Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Divorced...beheaded.....
Ermmm....died ?

I think so (Jane Seymour) but to be honest we never got that far as at the "climax" of the final episode, Henry is still married to wife number one Catherine of Aragon, and Anne Boleyn was still his mistress with her head still firmly on those lovely shoulders.

That was my main issue with The Tudors season 1. After a good start,...
Published on 28 Oct 2009 by tallpete33

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Costume Drama
FABULOUS costumes, good acting and despite the fact that we know the plot through and through, this drama succeeds in building up a sense of foreboding and dread as England is ruled by Henry's iron grip and her queens one by one dispatched, suffering at the hands of a selfish and superficial tyrant driven by his carnal urges and his unsatisfied desire for a male...
Published 24 months ago by Cara


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex ouzes out of every frame of this very adult history lesson., 25 Oct 2009
By 
C. Wilson "Christine" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Johnathan Rhys Meyers was a curious choice to play Henry VIII for looks and stature and even nationality and I have to admit that when I watched series 1 on TV I hated the first programme and switched off until half way through series 2. By then Jonathan had really grown into the part and was playing it like a tempermental mafia boss with that unlying touch of menace. I enjoyed series 2 and 3 so much that I bought series 1 to catch up.

OK it does play fast and loose with the historical facts of the time and at times it seems laughable but the fact is that it is telling a story as a drama and when we tell a story to give an impression of something we do sometimes get things a bit wrong. In many ways it makes the characters so real that we probably do want to go away and read more about them and there is an honesty about the relationship he has with all the main characters which does great credit to the story-telling and I believe captures the feel of the time in a way that a more laboured period piece wouldn't. Modern language helps enormously to bring this to life and so I enjoyed it enormously.

Great attention to design detail with ,moody lighting and atmospheric sets. Sex ouzes out of every frame of this very adult history lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must watch, 1 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Love The Tudors. I highly recommend the whole of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Prejudice, 12 Oct 2007
By 
Tiago Guedes (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This series is well acted, but has some huge historical mistakes and a strong prejudice towards the Portuguese in one particular episode. Apparently our court was the only one living in the Dark Ages, entirely composed of small insidious creatures that are portrayed as complete pigs with the rather strange habit of invading the King's room to watch him copulate with the British Princess. Just laughable. Our Castle of São Jorge is also terribly drawn in the landscape shots. It is actually on a hill and not near the river as it is shown. So, as a Portuguese, I would have enjoyed a little less prejudice and more interest shown in investigating our history. The series has some interest, but being based on historical events, it has to be more historically accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
All met my expectations and were very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye-candy and a sexy, raunchy romp..., 25 Jun 2008
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Jonathan Rhys Meyers (whom I first saw in Woody Allen's 'Match Point') is a hunk and a fascinating actor; but it is hard to believe in him as Henry VIII.
Acting wise Sam Neill takes the laurels. He gives an interesting and consistent interpretation of Cardinal Wolsey - the visionary (and greedy) power behind Henrys throne in the early years.

It is a great show, visually stimulating and with a good soundtrack - it is soap, but great soap in my opinion.
If you like a sexy, dramatic, over the edge, raunchy romp this is something for you; but don't expect a historically correct documentary.

I must say though, that moving through the 10 episodes, towards the end, it all becomes a bit repetitive and too much - especially as all 10 episodes are about the early years, where Henry is still married to his Spanish queen and not yet to Ann Boleyn, his second wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a load of rubbish, 7 Jan 2008
oh what a whole load of rubbish and yes it was pretty to watch. The historic facts are just so screwed up (a bit like Braveheart) and yes where did those carriages come from? victorian carriages with glass windows!!! somehow 300+ years out of date and yes as previously stated the whole Margaret and Mary Tudor mix up is just unbelievable, never mind the incorrect dates etc. The real historic facts were so exciting why did anybody have to change them? Further what happened to Henry Fitzroy? He was actually in his teens when he died. What happened to the history here? Yes there are accurate facts, but also so much rubbish and boy clothes off at every opportunity one almost knew what was coming yet again in 5 minutes time. So much money spent and yet they couldn't get history right. What a shame, this could have been great if only.....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear, 25 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I love history, particularly medieval history and believed the hype of The Tudors. So I went and bout the 1-3 boxed set, what a disaster. This is hollywood TV made for women, full of pointess sex and nothing like what it could have been. What was the scene where Henry masturbated onto a pillow held by a male servant all about!!!! Sadly box 2 and 3 will remain unwatched and sold at a car-boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars footballers wives meet the tudors-just awful., 13 Dec 2007
I love costume dramas, I love history, I love literature, good writing and acting, but if you love any of these - avoid this series. I wanted to enjoy it, and can overlook a lot if the writing or the performances are good, but this is just dreadful on all fronts. Watch "Cranford" instead which is a delight. The writing/script for the Tudors is puerile. Think of how an adolescent boy's fantasy of being Henry VIII might be like and this is it. Women drop their drawers and strip off every five minutes to get a jolly good rodgering by Henry. Between these episodes you get a bit of history over simplified and over explained for the uneducated morons the writer assumes us to be. The only enjoyment is to be astounded at the ludicrous dialogue and the hammy cardboard performances. What utter utter rubbish, what a disappointment. I'm just surprised they didn't cast Posh as Anne Boleyn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Non-ginger Dwarf?, 23 Jan 2008
By 
A. Holt (Englalnd) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Henry VIII was well known for his hight, his bulk and his red/gold hair! Well over six foot and in middle years when this is set he had a pretty healthy girth. How on earth did the producers come to cast this pretty boy in the role of Henry? And to boot his is not aging at all...plese tell me which anti-wrinkle cream they are using!
The facts of Tudor life have gone to pot. Henry's sister Margret married James of Scotland, and his younger and favorite sister married first the aging King of France, then Brandon. She was called Mary Rose!!!!!
Apart from the glimpses of modern radiators and Pugin candlesticks, the set is fair, being filmed in a dark and somber world of candle-light and firelight which is authentic....I can't wait to see what the casting director does with the rest of the Tudors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tudors: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2007]
The Tudors: Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2007] by Jonathan Rhys Meyers (DVD - 2007)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews