Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming & utterly hilarious!
If you enjoy a good old hearty chuckle, then you'll love "Gervase Phinn - Tales From The Dales - Live [2007]". Rare amongst its stand-up comedy contemporaries, this live show is an intelligent and wonderful portrayal of everyday life through the eyes of small children. The highly literate & self-effacing Gervase is a delight to watch and this DVD is an absolute must...
Published on 18 Oct 2007 by Smiler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit repetictious
I have heard most of it on other CD's. Some different material would have been nice. If you haven't heard any of his other stuff, you will probably quite enjoy it.
Published 16 months ago by Sally


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming & utterly hilarious!, 18 Oct 2007
By 
Smiler (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
If you enjoy a good old hearty chuckle, then you'll love "Gervase Phinn - Tales From The Dales - Live [2007]". Rare amongst its stand-up comedy contemporaries, this live show is an intelligent and wonderful portrayal of everyday life through the eyes of small children. The highly literate & self-effacing Gervase is a delight to watch and this DVD is an absolute must have for all parents, grandparents and teachers this Xmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good ole fashioned humour!, 5 Dec 2007
By 
D. J. Ambler "Debs A." (ILKLEY, WEST YORKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I have read a few of Gervases' books which are very warmly & humourously written, his grasp of the english language is brilliant. So I was looking forward to seeing the man himself "live" on DVD. I wasnt dissapointed, his stand up routine is as funny & warm as his writing.He understands and obviously likes children which I think is maybe rare in some school inspectors! If you like children & get the gentle Yorkshire humour, buy this DVD now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the Dales, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Ruth Mary Carreras Pons (Menorca.Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this DVD. I have most of Gervases' work. As a retired Primary School Teacher I greatly appreciate the humour of Gervase Phinn. he is educations answer to James Herriott !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gervase Phinn Tales from the Dales DVD, 15 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. D. A. Barnett (Poole England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gervase phinn worldwide, 5 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
As a Yorkshire lass in her prime I recognise the world described in Gervase Phinns many books and now DVD. He is a gifted observer who then relays his observations to an audience in a charmingly funny and engaging way.
I only gave the DVD 4 stars because the DVD is limited in that for many ex pats in Canada for instance he cannot be seen due to the DVD not being sold in a format compatible with that region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the Dales Live, 20 Nov 2007
By 
A. J. Pickard "TonyP" (West Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
haven't yet bought this, but we went to the recording at the little gem of a Matchams Opera House, Wakefield. It was delightfully entertaining, and I'm sure the DVD will be equally brilliant; looking forward to getting this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great apart from the jackets, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Very amusing man - a niche comic. His delivery is spot-on. The material delivered is excellent which is more than can be said for that in his jackets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
An engaging performance, reflecting observation of schools and pupils. Ofsted can be human. Audiences loved it. Teachers and parents should see funny side
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
As with A School Inspector Calls I got this for my husband for Christmas.
It didn't dissapoint it was funny from begining to end and like A School Inspector it left us with aching faces from laughing but again was not smutty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gevase Finn, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Absolutely loved it made me want to see him live,and certainly made me want to read all of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gervase Phinn Live: Tales from the Dales  [DVD] [2007]
8.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews