Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really moving film for Ramones fans.
1234. I was a Ramones fan ever since I was young and got to see them in the 80's when Dee Dee was still with them.

We were lucky enough to watch this film with Marky Ramone himself in London when it came out. We even got to sit with him. At the time we had started a tribute band 'Ramones Clones' and he was really helpful with details about the kit and style of...
Published on 13 Mar 2010 by Martyn Tott Short Film Maker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars worth it just for the memorial service
The best thing about this dvd is the memorial service but even that unfortunately is slightly spoilt, as is the concert, by a trigger happy editor who believes that people have the attention span of rabid mice, and he cuts into Tommy Ramone's speech twice when that was the one guy who knew what he was talking about and deserved more respect.Musically the concert is ok but...
Published 13 months ago by Tando


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really moving film for Ramones fans., 13 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Tough To Die: A Tribute To Johnny Ramone [DVD] (DVD)
1234. I was a Ramones fan ever since I was young and got to see them in the 80's when Dee Dee was still with them.

We were lucky enough to watch this film with Marky Ramone himself in London when it came out. We even got to sit with him. At the time we had started a tribute band 'Ramones Clones' and he was really helpful with details about the kit and style of his playing.

When the cinema played the extras section instead of the movie they came in and apologised. Marky was so cool he just smiled and said something like 'It's okay, we'll all just chill here and have some coffee, no problem.'

The film itself was really moving as Johnny was in a bad way and it pivots around a gig with loads of great musicians doing Ramones songs including Marky, CJ, Henry Rollins, Eddie Vedder, Daniel Rey (Ramones Producer who plays like Johnny) intercut with interviews and footage, people like Debbie Harry and Joe Strummer talk about the band. If you loved the Ramones then this is a great film to add to the collection. It's sad now we've lost three of them and it covers the loss of the band members very poignantly .... however their music rocks on forever! They were the Beatles of their genre to me. Timeless.

Marky waited around afterward to meet fans and have pictures taken, really polite and cool! I got the DVD when it came out and we watched it as a band. I left the bass duties but the singer carried on in a new line up. It's not the real thing but Ramones Clones hope to keep the music alive for fans old and new!

Hey Ho Let's Go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a dry eye in the house, 16 Feb 2009
By 
T. Wilson "Mr T" (Dark side of the Moon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Too Tough To Die: A Tribute To Johnny Ramone [DVD] (DVD)
First class music and a very sad send off for a legend. What more could you ask for. This one is for hardcore Ramones fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, 31 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Too Tough To Die: A Tribute To Johnny Ramone [DVD] (DVD)
really amazing live with a variety of great artists... too shame the ramones got the recognition they deserved posthumously
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fitting Tribute to a Legend, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Tough To Die: A Tribute To Johnny Ramone [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is part documentary, part live show. Its really moving, even the hardiest would be left with a tear in their eye. A prefect companion to End of The Century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Tough To Die: A Tribute To Johnny Ramone [DVD] (DVD)
A great way for remembering one of the greatest punk guitarists of all time, mr. John Cummings a.k.a. Johnny Ramone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars worth it just for the memorial service, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Tough To Die: A Tribute To Johnny Ramone [DVD] (DVD)
The best thing about this dvd is the memorial service but even that unfortunately is slightly spoilt, as is the concert, by a trigger happy editor who believes that people have the attention span of rabid mice, and he cuts into Tommy Ramone's speech twice when that was the one guy who knew what he was talking about and deserved more respect.Musically the concert is ok but not great unless you like the distinctly average red hot chilli peppers and the even more distinctly average rancid and the less than distinctly average Henry Rollins. In fact the whole concert is spent seemingly trying to find a vocalist who can match Joey and sing a ramones song and do it justice. It improves when Marky and CJ come on and Steve Jones from the Sex pistols adds some quality to a very average line up. But the main thing was that it was a tribute and the people there were all friends of Johnny and he died 2 days later so it is very moving to see the interview snippets, albeit annoyingly edited. But this is a cheapo dvd now thanks to amazon so i would say buy it for the memorial service because it is very good for a ramones fan to see that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Tough To Die: A Tribute To Johnny Ramone [DVD] (DVD)
Good DVD for big ramones fans. Very sad footage of Johnny's funeral. Touching and full of great interviews and performances!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, fun and moving..., 1 Nov 2012
By 
David Calcano (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Too Tough To Die: A Tribute To Johnny Ramone [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVD to say goodbye to the great Johnny Ramone, with intercut interviews with Eddie Vedder, Steve Jones and the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Also the Ramones covers gig was just great! The Red Hot guys, built an incredible set of Ramones songs, they sang and played from the heart out of true love for their music, and you can see it in their performance.

Henry Rollins also provides a great performance, and insightful interviews. The whole event is MC'ed by Rob Zombie.

It also includes a short piece covering Johnny's funeral, very moving speeches by Eddie Vedder, John Frusciante and Rob Zombie. Incredible.

No Ramones collection is complete without this dvd, specially for this price tag!

Hey Ho! Lets Go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Tough To Die: A Tribute To Johnny Ramone [DVD] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Too Tough To Die: A Tribute To Johnny Ramone [DVD]
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews