Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great realisation of Jack wandering the realm of madness
This is another spectacular film, stunning conceptualisation, and great conclusion. Firstly, the incredible conceptual realisation of Jack Sparrow wandering the Realms of Madness in the Domain of Davey Jones' Locker. This alone is worthy of 4 of the 5 gold stars. The deeper reality of how lost souls are bound to the corrupted Flying Dutchman is amazingly well done. The...
Published on 22 Oct 2007 by Passionate Eclectic_Collector

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It looks good but that is the best feature
I quite liked the first movie but wasn't so keen in the sequel. I have to say that this is the worst of the three.

It starts off OK with two of the main characters trying to find their way to Davey Jones Locker to bring back Jack Sparrow who died at the end of the second film. Then after about half an hour we see Jack in said locker. However you don't just get...
Published on 25 Mar 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It looks good but that is the best feature, 25 Mar 2008
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean 3 : At World's End (2 Disc Special Edition) Limited Edition With Character Art Cards (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] (DVD)
I quite liked the first movie but wasn't so keen in the sequel. I have to say that this is the worst of the three.

It starts off OK with two of the main characters trying to find their way to Davey Jones Locker to bring back Jack Sparrow who died at the end of the second film. Then after about half an hour we see Jack in said locker. However you don't just get one jack but dozens, admittedly one is real and all the others are imaginary. If you like the Jack Sparrow character you might enjoy this scene, however I found it extremely irritating with the only saving grace being that it doesn't last that long. What follows is an extremely rambling plot leading to a final confrontation between two armadas of ships, one consisting of various pirate groups and the other the english, (I think), forces trying to rid the seas of all pirates.

To make any real sense of it all you need to have seen the first two films, but even then it is possible to get lost amongst all the plot twists and double dealing. In all truth I pretty much gave up bothering with the plot after about an hour or so as I just lost interest in it.

Having said that there are things to enjoy. Notably, it is spectacular in places and the special effects are certainly good enough. There are some humourous moments, but not it has to be said, very many.

In all I would say do not buy this movie, rent it if you want to see it. It is at least half an hour too long and the plot could do with a lot of trimmming down as it is way to flabby and self indulgent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointing End, 19 April 2008
By 
Mr. T. Ashwood (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean 3 : At World's End (2 Disc Special Edition) Limited Edition With Character Art Cards (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] (DVD)
After the excitement of the first two instalments of Pirates of the Caribbean, I sat with eager anticipation at what the third one would bring to our screens.

The idea of introducing the war lords was an interesting one, and did provide for some amusement throughout the film, but the overall story line was muddled and slow to take off. Following on from Captain Jack's antics the plot split into different sub-groups, focusing on the love affair between Will Turner and Elizabeth, and on the so called `great war,' between the Pirate Warlords and the British Redcoats. Credit has to be given to the stunning special effects which can be witnessed throughout and provide the viewer with plenty of action. The representation of the British is as always well researched, although more of a storyline could have been given to them.

In concluding, I would say that out of all three this was by far the hardest to follow and although helped by special effects, the main storyline was lost in a maze of sub-plots. A disappointing end to the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a sequel too far, 6 Mar 2008
By 
Beth Thornton (West Midlands, Uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean 3 : At World's End (2 Disc Special Edition) Limited Edition With Character Art Cards (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] (DVD)
After the first excellent "Pirates" film and a very enjoyable second one, I was eagerly looking forward to seeing how the story would be tied-up in this third and final part. What we got, however, was just badly thought out and far-fetched rubbish set in a complete fantasy world which I could barely keep up with.

It is little more than three hours of elaborate special effects, hashed together without the support of any kind of credible script. By half way through, I was completely lost as to what was going on and falling asleep because it is impossible to keep up with who is dead and who is alive or who is on who's side! It is also gratuitously over-violent. I thought maybe my understanding would improve as I watched it again, but sadly after several attempts I am still none the wiser. It is also way too long - three hours was unnecessary.

The characters are mostly the same, with a few added. Orlando Bloom's character seems to get completely lost and lacks the depth of the earlier Will Turner, and Elizabeth has become an oddly-dressed tomboy. Of course, the best is still Jack Sparrow, played hilariously by the marvellous Johnny Depp.

A very disappointing end to what should have been a great trilogy. If this is the best the writers could come up with then they should have left it at two films. Or maybe even just the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great realisation of Jack wandering the realm of madness, 22 Oct 2007
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean 3 : At World's End (2 Disc Special Edition) Limited Edition With Character Art Cards (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] (DVD)
This is another spectacular film, stunning conceptualisation, and great conclusion. Firstly, the incredible conceptual realisation of Jack Sparrow wandering the Realms of Madness in the Domain of Davey Jones' Locker. This alone is worthy of 4 of the 5 gold stars. The deeper reality of how lost souls are bound to the corrupted Flying Dutchman is amazingly well done. The way the loose ends from the earlier films are sorted out and tied off is masterful. Bringing in the Calypso Mythos was novel, and very well done. And the final twist, involving THE Pirate's Life for one of the lead characters, is really compelling. This is another worthy example of a "fantasy film for youngsters" for adults. If anyone makes the mistake of thinking the plot is erratic, then they are obviously a) not paying attention, and b) expecting modern films to be made for people whose lips move when they read - which this is not. Nevertheless it doesn't try to be anything more than outrageously larger-than-life entertainment. There are many levels of humour, twists, and stings, and, in the main, the sharp witty script which we have come to expect. Worth watching again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean 3 : At World's End (2 Disc Special Edition) Limited Edition With Character Art Cards (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my 12 year old for Christmas last year. She absolutely loved it and is still watching it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars johnny depp, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean 3 : At World's End (2 Disc Special Edition) Limited Edition With Character Art Cards (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] (DVD)
johnny depps number one fan and am aiming to collect every one of his films and the store to hel[p me is amazon - i'll be back for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A watchable follow on., 14 Oct 2009
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean 3 : At World's End (2 Disc Special Edition) Limited Edition With Character Art Cards (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] (DVD)
As with many sequels, they rarely match the original in term of watchability. The original, in this case will never be matched, however this one does a good attempt, and is considerably darker in terms of story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So long I fell asleep, 24 Dec 2007
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean 3 : At World's End (2 Disc Special Edition) Limited Edition With Character Art Cards (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] (DVD)
The third installment of Pirates goes on and on for nearly 3 hours. It could quite happily have lost an hour of this with some judicious editing, perhaps then it would have made a bit more sense. It's a shame because I enjoyed the first two films. Perhaps the producers will do another one and redeem themselves. They certainly can't get any worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Review, 14 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean 3 : At World's End (2 Disc Special Edition) Limited Edition With Character Art Cards (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] (DVD)
The film is outstanding, it surpasses the brilliant sequel Dead Man's Chest. Bill Nighy once again performs superbly as Davy Jones with Orlando Bloom as Will Turner, Keira Nightley as Elizabeth Swann, Geoffrey Rush as Captain Hector Barbossa and of course the infamous Captain Jack Sparrow played by Johnny Depp putting in performances beyond our expectations - action packed, thrilling, just the best ever Pirates of the Caribbean. You can bet that the DVD will be packed with all the extra goodies we have come to expect of the Pirates Saga. The pre-order is a must - especially at this price you can't fault it! Watch out for Keith Richards of Rolling Stones fame playing Captain Teague keeper of the Pirate Codex and Jacks Father - fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 21 Jun 2008
By 
C. Jones "clivey007" (Stokenchurch) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean 3 : At World's End (2 Disc Special Edition) Limited Edition With Character Art Cards (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a bad bad film. Oh my god it's too long. Oh my god, did anyone think of writing a script worth following? It has no plot. I didn't care what happened to any of the characters. I couldn't be bothered to try to work out who was good, and who was bad. My bum ached. Please don't give any more money to the people who produced this. They shouldn't be rewarded for it. And most of the acting is shocking. Don't say I didn't warn you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews