Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small, quick, good quality memory stick
Small and good quality memory stick, all plastic so a little lightweight compared to some but seems solid enough, cap fits firmly.

Pleasantly surprised by read speed, manufacturer only quotes 8Mb/s but I get 17-18Mb/s at least sometimes up to 22Mb/s so is very quick for a budget priced stick. Write speed not as impressive, manufacturer quotes 7Mb/s and this is...
Published on 1 Feb. 2008 by Rob

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY - Lost all of my data
After having this USB stick 9 months it suddenly corrupted and lost all of my data. I would not recommend Freecom to anyone having had other USB sticks for more than 5 years that still work.
Published on 21 Aug. 2010 by Mr. A. P. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small, quick, good quality memory stick, 1 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Freecom 29324 Databar 8GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
Small and good quality memory stick, all plastic so a little lightweight compared to some but seems solid enough, cap fits firmly.

Pleasantly surprised by read speed, manufacturer only quotes 8Mb/s but I get 17-18Mb/s at least sometimes up to 22Mb/s so is very quick for a budget priced stick. Write speed not as impressive, manufacturer quotes 7Mb/s and this is about right, a single 350Mb file took 51 secs (6.86Mb/s), 8Gb of video files took 18m30s (7.32Mb/s) and 4Gb of mp3's took 16m30s (4.34Mb/s) so a bit slower with multiple files and folders. Quite happy with write speed really as I only use a fraction of the capacity most of the time but is nice to have the space if needed, fast read speed compensates for the comparatively slow write speed in a way.

Seems a very good value memory stick, small and neat, quick enough for most people. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says..., 9 April 2008
By 
ratstails "ratstails" (Penshaw, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freecom 29324 Databar 8GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
What more is there to say? This is a lightweight, compact, robust (I jammed mine in the car door by accident and it survived), 8 gigabyte memory stick. I use mine to transfer a variety of file types quickly between a range of laptops and PCs running both XP and Vista, at home and at work. It is recognised instantly and file transfer is relatively fast considering the size of some of my animation and video files. I have a few Freecom products; all of them are great gadgets with very basic aesthetics...definitely a case of "form follows function"; the function being reliable, compact storage at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if your memory stick is reporting only 8 MB, 18 April 2008
By 
queue monkey (outside wimbleden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Freecom 29324 Databar 8GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
For those people reporting only 8 MB instead of 8 GB: the memory stick comes with a security application on it. If you use it and specify password protection then most of the stick is `invisible'. If you subsequently format the stick you will still have this `problem' (the stick remembers the security). You have to put the application back on the stick and remove the password protection to see the full 8 GB.

Regarding the 7.54GB instead of 8GB: the useable capacity of any formatted media is less than is true size. Just take a look at your Hard Disk Properties and you will see a similar reduction.

By the way the stick is much smaller than it appears in the photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the product and 5 stars for their tech support., 30 May 2008
This review is from: Freecom 29324 Databar 8GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
I purchased one of these 8GB Databars in January and the same happened to me recently. The stick only showed 8MB available (very disappointing). I called the Freecom support line, who immediately diagnosed that the problem was due to me disconnecting the stick from my PC with the software still running, (silly me, the manual tells me to close the Carry it Easy software before disconnecting). They gave me a fix and hey presto I am back to my 8GB stick. It is a shame the software is only a 30-day trial but I wont be using it anymore, the DataBar is perfect on its own. Perfect size, perfect price and perfect capacity.
5 stars for the product and 5 stars for their tech support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Best, 8 May 2008
This review is from: Freecom 29324 Databar 8GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
Have just Purchased two of these and as advised bu a frend of mine imedatly deleated the encription program before runing the Exe found that I can transfer 6.5 Gig of Data in 4 minuits.
Would recomend them to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great all round, 6 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Freecom 29324 Databar 8GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
Not much to complain about with this device. It's small, light, fast and good value for money. I've been using one of these to transfer files between home and college for a while now without any problems. The cap on it is real handy too and is much more secure than some other models that I have used. I would definitely recommend Freecom if you're in need of a USB stick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says......, 14 April 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freecom 29324 Databar 8GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
I found this piece of gear quite satisfacory but there are one or two points that prevent me from giving it 5 stars. Firsly, the top is 'push on' and when you take it off there is nowhere to put it except on the desk: I am worried that it will get lost. Secondly, the transfer speed is OK but not marvellous: it took me a couple of minutes longer to transfer a 3.7 GB file to it than it took me to transfer the same file to my 4 GB Cruzer USB stick. But it does what it says on the box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - Washing Machine Proof, 23 Jun. 2008
By 
David Treadwell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freecom 29324 Databar 8GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
Absolutely no problems with this product - deleted the free software that comes with it and still have full capacity!

As for build quality - unquestionable!
So far mine had been:
Dropped
Stood on
Put through the washing machine
thrown around
etc

still working fine =D

great value for money too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just works., 19 Feb. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freecom 29324 Databar 8GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
Plugged it into several XP machines and it just worked. No drama no fuss. 8GB of storage just there ready for use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 13 April 2008
This review is from: Freecom 29324 Databar 8GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
I have always trusted the Freecom name (I have a few of their products) and therefore felt safe ordering this Databar.

I was not wrong - this is an excellent memory stick. 7.54 GB, easy to install on my Vista laptop and nice and easy to carry.

The memory stick is a sleek black design, with blue Freecom logo and with a green LED that lights up when connected through the USB port. The removable lid feels secure and when you click it back on after use you do feel as if it really is secure. It also has a loop where you can connect it to a keyring or similar.

Overall a nice item and a bargain at under £20!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews