Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Queen Concert
I have seen a few other Queen DVDs and have a penchant for concert Blu Rays in general so I had high expectations going into this. Queen Rock Montreal not only lived up to my expectations but in many areas exceeded them. Not only is the concert filmed just before the synthesizers-period, with the band absolutely playing the hell out of their instruments, but the technical...
Published on 13 Jun 2011 by Gentlegiantprog

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Audio problem
Ok, first the pros:

Fantastic clear picture quality from the Montreal gig (Live aid/rehearsal footage is not HD quality).
Queen are clearly on form in this gig, with Freddie's vocals being some of the best I've heard from his live performances. He goes for a lot of the high notes from the records that he usually substitutes in other concerts. There's not...
Published on 6 July 2011 by BrassEye


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Queen Concert, 13 Jun 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Montreal & Live Aid [Blu-Ray] [2008] [2007] (Blu-ray)
I have seen a few other Queen DVDs and have a penchant for concert Blu Rays in general so I had high expectations going into this. Queen Rock Montreal not only lived up to my expectations but in many areas exceeded them. Not only is the concert filmed just before the synthesizers-period, with the band absolutely playing the hell out of their instruments, but the technical aspects of the concert recording are top notch too, leaving the whole thing great in all departments.

The sound quality is absolutely superb, crystal clear and very big, which really brings to attention all the skill and virtuosity with which Queen played the gig, and that's not just the mix but the recording quality itself too.

The video, which is of course excellent in the main concert, has been scrutinized and cleaned up on the original 35mm prints before being re-scanned for maximum quality, there is even a fairly detailed description of the process in the linear notes. Consequently, the concert looks amazing and clear in a way no other Queen concert does as of yet.

In terms of the concert itself, there is no question of quality whatsoever. Queen are absolutely electric and deliver a wide array of some of their hardest and heaviest material in about as energetic and impressive a performance as has been captured on film, and mix it up with a few quieter numbers for balance and variety, leaving a full and complete Queen concert experience.

The band don't even just stick to the big radio hits either, playing material such as 'Dragon Attack,' 'Get Down Make Love,' and 'Sheer Heart Attack,' that you wouldn't necessarily expect in with the 'Bohemian Rhapsody,' and 'Under Pressure,' level songs.

The highlights for me were the excellent performance of 'I'm In Love With My Car,' with Roger both singing masterfully and nailing the drum fills to perfection as well as their fast and hard rendition of early number 'Keep Yourself Alive.'

The band's performance is excellent, the track listing is excellent and the audio visual quality is excellent. What more could you possibly ask for in a concert Blu Ray ?

In terms of extras, you get commentary from Brian and Roger, A hilariously bad 80s TV special on Queen, An interesting rehearsal/interview for Live Aid and of course the excellent Live Aid performance itself, which doesn't even require describing it is that well regarded.

Overall I highly recommend this product, I enjoy a lot of Live Concert DVDs and Blu Rays and this is definitely one of the finest I've come across, especially if you like the harder rock side of Queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply awesome!, 3 Jan 2011
By 
G. Hill "bujin1977" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock Montreal & Live Aid [Blu-Ray] [2008] [2007] (Blu-ray)
I'm stunned! If it wasn't for the clothing and hairstyles, the fact that Freddie left us 19 years ago and that the surviving members are obviously looking a lot older now, you could be forgiven for thinking this footage was recorded only last year rather than almost 30 years ago! The picture and sound quality is absolutely superb, and of course, the concert itself was fantastic. If you like Queen (and you have a blu ray player), there really is no excuse for not owning this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Oct 2007
By 
S. A. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This concert footage is fantastic and shows a great hard rock performance. All band members are on excellent form and deliver a great show. The bonus Live Aid footage is also amazing, arguably the best live performance ever made by any band.
I wish Queen would consider releasing some earlier concerts such as Earls Court or Houston 1977.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is excellent......, 1 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. J. D. Pow (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recommend it unreservedly, especially as this is video documentary of the last time Queen ever played as a 4 piece band. It is also unique in that it is the only Queen gigs ever performed with the main reason for it to be filmed (stage, lighting, crew etc had to be re-assembled for this). They have done the best they can with the visuals - no luxury of beng able to re-edit it as Mr Swimmer & Co. decided not to keep anything that hit the cutting room floor.

Oh and for those of you 'concerned' about the Live Aid footage/royalties etc. I qoute from Dr. May's website:

"It goes without saying that we are putting the LIVE AID stuff on the DVD because it's great, and we're proud of it, and it's good for the value and visibility of the disc, but also because it will make lots of money for Bob's LIVE AID. We actually didn't want to be SELLING the DVD by using any kind of 'moral blackmail' - like ..... "Every copy bought makes money for starving Children in Africa". No. That was a decision. We'd rather people bought it because they loved it for its own sake. We've taken this opportunity to put some bits of that event, which made that moment in time, out there for the first time, that have never been seen before, plus getting the maximum quality out of the original video take ... But rest assured that Bob Geldof's continuing LIVE AID work will be benefiting very well indeed!!!

Cheers
Bri"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old Albatross gets a wonderful revamp!!, 25 Mar 2008
This DVD is "Queen Rock Montreal & Live Aid", the Live Aid bit lasts around 15 minutes and is Queen's set in the afternoon and Brian and Freddie playing "Is this the world we created?", there are also the odd interview and some rehearsal footage here, these bits however should be seen as "extras", the main event is the 2 concerts filmed in Montreal in 1981.

Any one who is a Queen fan, probably has the "We Will Rock You" video or DVD, well this is the exact same film, but the quality in High Definition is astounding. The band apparently did not enjoy making this, they also did not own it, apparently they now do, and this HD DVD is a Queen Production. If you need any proof it is created by Queen, listen to the commentary supplied by Taylor and May, to get an insight into the 2 concerts and the events surrounding it.

Like I said previously the quality is astounding, the picture has been greatly improved, this was always one of my least favourite videos of Queen as I thought the quality was quite awful, this has been more than resolved. The sound quality is also now excellent.

So in summary, if you have the old version of this release I would advise you to definitely buy this version to get a true feeling of the concerts. It has been turned from something I would probably have never watched again into a truly great Queen concert experience, and for that it gets 5 stars.

Cheers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have For Queen Fans, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: Rock Montreal & Live Aid [Blu-Ray] [2008] [2007] (Blu-ray)
This blu-ray edition of queen rock Montreal may not be my favourite concert but this is queen on top form and features all of their hits up to that time.The picture quality is impressive given the age of the footage,its crisp with vibrant colour and stands up to most hd films out at the moment,but i think the sound is what really stands out and if you have the required system it picks out every detail as if you were there.The live aid footage is not the same quality however and i was disappointed that its in standard definition.The extras on the disc will keep most happy and Overall i would say this is a must have for fans and those looking for a quality addition to their blu-ray music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen rock Montreal/live aide 1981, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Rock Montreal & Live Aid [Blu-Ray] [2008] [2007] (Blu-ray)
Come on all you Queen fans this is a worthy DVD/Blue ray to add to your collection. The remastered disc do it more than justice vibrant colours and a soundtrack that does it more than justice Queen. Freddy Mercury at there very best all ways the showman fantastic way to spend a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Concert, 21 Oct 2007
By 
Glenn Piper (Hastings, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
So far I have only seen clips, but they are excellent. As to JJ's comments regarding the performance and the guitar playing of Brian may, well lets just say he needs a hearing aid or he watched a completely different band.
The audience response even in the clips is sufficient to disprove the comments of JJ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary!, 28 Jan 2009
By 
Hugo Rune (Ealing, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rock Montreal & Live Aid [Blu-Ray] [2008] [2007] (Blu-ray)
Where to start? As a long time Queen fan I thought I had enjoyed as much as possible of the bands music and performances... I was wrong! This Blu-Ray DVD just blew me away! The picture (only on my 32" HD Ready TV) is ... a m a z i n g !!! Hard to believe this was 1981! Never have I seen Freddie and the boys look so crystal clear on TV! Add to that the amazing stage light show throughout the concert, the colours and images just ooze off the screen! I could not stop smiling! :-)

The performance itself is great, a very polished and tight performance. A kind of one off gig (not part of a tour). Includes their first ever live performance of Under Pressure. Some great versions of Save Me , Play The Game and Dragon Attack. The sound is great, but (as ever) recommend a surround sound system. The DVD extras are again ...a m a z i n g ! : Audio commentary with Brian and Roger (very funny), an 1982 American interview and of course the Live Aid performance with DTS option (including the rehearsal). I now hope to god they release more Queen concerts/videos (especially "Rare Live" or "Wembley") onto Blu-Ray format!

If you enjoy the music of Queen and have a Blu-Ray player then this is a total must! I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed this DVD. Im soon to buy a Full HD 40" TV - can it really get better??? I .. cannot .. wait!

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Blu Ray, 25 Jun 2009
By 
R. P. Utting "Rog" (Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock Montreal & Live Aid [Blu-Ray] [2008] [2007] (Blu-ray)
As a Queen fan, I was excited to see this on blu-ray. But, as others have commented already, I was stunned by the quality of the footage. The sound is a joy, as you'd hope, but the picture is just stunning. A great advert for Concerts on Blu-Ray. And with the Live Aid set (possibly Freddie's finest moment) as an extra, this is a mut have for all Queen fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock Montreal & Live Aid [Blu-Ray] [2008] [2007]
19.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews