Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "There is NO violence here!"
Callous, cruel and cold-hearted best summarises the 1979 British film `Scum', starring Ray Winstone who portrays the role of Carlin; a prisoner transferred to a borstal in London. His character depicts the role of many inmates at the time, where prison systems endorsed a much harsher treatment to their inmates as a form of punishment. The film follows the character of...
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars dvd scum
when I received this item I didn't unwrap it for ages, but when I did it was faulty, I didn't make a complaint about it as it was my own fault!
Published 8 months ago by RAGGA


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If You'd Been There, You'd Know, 2 Mar 2004
By A Customer
Ok, so it's not the greatest acting that we are ever likely to see, but it does come across pretty acurate of the atmosphere and feelings you would get in this kind of evironment, yes they are amplified because most of the viewers havn't been there so the amplification is for their benefit. But it is a good, entertaining and above all classic movie. Ray Winstone plays a great part and all TV fans will enjoy the parts played by other (by Now) classic British actors. It is cold, hard hitting, and unsettling in places but all in all a great british movie-- If you want to know what your mates are talking about when it's mentioned down the pub (and it is - frequently) buy this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A most engrosing epistle!, 24 Oct 2005
Scum is an excellent portrayal of the brutalization of young offenders in a borstal. There is way more to this film than violence though with some very entertaining and even funny scenes. Watch out for Archer taking the mick out of the ultra religious governer by converting to Islam. Look out for the "most 70's punch" depicted in any film, delivered by the warden with sideburns on Carlin right at the start. And also ponder on the effectiveness of snooker balls as an offensive weapon. A out and out classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible film, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The product itself is fine. Came quickly and no issues with it. However the film itself is horrible. It's boring and disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great movie; poor sound quality, 11 Oct 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an amazing, timeless picture. A typical english movie by the quality standards, supberb iterpretation from the kids. They manage to give a psychological depth in the level of "...cuco's nest". I can't recomend this enough.
Some down points though, but they have nothing to do with the art object itself: the sound quality is quite poor, as it is too low (and as everybody's aware PSP sound power is far from good...), and another issue, but that has to do with Amazon: I'm portuguese, and although I have no problem with the english language I like to buy movies that has subtitles (even in english) to give me some support in case of some hard accents (wich is the case). Amazon doesn't usualy state in the site whenever a movie has subtitles or not, and this hasn't got (almost every movie has the "english for the impaired", and I thought this one had too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scum [1979] [DVD] (DVD)
still a good film a British classic bought for nephew so new generation watching it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True British film..., 12 May 2009
By 
J. Adams (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scum [1979] [DVD] (DVD)
I can't believe it has took me this long to watch this film. I was hypnotized from start to finish.
This gritty film about life in a borstal is a must see. It is extremely violent with vivid fight scenes, suicide scenes and a rape scene but it depicts exatcly how life in a borstal would have been.

This is one of Winstone's first films and he plays a magnificent role.

Quick summary:
Winstone has been transferred from one borstal to another. He was the "daddy" at his old borstal but news travels fast and this new borstal intends on making sure his life is hell. He stays quiet and keeps to himself, but eventually things change and he takes control of the prison and becomes the "daddy". Along with other side stories of other inmates.

I would recommend this to anyone, whether or not they like violent films or not because this is truly one of the ebst films I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scum (not), 24 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a highly recommended film to see....was an absolutley bargin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4737 Carlin, Sir!, 29 Aug 2010
By 
J. Mather "Rock God" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scum [1979] [DVD] (DVD)
This film can be best summed up in three words:"Harrowing","depressing" and "violent"!
None of those descriptions take away from Scum it's brilliance at portraying the redundant lives of kids in borstal.
Ultra realistic throughout with Ray Winstone in his best role as Carlin the troublesome tearaway transferred from a different prison. His desire to do his time quietly is not to be and he forms alliances with other inmates against the "screws" and dormitory "Daddy" Banks. Along side this is the story of the lives of other inmates coping with a life inside existing as "a number lad, thats all you are..four digits!", under the tyrannical grip of the hard warders such as Mr Sands and Mr Greaves, meancingly played by the respective actors John Judd and Philip Jackson.
Unforgiving in its bleakness, Scum portrays the hopelessness of wasted youth and the harrowing life inside. The acting by the young cast is first rate, from cocky swagger(Banks) to vunerable innocence(Davis)you really believe in the characters.When 14 year old Davis is raped in the greenhouse-probably Britsh filmmaking's most controversial scene,one I cannot watch-your heart breaks. Equally a scene where Davis' cries for help are bluntly ignored by Mr Greaves leading to horrific consequences.
Alan Clarke is the master of gritty British cinema and Scum does have its lighter moments courtesy of the character Archer, but never turns into comedy, everything is laced with pathos.
Thirty years on this film has lost none of its shock or it's power.It doesn't preach to the viewer, there is no message, it stands out as an important film for it's day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scum [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Violence, but thats to be expected in this type of story line, good to watch, but a little overpriced for such an old vhs movie, which is shown in the star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great film a bit violent but I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scum [1979] [DVD]
Scum [1979] [DVD] by Alan Clarke (DVD - 2007)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews