Customer Reviews


580 Reviews
5 star:
 (313)
4 star:
 (120)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (63)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 300 - Impressive reimagining of the legend
The battle of Thermopylae has entered into legend as one of the greatest acts of courage and sacrifice, as 300 Spartan warriors lay down their lives in a battle against insurmountable odds in order to delay the Persian advance across Greece long enough for a proper defence to be mounted. Due to their self sacrifice the Persian threat was repulsed.

This film...
Published on 17 Jan. 2012 by Victor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Music, Art, Lighting, Drama - just like the Graphic Novel
Well, 3 Stars, 3 stars for Great Action and entertainment, good special effects and loads of gore.
Cheesy one liners, posturing and just loads of Fun. Great set pieces and drama, I also enjoyed the build up, the story and the climax.

I liked the fighting, the lighting is fantastic as is the art and costume - The movie really is worth watching for that...
Published on 8 Dec. 2007 by Ibraar 'Le Saracen'


‹ Previous | 1 2 358 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is SPARTA!, 15 July 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Frank Miller adaptations are on a roll. First we got "Sin City," and now we have the story of three hundred Spartans who repelled a massive invasion.

And the adaptation of "300" is a stunning one -- literally stunning, since it bombards the viewer with larger-than-life characters, smashing visuals and tight direction. It goes a bit too fast for its own good, but it's a truly epic film that takes the historical war movie to another level -- all the more so because it actually happened.

As the introduction tells us, the Spartans were the ultimate warrior people. Babies were inspected for weakness or faults, and killed if they had any; as they were growing up, they were taught and toughened by a savage regimen. Their only true hope was to "die beautifully" for their land.

A Persian messenger arrives, telling King Leonidas (Gerard Butler) that the god-king Xerxes (Rodrigo Santoro) wants the Spartans to bow to him. Leonidas' response: shove the Persians into a pit. But before he can go to war, he must consult the corrupt priesthood of Ephors and their beautiful Oracle. She predicts that Sparta will fall and the gods forbid war at the approach of the Carneaian festival -- courtesy of a hefty bribe from a Spartan traitor.

So Leonidas takes out three hundred of his best men, along with their nervy Arcadian allies, and begin trouncing the Persians. But they are being sabotaged, both by a hunchbacked outcast and by a treacherous councilor, whom Queen Gorgo (Lena Headey) is battling. And so at Thermopylae, Leonidas prepares for a final battle against the monstrous Persian Army -- knowing that their story of freedom will live on.

This is not a "sensitive" movie where you have any appreciation for the bad guys -- it's a glorification of three hundred soldiers who died for their land and freedom. It just wouldn't work otherwise. It doesn't blindly adore the Spartans -- we see their darker side in their "weed out the weak" policy -- but it does appreciate them. They respect and care about each other, and Leonidas is as kind as he can be even to Ephialtes, the traitor.

And it's done in a manner appropriate to its comic book origins -- grimy, bloody and epic, but with a stylized look that is almost like CGI. The battles are shockingly good, and full of fantasy-ish creations like the monstrous creatures or the silver-masked Immortals. Even a wall of corpses. But we also get some beautiful visuals as well -- roiling seas, sunlit battlefields, Spartan cities, and the drugged Oracle in her white veil.

While the script gets a bit over-the-top at times, it's hard not to be moved by dialogue that can be darkly funny ("It's just an eye. The gods saw fit to grace me with a spare") or stirring ("He did not wish tribute, nor song, or monuments or poems of war and valor. His wish was simple: "Remember us." That was his hope, should any free soul come across that place, in all the countless centuries yet to be").

Butler and Headey are simply great as Leonidas and Gorgo -- they're both strong, passionate and fearless, and they both do a great job in their separate storylines. But the movie is filled with good performances -- David Wenham as the narrator, Dominic West as a disgusting traitor, Santoro as the decadent, arrogant god-king, and many others.

"300" is a unique, stirring, stunning movie that pushes the action-movie envelope, and gives a thrilling edge to a real-life story of overwhelming edge. A brilliant movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually Stunning, 25 Mar. 2014
By 
dmcnabb - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We normally watch 300 at least once a month at home, so rather than catching it randomly on Sky, I decided to buy a copy, as we normally miss the beginning and watch from some random point.
The story is very simple, but very detailed, visually stunning and inspiring. King Leonidas (Gerald Butler) is a Spartan King in Greece, which is being over taken by Persians, lead by King Xerxes. Although the Spartans numbers are much lower than the persians, they are incredibly skilled with little weaponry and outsmart the enemy. King Xerxes sends different groups, with different abilities, but King Leonidas and his men find and exploit their weakness.
This was made by the same people who made Sin City. If the story was read as it was read by the narrorator it wouldn't take long to tell the story, but the breaks of visual detail are beautiful. Although incredibly graphic and gory, it is also very beautiful. Not to mention some of the cheesiest lines of all time are said during this film! But it adds to the brilliance. I appreciate some people are not going to like 300 - if you don't like blood, guts & violence its not for you. Anyone else I would recommend seeing it at least once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 300 - Impressive reimagining of the legend, 17 Jan. 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The battle of Thermopylae has entered into legend as one of the greatest acts of courage and sacrifice, as 300 Spartan warriors lay down their lives in a battle against insurmountable odds in order to delay the Persian advance across Greece long enough for a proper defence to be mounted. Due to their self sacrifice the Persian threat was repulsed.

This film reimagines this historic battle in a comic book fashion, and a highly entertaining tale that gets one caught right up in the excitement is the result. The high principles of the Spartans, the courage of Leonides and his followers, the exciting fight sequences, all makes for a good action romp. Everything is very much overdone, the bad guys are grotesque, the good guys are strikingly buff, the violence gory. The use of CGI'd blood is plentiful but justified. Not a film for the fainthearted, it is a good entertaining hundred minutes that is a bit different from the herd.

The only weak point is Gerard Butler's very Scottish accent, for much of the film tis great Greek King sounds a lot like Sean Connery. But apart from that it's all good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a neo-con wet dream on world domination, 24 Mar. 2007
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
300 was made during the height of the american invasions of afghanistan and iraq. studly white men go forth and destroy backward and plain ugly non whites. and thats it. based on the legend of sparta and comic book. this film is no doubt stylish but with questionable politics. if youre non white, it makes one feel akin to a jew at the nuremburg rally. the spartans are all able bodied homo erotic males in icredibly tight leather underwear, so tight in fact that they have to hold their stomachs in, in the process developing mean looking sixpacks. the persians, which also include negroes and orientals in their camp are not only ugly, but disabled to boot. if that isnt enough to make you want to kill them, even their lipstick lesbians are deformed! how badly does a race need to be extinguished by these brave american GIs, fighting for liberty truth and democracy? maybe im reading too much into this. but i felt like that jew at the rally. enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missed Opportunity, 26 Dec. 2010
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I know that this film is based on a graphic novel, and the cartoon element is there throughout, but cartoon doesn't have to equal either poor writing or poor acting, but that's what we get here from start to finish. I knew that when I bought it, but I was at least looking forward to some good battle scenes. There are a few, but too few for a film with nothing else going for it. The action is disjointed and the slo-mo is overused to the point where it becomes a farce.

The pity is that the look of the film is terrific, and with better writing - and acting - this could have been a really good film. As it is, it's more suited to a B-movie fantasy film, something we used to see on Saturday Morning Cinema.

Maybe it deserves 3 stars, but I gave it 2 because it could - and should - have been much better. The definitive film of the battle of Thermopylae is still The 300 Spartans and it's long past time we got a decent update of it. This isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six pack to go!, 17 Jun. 2011
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished watching this for the first time on blu ray and loved it! The picture quality was excellent (of course) the pit Leonides kicked the bloke down at the beginning seemed deeper than the dvd one! The background action going on in the battle sequences can be seen more clearly as can the creatures from the four corners of the earth that seem to come to life on blu ray. Colours are vibrant and audio excellent if you've got some decent speakers. It's CGI all the way here which I like personally.

There's quite a few interesting extras on here such as three deleted scenes, how they trained the actors, interviews with the main actors, behind the scenes webisodes and much more! So yes this is a really good disc as well as a great movie. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Langages & subtitles, 11 Feb. 2009
By 
P. David (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Langages :

English DolbyTrueHD 5.1
English PCM 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1 : English, French, German, Italian, Spanish

Subtitles :
English, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish.

Pour les francophones : allez-y sans crainte, c'est exactement le même blu-ray que celui vendu chez nous à l'exception de la jaquette (en anglais).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent (when taken for what it is), 4 Jan. 2008
By 
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I approached this film in two minds. I'd read a lot about its inconsistencies and historical distortions, and even suggestions of homophobia and racism.
First time I watched 300, I didn't really enjoy it. This can be put down to watching it on a 15" poor quality TV.
I decided to give it a second go - watching it in high definition on a 42", and the difference was staggering. I'm now very much a fan.
Regarding the historical mistruths - these are easily explained by it being based on a comic book and not history.
300 has little to no plot, but it is a pure, visually stunning, adrenaline filled, testosterone pumped dream (or nightmare depending on your tastes).
Taken for what it is (a comic book brought to life), it's hard to take negative claims against it seriously, because the film itself is not serious outside of its own narrow origins.
If you are looking for a film with depth and meaning, please avoid this film at all costs. If you are looking for an exciting, visually impressive comic book action film, then walk this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood, guts and testosterone, 4 Aug. 2009
By 
Soo Broo (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Half naked men with rippling six packs and bulging biceps. Nuff said really.

Oh OK, perhaps something more. Reading the graphic novel makes you realise how loyally they've remained true to the look of the story with the muted colour palette; in fact some scenes are pretty identical. Yes, I appreciate it's camp and over theatrical, but the basic facts of the story are there as well and you do get a feeling of the horror and overwhelming odds they faced (perhaps not the charging Rhinos though).

Very bloody, brutal and raw, full of testosterone, but pretty dramatic and well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone, 30 Nov. 2007
By 
W. Barrington "Mr NPR" (Newport Pagnell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Personally I found this film spectacular. The use of CGI to create a sense of fantasy to a true story, all be it a very stretched one, was used brilliantly.

The film is based on a comic by Frank Miller which in turn is based on the story of the 300 spartans. I won't bore you with the history but it is worth pointing this out.

If you liked Sin City chances are you'll like this. If you liked Gladiator you'll probably like this. If you liked them both then you'll love it. Stay clear if this sort of genre isn't for you as it really is dependent on that sort of film goer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 358 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

300 [2007] [DVD]
300 [2007] [DVD] by Zack Snyder (DVD - 2007)
£2.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews