Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming & utterly hilarious!
If you enjoy a good old hearty chuckle, then you'll love "Gervase Phinn - Tales From The Dales - Live [2007]". Rare amongst its stand-up comedy contemporaries, this live show is an intelligent and wonderful portrayal of everyday life through the eyes of small children. The highly literate & self-effacing Gervase is a delight to watch and this DVD is an absolute must...
Published on 18 Oct. 2007 by Smiler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit repetictious
I have heard most of it on other CD's. Some different material would have been nice. If you haven't heard any of his other stuff, you will probably quite enjoy it.
Published on 14 Mar. 2013 by Sally


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming & utterly hilarious!, 18 Oct. 2007
By 
Smiler (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
If you enjoy a good old hearty chuckle, then you'll love "Gervase Phinn - Tales From The Dales - Live [2007]". Rare amongst its stand-up comedy contemporaries, this live show is an intelligent and wonderful portrayal of everyday life through the eyes of small children. The highly literate & self-effacing Gervase is a delight to watch and this DVD is an absolute must have for all parents, grandparents and teachers this Xmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good ole fashioned humour!, 5 Dec. 2007
By 
D. J. Ambler "Debs A." (ILKLEY, WEST YORKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I have read a few of Gervases' books which are very warmly & humourously written, his grasp of the english language is brilliant. So I was looking forward to seeing the man himself "live" on DVD. I wasnt dissapointed, his stand up routine is as funny & warm as his writing.He understands and obviously likes children which I think is maybe rare in some school inspectors! If you like children & get the gentle Yorkshire humour, buy this DVD now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gervase phinn worldwide, 5 Jan. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
As a Yorkshire lass in her prime I recognise the world described in Gervase Phinns many books and now DVD. He is a gifted observer who then relays his observations to an audience in a charmingly funny and engaging way.
I only gave the DVD 4 stars because the DVD is limited in that for many ex pats in Canada for instance he cannot be seen due to the DVD not being sold in a format compatible with that region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the Dales, 15 Sept. 2009
By 
Ruth Mary Carreras Pons (Menorca.Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this DVD. I have most of Gervases' work. As a retired Primary School Teacher I greatly appreciate the humour of Gervase Phinn. he is educations answer to James Herriott !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rotherham a winner!, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
P. B. MACHIN (Reading Berks.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Gervase Phinn ( a native of Rotherham as am I) has achieved more acclaim than most school inspectors could ever hope for or indeed achieve. This is perhaps due to his wit and skill as a raconteur that school inspectors are not noted for. Here he tells an audience at Wakefield during one of his national sell out tours about his experiences in the many schools he has visited as an inspector and there is no better humour than in a classroom . He tells is as it was - warts and all but obviously has a great love of the children he meets. Grand parents and ex teachers will want to get this DVD to enjoy again the fun that being a child can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the Dales Live, 20 Nov. 2007
By 
A. J. Pickard "TonyP" (West Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
haven't yet bought this, but we went to the recording at the little gem of a Matchams Opera House, Wakefield. It was delightfully entertaining, and I'm sure the DVD will be equally brilliant; looking forward to getting this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gervase Phinn Tales from the Dales DVD, 15 Jun. 2009
By 
Mrs. D. A. Barnett (Poole England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yorkshire 'Gods Country' so yorkshire men believe., 3 Dec. 2009
By 
Tony, Gsy. (Guernsey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Having read a number of Gervase's books it was well worth getting the DVD to see the Tales master at work especially in the Wakefield Theatre Royal. Not having lived in that part of the UK for 43 years, my wife comes from Huddersfield it brought back many happy memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gervase Phinn, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Having read his books I was intrigued to hear his voice; was it gentle, authoritative or soothing - you find out. With his understanding of young children and the things they come out with how does he appear unshocked and keep a straight face. This is good listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Ee by gum, it's great!, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
As a retired teacher I really appreciated the humorous tales of school life. Gervase Phinn is extremely funny and sheds a whole new light on school / Ofsted inspectors. The DVD arrived quickly and is in excellent condition. Would buy from this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales  [DVD] [2007]
£6.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews