Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Joke's finest hour, 26 Oct 2009
By 
C. Wareham "the bass thing" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Time (Audio CD)
While the early Joke albums are brilliant in their own way, it was with Night Time that they created their truly classic album. The harsh, riffing guitars are still there, as are the hypnotic rhythms from the bass and drums. But added to this are a new sophistication in the song writing, with increased emphasis on synths and melodic vocals. Although the follow up album was perhaps a bit too synth lead and the vocals a bit too conventional, here the band find a perfect balance between their earlier punkiness and a new found accessibility. The obvious stand out track is the hit single Love Like Blood, but almost every track could have been a single as they are all so strong. The remastered CD, with a good selection of session and non-album tracks makes this an essential buy even if you already own the original release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great re-issue of a great album, 4 May 2011
This review is from: Night Time (Audio CD)
Not much to say really. This was, in my opinion, their best album. Virtually every track is a classic and the production is great too. The re-mastering has been done well and the sound quality is great, without losing the feel of the original album.
My only criticism, with both the original vinyl release and subsequent re-issues, is the muffled sound on the classic 'Eighties', compared to the crisp, clean mix of the 7" release which is so much more powerful. I hoped that this would be resolved with the re-mastered version but sadly it wasn't. Hopefully one day they'll re-master the 7" version of this (and the 7" cut of 'Love Like Blood') to complete the set of re-mastered classics.
Otherwise, I cannot fault the album - this is essential listening and a must-have for all fans of real music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night Time- Killing Joke, 3 July 2009
By 
Be Bop (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Time (Audio CD)
A truly superb album by one of this countries best ever bands. Although released in the mid eighties it still stands the test of time. As fresh today as it was 20 odd years ago. Night Time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as a new release...., 4 Mar 2008
By 
N. J. Duerden (BISHOPS STORTFORD, HERTS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Time (Audio CD)
As someone who had bought this album on CD first time round I have to say the most striking impression with this re-release is the re-mastered sound-and also reflect how poor the mastering is on many CD issues from the late 80s.

The vocals are clearer,the drumming louder and the guitars in particular sound sharper.

The bonus tracks are worthy enough reason to purchase this album-some excellent BBC session material and the highlight for me being the Dub mix of Kings and Queens-louder vocals and bass.

In addition more comprehensive sleeve notes than the previous re-issues complete the overall package.

As I type this review Jaz Coleman has just announced live dates later this year with the original KJ line-up! -The Joke live on....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night time, 7 Jan 2011
By 
R. Lynn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Time (Audio CD)
Not as raw as the earlier albums, but this is a band that never sold out to commercialism. The dominant, angry drum beats are still very much there, but without the real rough edges from previous releases (most notably revelations). They will never top the excellent first album, but this is a different and progressive album which is definately recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Their most commericial success, 30 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Time (Audio CD)
This album marked the high water mark for Killing Joke in terms of commercial success. The tremendous 'Love Like Blood' being the absolute summit, both commercially and creatively. Other favourites for me are 'Kings and Queens' and 'Eighties'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Time (MP3 Download)
Love this album, if you like 80's alternative music (The Cure, The Cult or Echo and the Bunnymen)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 80's post-punk, 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Time (Audio CD)
Great band, great album. Hugely underrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Time
Night Time by Killing Joke (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews