Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars141
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2011
All I can say is this is one of the funniest comedy shows I have seen in a good long time! Lee and Tim work so well together, timing is perfect and the gags are masterfully executed! Full of quotable banter and witty one liners. The first series is worth anyone's money! Just give it a go and Im sure you will agree.....Funny stuff!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
If you like quick fire whit and sarcasm then this comedy really works.
Lee Mack and Tim Vine are best friends and the perfect odd couple. A successful yuppie accountant from the south and a workshy slob from the north sets the perfect background for some great gags and the kind of jibes that only real friends can get away with. Add to that Tim's American ex girlfriend who is also Lee's flat mate/land lady, played by Megan Dodds whom Lee has a thing for but wont admit it and you even have some mild sexual tension and a will they wont they situation.
The one liners are plentiful and the visual gags great too.
A good reason to stay in.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
This is an excellent comedy series which has a fairly simple premise based on the relationship between the three main characters, but which excels because of the witty dialogue. If you thought the art of clever puns was dead - it's not! It's alive and well in this comedy. However, it's not just the great dialogue - there is also a lot of warmth here, especially the friendship between Lee Mack and Tim Vine. Be warned though - it's a different female lead than in series 2 and 3 - that did throw me a little (having missed the first series on TV) but actually the dynamics work well, although personally I prefer the actress in 2 and 3.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
As it says on the box, see title, no it doesn't. There is one Out-Takes, Not Going Right episode missing where Lee, Sally and Katy present it from the set.
Most of the blips and blops from that episode are shown on the other Out-Take episodes found on the other disks, but not the presenting parts and gags. Katy Wix as Sharon Stone, Bobby Ball stuck back in the wardrobe etc.
I'm just pointing out that there is a good 30 minute episode of Not Going Right missing.
Apart from that this was well worth the pre-order price.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
Lee mack is a comedy genius, hundreds of constant gags all through out the show.

I defiantly recommend this, its for all ages and if you don't laugh there is something wrong with you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Lee Mack must be one of the most inderrated comedians and script writers in the country."Not going out" is without doubt one of the finest comedy series of the last decade.It's comedy originates from superior script writing and will appeal to those who like brilliant dialogue. What a clever "wordsmith" Lee Mack is,atlast we have humour for the intelligentsia.The supporting actors are a triumph of casting. Truly world class.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
The First series started by totally underimpressing me. I couldn't engage with the american female lead character in the same way as with Tim's sister from the second series. However I stuck with it and she grew on me quite quickly. Tim and Lee are as quick witted and funny as always, so overall I would fully recommend this to fans of the second series. Have watched it twice already so can't say better than that
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2009
I missed Season One on TV and only caught up with Not Going Out when Season 2 came on, already a fan of the show, I got the DVD and thought I'd just have a look at the first episode see if it was as funny going backwards in the history of the show - some three hours later and the entire Season One watched, my face was aching from laughter. Fantastic program, would recommend to anyone!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
Great box set
Arrived today
Contains all 7 Series in 3 DVD Cases inside a box
The First case contains Series 1-3
The Second case contains Series 4-5
The Third case contains Series 6-7
The disc in this set are the same as the seperate releases you can buy.. apart from Series 6 Disc 2 which contains The House Christmas Special

Not Going Out is a Five star comedy full of laughs that is a joy to watch and I would recommend to others
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2009
No sooner had I discovered Not Going Out the series finished on the BBC so I turned to Amazon and viewed the first series almost in one sitting. True well written comedy and beautifully played by Lee Mack and his supporting team, can't wait for the next series, in the meantime I shall be going back to Amzon for Series 2.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)