Customer Reviews


494 Reviews
5 star:
 (248)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (51)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (59)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Epic Cinema Experience
I'm not going to rate the film, that's been done to death everywhere else. What I'm going to do is rate the High-Def experience you'll be getting:

Visual: 300 visually is a stunning film. The 'crushing' technique is akin to the graphic-novel counterpart and really sets the atmosphere beautifully. I know very well that such a harsh technique will not appeal to...
Published on 22 Aug 2007 by L. Otto

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT The Ultimate Experience
Hi guys !!
Don't be fooled by the cover of this film !
Although the Steelbook cover resembles the one of the "Ultimate Expereince" version of this film - it even says "The Ultimate Experience" on the spine of this Steelbook - it is NOT !
This Steelbook only contains the normal version of the film, missing the four Picture-in-Picture tracks...
Published 4 months ago by Kambis Nassiri


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Epic Cinema Experience, 22 Aug 2007
By 
L. Otto (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm not going to rate the film, that's been done to death everywhere else. What I'm going to do is rate the High-Def experience you'll be getting:

Visual: 300 visually is a stunning film. The 'crushing' technique is akin to the graphic-novel counterpart and really sets the atmosphere beautifully. I know very well that such a harsh technique will not appeal to everyone but I will say that without it the film would be left a little lackluster. Moving on to the real High Definition detail: 300 is definitely not the most detailed blu-ray film around; it certainly doesn't show off the true potential of a blu-ray disc (this is more due to the post processing of the film than anything else) but it still looks crisp, vibrant and very detailed. And if I instilled doubt in anyone reading this then please, ignore it. The film looks breathtaking and definitely deserves a 4/5 for visuals alone.

Audio: Deep, clear, haunting and definitely the best audio experience I've had in a while. 5.1 surround sound really immerses you in the experience and makes you feel you are there in the middle of the action. All I need is a red cape and I'm good to go! ;)

Features: I keep reading that blu-ray movies have no extra features or something..I won't go into it but if that's a doubt for anyone here, then drop it immediately. There is a ton of extra features that include deleted scenes, cast and crew interviews, directors commentaries, webisodes (short behind the scenes videos covering everything from makeup and costume design to how the 300 got such buff bodies) and more. The extra features alone would give this film a 5/5.

In conclusion, 300 is definitely a film to add to your blu-ray film collection. Visually stunning with incredible audio to match, and a host of extra features to give die-hard fans a second helping of possibly the greatest action film ever! I'm going to confirm what everyone is saying; 300 is region ABC or regionless (whichever you prefer) and WILL run on UK PS3s. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


132 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a review of the actual dvd rather than the film, 1 Oct 2007
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Brief note on the film first: a very stylised version of what the battle of thermopylae may have been like, adapted from a graphic novel and filmed with back projection to make it look as much as like the comic as possible. The result is really quite stunning, and the action and battle sequences very rousing. And bloody. The film is framed with one spartan telling others what happened, and thus what you are seeing is what they think it must have been like. This is a point lots of people seem to have missed.

As regards the dvd: this is a two disc edition, and the first disc contains a widescreen version of the film, with direct scene access, and a commentary from the director and two of the production staff.

The second disc has:

be one of three hundred: a brief bit with the director giving thanks to those who supported the project online.

A documentary about the battle. twenty five minutes long with contributions from historians and it's fascinating stuff.

A documentary about the spartans. Short but good.

Conversations with the creator of the graphic novel. Brief but interesting.

A short and generic production documentary.

a look at the making of the film in images. fascinating but moves very fast and be warned if you're eplipetic as the fast moving could give you a fit.

lots of short production documentaries, that are all quite interesting, and can be watched as one.

A great film.

And a very good package for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is SPARTA!, 15 July 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Frank Miller adaptations are on a roll. First we got "Sin City," and now we have the story of three hundred Spartans who repelled a massive invasion.

And the adaptation of "300" is a stunning one -- literally stunning, since it bombards the viewer with larger-than-life characters, smashing visuals and tight direction. It goes a bit too fast for its own good, but it's a truly epic film that takes the historical war movie to another level -- all the more so because it actually happened.

As the introduction tells us, the Spartans were the ultimate warrior people. Babies were inspected for weakness or faults, and killed if they had any; as they were growing up, they were taught and toughened by a savage regimen. Their only true hope was to "die beautifully" for their land.

A Persian messenger arrives, telling King Leonidas (Gerard Butler) that the god-king Xerxes (Rodrigo Santoro) wants the Spartans to bow to him. Leonidas' response: shove the Persians into a pit. But before he can go to war, he must consult the corrupt priesthood of Ephors and their beautiful Oracle. She predicts that Sparta will fall and the gods forbid war at the approach of the Carneaian festival -- courtesy of a hefty bribe from a Spartan traitor.

So Leonidas takes out three hundred of his best men, along with their nervy Arcadian allies, and begin trouncing the Persians. But they are being sabotaged, both by a hunchbacked outcast and by a treacherous councilor, whom Queen Gorgo (Lena Headey) is battling. And so at Thermopylae, Leonidas prepares for a final battle against the monstrous Persian Army -- knowing that their story of freedom will live on.

This is not a "sensitive" movie where you have any appreciation for the bad guys -- it's a glorification of three hundred soldiers who died for their land and freedom. It just wouldn't work otherwise. It doesn't blindly adore the Spartans -- we see their darker side in their "weed out the weak" policy -- but it does appreciate them. They respect and care about each other, and Leonidas is as kind as he can be even to Ephialtes, the traitor.

And it's done in a manner appropriate to its comic book origins -- grimy, bloody and epic, but with a stylized look that is almost like CGI. The battles are shockingly good, and full of fantasy-ish creations like the monstrous creatures or the silver-masked Immortals. Even a wall of corpses. But we also get some beautiful visuals as well -- roiling seas, sunlit battlefields, Spartan cities, and the drugged Oracle in her white veil.

While the script gets a bit over-the-top at times, it's hard not to be moved by dialogue that can be darkly funny ("It's just an eye. The gods saw fit to grace me with a spare") or stirring ("He did not wish tribute, nor song, or monuments or poems of war and valor. His wish was simple: "Remember us." That was his hope, should any free soul come across that place, in all the countless centuries yet to be").

Butler and Headey are simply great as Leonidas and Gorgo -- they're both strong, passionate and fearless, and they both do a great job in their separate storylines. But the movie is filled with good performances -- David Wenham as the narrator, Dominic West as a disgusting traitor, Santoro as the decadent, arrogant god-king, and many others.

"300" is a unique, stirring, stunning movie that pushes the action-movie envelope, and gives a thrilling edge to a real-life story of overwhelming edge. A brilliant movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone, 30 Nov 2007
By 
W. Barrington "Mr NPR" (Newport Pagnell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Personally I found this film spectacular. The use of CGI to create a sense of fantasy to a true story, all be it a very stretched one, was used brilliantly.

The film is based on a comic by Frank Miller which in turn is based on the story of the 300 spartans. I won't bore you with the history but it is worth pointing this out.

If you liked Sin City chances are you'll like this. If you liked Gladiator you'll probably like this. If you liked them both then you'll love it. Stay clear if this sort of genre isn't for you as it really is dependent on that sort of film goer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "This is blasphemy!", 13 Mar 2009
By 
Graeme Brown (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No. This is a bargain!

Zack Snyder's faithful adaptation of Frank Miller's seminal comic series is easily one of the most visually stunning films to be released in recent years and absolutely made for Blu-ray. Gerard Butler is excellent as the Spartan King Leonidas leading 300 of Sparta's finest into battle against the Persian hordes of the 'God King' Xerxes. The incredible, stylized action scenes are offset by political wrangling as Queen Gorgo (the gorgeous Lena Headey) desperately tries to convince the Spartan council to send troops to support the 300 on their nigh impossible mission.

Spending less than £20 on a Blu-ray disc isn't bad but for such a sensational film? It's a no brainer. Sex, violence, a legendary, action packed story-line and a wonderful cast - do yourself a favor and add this to your collection today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT The Ultimate Experience, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Kambis Nassiri (Hamburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hi guys !!
Don't be fooled by the cover of this film !
Although the Steelbook cover resembles the one of the "Ultimate Expereince" version of this film - it even says "The Ultimate Experience" on the spine of this Steelbook - it is NOT !
This Steelbook only contains the normal version of the film, missing the four Picture-in-Picture tracks which have been added recently to make it "The Ultimate Experience" (or "The Complete Experience" as it is called in the US).
Thanks for reading !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 300 - Impressive reimagining of the legend, 17 Jan 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
The battle of Thermopylae has entered into legend as one of the greatest acts of courage and sacrifice, as 300 Spartan warriors lay down their lives in a battle against insurmountable odds in order to delay the Persian advance across Greece long enough for a proper defence to be mounted. Due to their self sacrifice the Persian threat was repulsed.

This film reimagines this historic battle in a comic book fashion, and a highly entertaining tale that gets one caught right up in the excitement is the result. The high principles of the Spartans, the courage of Leonides and his followers, the exciting fight sequences, all makes for a good action romp. Everything is very much overdone, the bad guys are grotesque, the good guys are strikingly buff, the violence gory. The use of CGI'd blood is plentiful but justified. Not a film for the fainthearted, it is a good entertaining hundred minutes that is a bit different from the herd.

The only weak point is Gerard Butler's very Scottish accent, for much of the film tis great Greek King sounds a lot like Sean Connery. But apart from that it's all good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than you might think!, 26 Sep 2010
By 
M. Young (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Originaly i had no interest in this film because it was all CG, that was untill i bought it out of boredom one night on my IPOD. Being a huge Greek History geek! i can tell you most of this film is pretty damn accurate to the actuall accounts from Herodotus and Plutarch. In some instances word for word. Not only that, it is a fantastic film to watch that got reviews less good than it deserved, much like Beowulf. 300 is action packed, a little shallow admitted, but there are some fantastic fight scenes and the film portrays the Spartan Warrior as he has been written in history - fearless, brutal, merciless, powefull and in the middle of the great and mighty war their society had bred them for.

It beats Troy and Clash of the Titans as a great Greek epic put on screen. However the only problem is how the Persians were portrayed. Granted they were easy for the Greeks to hold back and slaughter just as the film shows and the historical books tell us. But King Xerxes was a tough bastard as well and being shown to be a little bit feminine was odd. The ancient Kings of Persia were said to have been thrown into cages with lions with nothing but a small dagger, and underwent harsh warrior training techniques like the Spartan Agoge. But! I highly recommend this film. Gerard Butler makes an excellent Leonidas, his look and his accent somehow add to that image of the powerful and mighty Spartan Warrior and he also makes a better job of his role than Brad Pitt did as Achilles or Sam Worthington did as Perseus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for 300! A work of art, 7 Oct 2007
By 
Plom de Nume "Rob" (Wolverhampton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Do they still use the term Art Direction? Whether or not, 300 goes to the highest levels of that discipline - visually, it's staggering. Of course the Graphic element is very much to the fore, courtesy of the piece's roots; and beautifully done it is, too, with many memorable "designs" amongst its frames (notably the white horizontal bars of roaring Leonidas' teeth bracketed in the vertical slash of his helmet aperture and put into high contrast against that deftly-sculpted, Zeus-style beard). Not to mention capes and underpants...

But this film's crafters have clearly looked wider and further back than modern comics for their inspiration. There are shots in this that are consistently evocative of Caravaggio through their colour and drama; with a hint of Jacques-Louis David for the neo-Classical majesty. You can also see echoes of Mantegna (grey, sinewy, engraverly lines) and the aerial shorescapes of Breughel and Bosch. The final overhead shot of the dead Spartans fuses Michelangelo and Signorelli. Really!

You don't have to be an art-head to dig 300, though. The basic story is immensely stirring in itself; the script embellishments take it towards a mythopaeic element we can enjoy from both super-hero and proper-legend perspectives. The battle scenes are majestic and visceral, in a manner pitched between Apocalypse Now and The Matrix, a violent, guiltily pleasurable rush through a gallery of fantastic, troublingly gorgeous-looking stunts and effects (bullet-time lunges, blood-spray and amputations, balletically choreographed and strikingly orchestrated).

As Leonidas, Gerard Butler strides and declaims through the mayhem to fantastic effect. He's occasionally captured mid-slaughter in poses that put the stylised Greek Pottery ideal warrior where we want to see it, in colour and moving with the grace and power of state-of-the-art cinema. Never mind that his voice is occasionally reminiscent of the comedian Armando Ianucci - Butler's accent is actually pretty good for a touch of the exotic and definitely right for the commanding, aggressive, see-you-Jimmy "man's man" we want in this most heroic of roles. Lena Headey, so great in The Long Firm and much else, makes authority and intelligence feel sexier than any "glamorous, pouting" babe-clone could accomplish in a month of Sundays.

I'd say this was the best of its type, by a mile - only it's kind of created its own type here. Makes me want to see other great tales from the Ancient World told by this team, certainly. Encore!

Look, you've got Thermopylae's great core story, spectacle, amazing effects, mouth-watering visuals, a really effective cast, sex, violence - what more could you ask for? Bring your own popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Langages & subtitles, 11 Feb 2009
By 
P. David (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Langages :

English DolbyTrueHD 5.1
English PCM 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1 : English, French, German, Italian, Spanish

Subtitles :
English, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish.

Pour les francophones : allez-y sans crainte, c'est exactement le mÍme blu-ray que celui vendu chez nous à l'exception de la jaquette (en anglais).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

300 [2007] [DVD]
300 [2007] [DVD] by Zack Snyder (DVD - 2007)
£2.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews