Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A double-dip of a divey, 31 July 2004
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the second series of Lovejoy episodes. While the first still retained a heavy flavour of Gash's books, in series 2, McShane began to flesh out the dotty character and make it his own. I think these episodes are some of the best of the whole series. These were just so GOOD!
1) Just Desserts 2) Italian Venus 3) Bin Diving 4) Montezuma Revenge 4) Who Dares Sings 5) One Born Every Minute 6) National Wealth 7) Sugar and Spice 8)Raise the Hispanic 9) Lily's Pearls 10) Riding in Rollers 11) The Black Virgin of Vladimir
You also get the second part of the interview with McShane talking about his character.
It just does not get any better than this. Again, super BBC transfers and a nifty price. I am eagerly awaiting Lovejoy - series 3 coming soon...but soon enough for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodnesskindess, 7 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some five years after the original series of Lovejoy ended with the roguish antiques dealer in prison after being framed, the character returned to the small screen; his hair was longer and he was a little bitter, but he soon resumed his dubious ways. Aided by drunken sot 'Tinker Dill', naive antiques dealer wanabe 'Eric Catchpole', and aristocrat 'Lady Jane Felsham', Lovejoy exposes scams, dodges the police and his creditors, and makes a bit of cash along the way. Ian McShane is perfectly cast in the title role, and the second series is just as entertaining in a gentle British fashion, as its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way it should be seen, America!, 12 Jan. 2005
By 
Gene R. Obrien (Union, New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To any Americans reading this, do NOT hesitate to buy these DVDs! This is the way that 'Lovejoy' SHOULD be seen. UNCUT!! Yes, that's right. There are some 'off color' words and the occassional light 'naughty bit' that seem to have somehow gotten lost in transit between our good friends in Britain and telly here in the States. This is televison at it's finest. First 'Robin Of Sherwood' and now 'Lovejoy'! Once again, the Brits come through!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovejoy Series 3, 29 May 2009
By 
J. R. Fowler (Greater London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The episodes in Series 2 are timeless masterpieces made by people who really know how to produce intelligent entertainment. All the characters are believable - especially Lovejoy himself beautifully played by Ian McShane - and the plots are neatly resolved. The peek behind the scenes of the world of auctions is instructive, the Norfolk countryside gladdens the eye, and the masterly writing draws us irresistably into each story. With this production crew we know we won't be disappointed.

Time has done nothing to cause disappointment as we watch the episodes now, and I found myself wishing the series was still going. I suppose I shall just have to settle for buying Series 3.

John Fowler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A entertaining series which does not lose its charm, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovejoy is about a charming but evasive antiques dealer who often finds himself at the centre of a mystery or in some kind of trouble.Lovejoy leaves open prision after being caught working for a international smugling ring.He quickly goes back to his old ways.During the series he gets caught up in various situations which in one episode forces him to inpersonate a vicar in order to solve a mystery.Lovejoy is assisted by Eric who is a slow witted heavy metal fan and Tinker a posh and cheerful man who drinks a lot.This series also introduces us to Lovejoys ex wife and his teenage daughter who did not appear in series 1. Watching these episodes gives the viewer a small crash course in antiques although it is impossible to tell if the items featured are genuine or reproduction but Lovejoy always seems to know which is which.Unlike most antique dealers Lovejoy travels in a beat up morris minor which constantly lets him down either through mechanical trouble or with the law.These episodes are very entertaining and are in some ways better than what gets shown on TV today.I brought this DVD to add to my collection and I really like watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Series, 22 May 2015
By 
Biff - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovejoy gets into his stride in this second series.

Now showings its age a little but a very nostalgic trip is guaranteed for all fans.

Outside scenes are like a bygone era.

Classic family viewing for Sunday evenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 3 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was great to see the old rogue up to his tricks again.Lovejoy was a very good series ,funny ,serious ,emotional and of course superbly written and acted.I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As seen on TV, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Lovejoy episodes - gentle stories about a rougish antique dealer. Not really much more to say - very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all was good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews