Customer Reviews


580 Reviews
5 star:
 (313)
4 star:
 (120)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (63)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 300 - Impressive reimagining of the legend
The battle of Thermopylae has entered into legend as one of the greatest acts of courage and sacrifice, as 300 Spartan warriors lay down their lives in a battle against insurmountable odds in order to delay the Persian advance across Greece long enough for a proper defence to be mounted. Due to their self sacrifice the Persian threat was repulsed.

This film...
Published on 17 Jan. 2012 by Victor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Music, Art, Lighting, Drama - just like the Graphic Novel
Well, 3 Stars, 3 stars for Great Action and entertainment, good special effects and loads of gore.
Cheesy one liners, posturing and just loads of Fun. Great set pieces and drama, I also enjoyed the build up, the story and the climax.

I liked the fighting, the lighting is fantastic as is the art and costume - The movie really is worth watching for that...
Published on 8 Dec. 2007 by Ibraar 'Le Saracen'


‹ Previous | 147 48 4958 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!! But wait..., 10 April 2010
By 
Orly "Regular Buyer" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This filme is awesome! But it was US region which mean you cant play it on most UK players. I can only play it on my computer. As long as you are a aware of that you're good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really entertaining film, action packed and the effects are great. Plus you get to see an incredibly fit Gerard Butler running around in a loin cloth. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how can you not give this 5 stars!, 7 Jun. 2007
By 
A. T. Clough "cloughy_1" (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One word comes to mind...Brilliant....thats all that NEEDS to be said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For a horror/historical movie was good., 21 Mar. 2007
By 
V. K. Manglaveras (thessaloniki, greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
300 was a nice adaption of the comic in the big screen but still it's a historical movie which fails to tell the spartans story the way it should have. The only thing it does tell well is how the spartans were the greatest warriors of their time but besides that we get to see for an hour and a half blood battles and then more blood battles and then u know what we get to see ? Again more...blood batles combined with digital sceneries. Besides leonidas we don't have much of a character development and the movie suits more of a thriller movie than of a historical one.

A Good movie for what it was but nothing more. It will never be an epic one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Strictly for those who enjoy kitsch, 15 Jan. 2008
By 
U. Sinha "Umi Sinha" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Had I known at the start of this film that it was based on a comic book, I might have approached it differently. As it was, expecting a historical film set in the real world, it took me a while to adjust to the ham acting and exaggerated emotions, from the camped-up storytelling voice of Faramir from 'Lord of the Rings' to the cliched performances of the main actors. But the film did seem to be set in some sort of heightened reality, so I made allowances. However, when the giant mutants and the eight foot black gay pierced and painted Xerxes appeared, uttering camp threats, the thing descended into farce. Even my 17 year old son, who had chosen the film, kept exclaiming how bad it was. The credits at the end though, with graphics taken from the original comic (or so I presume), were great and I could see what had been intended. The images had an Eisenstein-like grandeur and style which the film itself totally lacked. What a pity they didn't just use the comic images with voiceovers and forget the real actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this film, 15 Feb. 2013
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film, Mmmm Mr Butler looks so good.. Lol.. The story line is good too, it's a good thing I have no boys and living in those times.. Lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Does That Work?, 24 July 2009
By 
ERM.......£38 ... you can buy this from Amazon.com for $27.99 which is about £17.01.. even with shipping... i know where i'll be buying it from!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Think about it for a minute!, 10 Jun. 2007
By 
R. A. Tranter "madspider" (broseley shropshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lots of people are reading far to much into this film first off it is just a simple action film think 80s action like commando and the other brainless action classics good to watch but not to study.

Secondly Frank Millers comic was inspired by the events and is a lot better than this film. Miller has wrote his tale in the same way the Greeks would have told it years after as a pro Greek story of their bravery and ability to beat the odds a good story for inspiring people!.

The biggest problem I have with this film is the director who was also responsible for Dawn of the Dead 2004 which is just a brainless action film nothing like the original,starting to see a pattern now.

So if you just sit back and unplug your brain you will probably love this film but if you want a history lesson read a book on the real battle. And as for the he-men in cloaks look at the greek art of the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper action film, 10 May 2013
By 
Stuart M. Gibb "firefoxx666" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is an Excellent film, one of my favourites of all time. Highly recommended. Make sure it's on your list to see before you die!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 147 48 4958 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

300 [2007] [DVD]
300 [2007] [DVD] by Zack Snyder (DVD - 2007)
£4.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews