Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Think when I speak of minis
Another reviewer rates this as 'two' because Alien is much better than all of these films.

Quite right, Alien is much better, but competing with Alien is not what they set out to do! To judge it on this basis would be like saying that a Mini is no good as a car because it couldn't beat Lewis Hamilton's F1 vehicle in a race.

Instead, judge it against...
Published on 6 Nov 2008 by Ian Watters

versus
4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Misery Continues
Following on from Series 1 and considering the work that went into this series the end results are still the same - slick but uninspiring.
The entries are as follows:

Pelts(Dir Dario Argento)Not as bad as Jenifer but it is close.Meat Loaf stars as a furrier who "inherits" some raccon pelts from a sadistic trapper and creates a coat which has the habit...
Published on 9 July 2008 by Mark Pearce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Think when I speak of minis, 6 Nov 2008
By 
Ian Watters "lovingboth" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masters Of Horror: Series 2 Volume 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Another reviewer rates this as 'two' because Alien is much better than all of these films.

Quite right, Alien is much better, but competing with Alien is not what they set out to do! To judge it on this basis would be like saying that a Mini is no good as a car because it couldn't beat Lewis Hamilton's F1 vehicle in a race.

Instead, judge it against what it is: a TV series boxed set, and realise that what you're getting here are seven films by, gasp, 'masters of horror' for the price of one. Their combined budgets were probably less than that of Alien (or at least what Alien would cost today) and one of the commentaries mentions having just a handful of days to do all the shooting.

All are worth watching - I even liked the genuinely creepy Poe another reviewer rates as the weakest - and some are very good. I can also recommend the commentaries. (John, well done for not trying to kill your co-commentating script writers with your addiction, but if you can't go 30 minutes without leaving for a cigarette break, something's seriously wrong.)

The main reason for deducting a star is the absence of any subtitles. When the scripts are included (in PDF format for people with DVD readers on their PCs) there really is no excuse for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection of horror tales, 3 Mar 2008
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters Of Horror: Series 2 Volume 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This box set is what I wanted from a series with such a promising title; there are some truly great stories here.
The opener Pelts (Dario Argento) is about the fur trade and a curse that follows the slaying of a family of raccoons. There are some pretty nasty death scenes here which reflect the ways in which animals are trapped and killed for their fur. Argento himself is adamant it is non-political.
The second Pro-Life (John Carpenter) starts out as a simple anti-abortion tale but there is a surprise twist and the birth scene is so reminiscent of a famous scene from Carpenter's classic The Thing.
Family (John Landis) is absolutely brilliant as loner Harold (George Wendt) gets himself a family like Norman Bates might have done and soon has eyes for the wife of his new next door neighbour. Landis also has a great twist at the end and a different one to what I thought was coming.
Right to Die (Rob Schmidt) where a woman is barely alive after a car crash but when they try to switch off her life support....there is also a nice twist at the end, one that I never saw coming, this is the tale I thought may be weakest but I have to admit Schmidt pulls it off brilliantly.
The Screwfly Solution (Joe Dante) is a nice apocalyptic tale as a virus turns men into homicidal misogynists which the title ties in to the way in which the Screwfly was eradicated. Thanks for avoiding an all's well that ends well ending, it would not have worked as well.
The Black Cat (Stuart Gordon) based on the Poe tale is the one that does not meet the high standards of the others here. It's not that it is a bad show but the others are just so much better. Jeffrey Combs portrayal of Poe did not work for me but the story itself is mostly faithful to the spirit of Poe's tale.
The closing tale Valerie on the Stairs (Mick Garris) is a great atmospheric tale that starts off like a ghost story set in a house filled with failed writers but soon gets far creepier, hardly surprising as the story is by Clive Barker, and the final ending is a mind-blower.
The extras have been trimmed from what the first series may have led you to suspect but that is a good thing as it takes away the element of repetition, what you get here are a making of film for each episode, commentaries and documentaries on special effects or editing which varies depending on the episode.
I recommend this collection to all horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Most Consistant Volume of Masters, 19 Mar 2013
This review is from: Masters Of Horror: Series 2 Volume 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Masters of Horror, Series 2 Vol 1 is the most pleasing and consistant volume of how the box sets have been delivered here in Europe. Of course in reality this is the first 7 episodes of season 2- but to make a quick buck Starz Media and co chopped the seasons in half.

What we get here are seven episodes- here is a run down.

Pelts- A story about catching racoons for fur, and starring MeatLoaf? This episode on paper should not work, but it does. I forgot to mention that the excellent John Saxon also stars, although only for a brief moment. Pelts is a good story, with a sharp script, full of eerie moments. But the clincher for gorehounds will be the blood. And oh my does it flow- Think a woman stiching up her own face( and camera lingers), think a man getting his head bashed in with a baseball bat, think a man committing suicide by placing his head in a racoon trap, and think of lots of tearing skin. Well up there with Cigartette Burns, Jenifer and Imprint as one of the goriest episodes ever.

Pro Life directed by one of my favourite directors is next up, that director being John Carpenter. What we have on board is Carpenter directing, the same writers for Cigarette Burns, which I regard as the greatest episode of Masters and Ron Perlman acting. What we get is something that isn't bad but isn't good either. The first half is very smooth and it's always a joy watching an angry Ron Perlman in full flow. Pro Life deals with the rights and wrongs of abortion. In other words this episode much like Carpenters latter career was effectively erased from Americans. That doesn't bother me, but what does is that we end up with in all fairness a silly story. The characters are unlikeable- especially the doctors, who lock themselves away but leave a woman by herself to face a demon. The direction is fair enough- but the writing is borderline awful, and lazy. A shame.

Family brings MOH back on form- with a superb starring role for George Wendt, better known as Norm from Cheers. Here he plays a typical American surburbian guy, but he has plenty of family secrets. This is a well thought out story- and very hard to dislike. The ending whilst clearly being over the top is also a fine twist, that you won't see coming. A good solid entry- oh and watch out for the first two minutes, genius directing by John Landis.

Right to Die is fairly harrowing- involving a woman who is seriously burnt in a car crash and how her husband now must deal with the fact. It is again a solid episode, filled with wonderful acting, mostly method but who cares?

The Screwfly Solution is like marmite, you either love or hate it, and I love it. The plot revolves around men killing every woman on the planet. Sure thats horrific but this is a horror show. What sets this apart from a failure is the dreaded atmosphere and very black humour throughout the episode. Directed by Joe Dante and starring ex Beverly Hills moaner Jason Preistly, I was really impressed with this episode- It's daring, intelligent and works.

Now to the best episode on the set- The Black Cat. There is nothing wrong here- all is perfect. Jeffrey Combs stars as Edgar Allen Poe, and his likeness is simply uncanny. The acting by all is very good, and the atmosphere is superb- almost shot in a sepia way. Director Stuart Gordon is a huge fan of Lovecraft and Poe and has done a wonderful job here. It is able to keep you gripped. Gorehounds should be satisfied too. One of the best episodes of the entire series.

Finally series creator Mick Garris directs Valerie on the Stairs. This didn't fly with me, and thats a shame, because for the first quarter of an hour this was very good and scary. An eerie piece soon turns into a forgetable piece. We see too much interaction from the ghosts, and not even Christopher Lloyd and Tony Todd can save it. It's ironic because for me Garris the brains behind the show has come up with the two worst episodes so far, in this effort and Chocolate.

The extras as always are plentiful. You get about 8 hrs here. Vol 2 is brillint viewing- with four stand out episodes, two decent efforts and one stinker. Here is my ranking.

1. The Black Cat 5/5
2. The Screwfly Solution 4/5
3. Pelts 4/5
4. Family 4/5
5. Right to Die 3/5
6. Pro Life 3/5
7. Valerie on the Stairs 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Series, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters Of Horror: Series 2 Volume 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I dont know english very well.
Very beatifull Good Series... Good box...You sent very quickly ...Tank you very much... See you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 14 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Masters Of Horror: Series 2 Volume 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Series two of this truly devastating series of one hour long movies is just cool. 7 horror movies directed by the greatest names in horror today including John Carpenter, Dario Argento John Landis and Stuart Gordon. Masters of Horror series two cannot be praised enough there is enough scares, shocks and gore and nudity here to please even the worst horror buff including myself. Valerie on the Stairs and Pelts are among my personal favorites of this series so far. I cannot wait for the second part to series 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent horror tv show great DVD better than the NTSC version, 16 Sep 2010
By 
Terence Tan Co "tetsuo79" (Vancouver) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters Of Horror: Series 2 Volume 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Well the DVD is better than the NTSC version due to the awesome PAL video. And the clincher is that its cheaper. 15 CAN$ compared to 30 CAN$s. And better video too boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Misery Continues, 9 July 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters Of Horror: Series 2 Volume 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Following on from Series 1 and considering the work that went into this series the end results are still the same - slick but uninspiring.
The entries are as follows:

Pelts(Dir Dario Argento)Not as bad as Jenifer but it is close.Meat Loaf stars as a furrier who "inherits" some raccon pelts from a sadistic trapper and creates a coat which has the habit of.....Poor acting( a trademark that of the whole MoH oeuvre and probably its biggest drawback),
dull story and excessive gore sink this clunker.

Pro-Life(Dir John Carpenter)
Young teenager gets trapped at an isolated women's clinic with her headcase father Ron Perlman and her three brothers determined to get in and stop her abortion of....Yucky,silly story that after a tidy opening goes kind of where you expect it.

Family(Dir John Landis)
Not a patch on Landis' entry in series 1.George Wendt plays a delusional psycho whose idea of the perfect family is not yours or mine.He sees fresh meat with the arrival of new neighbours but are they quite what they seem?.Heavy handed with intrusive music,little suspense but a funny if obvious ending.

Right to Die(Dir Rob Schmidt)
The ever watchable Martin Donovan gives this tale its meat as the husband who survives a car accident that basically burns his wife to "death".
However she is reluctant to go quietly and her spirit goes a visiting.Not bad but it plays it's hand too early.

The Screwfly Solution(Dir Joe Dante)
A "virus" is spreading across the world driving men to kill women.Two scientists Jason Priestly and Elliott Gould think they may have developed a cure but it isn't long before fate comes a knocking at their door.Decent story here presented with imagination and wit with a nice feel to it let down by too literal and downbeat an ending.

The Black Cat(Dir Stuart Gordon)
Jeffrey Combs does okay as Edgar Allan Poe who lapses into drink and melancholy when the world rejects his poetry.His young wife is dying of consumption and the cat doesn't seem too fond of him.Good atmosphere and story are done in by one too many endings.Be warned - if you are very fond of cats you may wish to avert your eyes at two key moments.

Valerie On The Stairs(Dir Mick Garris)
Self indulgent but creepy tale based on Clive Barker short story about a house for unpublished writers which is haunted by a woman borne from the collective will of the resident writers.Unfortunately her "paramour"is the beast between the walls,Tony Todd reprising his Candyman role.Okay as far as it goes.

Production values are again first rate and a good range of extras.

As of writing,there are two other reviews posted for this set and while I don't doubt their veracity for a second, to give this set 5 stars is wildly over generous on any sensible level.Without being glib what would they give Alien - ostensibly a haunted house suspenser in space - which is better than this whole set put together.It does not deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masters Of Horror: Series 2 Volume 1 [2007] [DVD]
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews