of course his great mate, MAX BYGRAVES. He achieved 1 x Platinum album, 15 x Gold albums, 13 x Silver albums, and a special trophy for 2.5 million record sales. The joy of listening to his orchestras was the multitudes of styles and sounds he could produce, one might easily be fooled into believing one was listening to, Percy Faith, David Rose, Mantovani, Glenn Miller, Ron Goodwin or even Elmer Bernstein. And he was equally at home in the realms of classical music. He could play war themes, love themes, western themes, rock themes and standards all with the same gusto and make you think that it was his version you had heard the first time around. And this album, at £4.99 is a steal! 48 Tracks of sheer listening pleasure, you won't want any other and I was so pleased to come across it. The tracks are:
RODRIGO..MOONLIGHT SERENADE..LOVE IS BLUE..GRANADA..STRANGER ON THE SHORE..STRANGERS IN THE NIGHT..BALI HA'I..RAINDROPS KEEP FALLING ON MY HEAD..MOON RIVER..SENTIMENTAL JOURNEY..CAVATINA..LA BAMBA..EBB TIDE..WHITE ROSE OF ATHENS..ALWAYS..THE 12TH OF NEVER..THE ENTERTAINER..SPANISH FLEA..THE HONEYMOON SONG..A MMAN AND A WOMAN..CAROUSEL WALTZ..ISLAND IN THE SUN..AUTUMN LEAVES..THE BLUE DANUBE..THE LAST WALTZ..THE VERY THOUGHT OF YOU..NEVER ON SUNDAY..THE BREEZ AND I..ELVIRA MADIGAN..A STRING OF PEARLS..YOU ARE THE SUNSHINE OF MY LIFE..GUANTANAMERA..MISTY..SPANISH HARLEM..TRUE LOVE..AROUND THE WORLD..Y VIVA ESPANA..LARA'S THEME..THEME FROM WE'LL MEET AGAIN..DO YOU KNOW THE WAY TO SAN JOSE..A SUMMER PLACE..LA MER..MARIA ELENA..AND I LOVE YOU SO..ANNIE'S SONG..ELIZABETHAN SERENADE..SUMMERTIME.
If you asked me which is my favourite, I will say the one that is playing; because that is how good he is and his own arrangements make it worth it so s you are not listening to a clone. One word to describe it, then I would say SMOOTH. Though Geoff Love died in 1991, this recordings, especially now in digital, are as fresh as the day they were first pressed! Enjoy.
It wasn't until the late 1950's that he began to become really prominent as Geoff Love and His orchestra. But he changed gear working under the name of Manuel And His Music Of The Mountains which, for some strange reason, became highly successful, especially in America! Whereas he was hoping to keep his true identity secret his popularity was such that he just couldn't, and although everybody came to know who Manuel was, he still sold thousands of records, and still does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUSIC OF THE FINEST QUALITY, 22 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Geoff Love And Manuel And The Music Of The Mountains (Audio CD)
These 2 discs are of the finest quality of music available. Each disc contains 24 tracks, and amazingly, the package costs less than £5. Geoff Love aka Manuel & His Music of the Mountains never fails to produce the most beautiful sounds in every recording I have ever heard. The strings are absolute perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy for over forty tunes., 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Geoff Love And Manuel And The Music Of The Mountains (Audio CD)
This is a great easy listening double CD. The music is ideal for relaxing to and is beutifully played by Geoff Love and his orchestra.The quality of the CD is also very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best Of Geoff Love And Manuel And The Music Of The Mountains, 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Geoff Love And Manuel And The Music Of The Mountains (Audio CD)
I am thrilled and very satisfied with my purchase. This is a beautiful CD. For lovers of Instrumental orchestral easy listening music, this is a must. Island in the Sun and Strangers in the night, sent a shiver down my spine as I listened to it. This Gentleman certainly knows how to make music talk to the listener! His way of music is like a sweet in a wrapper and there is a surprise in the middle awaiting your discovery! So like his music. Played with emotion and beautifully rendered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great music, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Geoff Love And Manuel And The Music Of The Mountains (Audio CD)
brought back many memories,lovely music and sounds, would recommend this for a quiet night in. Very relaxing to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old favourites, 4 Mar. 2014
By 
Mrs. Irene Hanna (N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nostalgia! Lovely relaxing music. I would recommend this to anyone who likes this type of music. Takes you back to a bygone era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good orchestral music., 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knew all the music as I had it on old lps which have become scratchy over the years.
Very good easy listening music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Geoff Love And Manuel And The Music Of The Mountains
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 10 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews