Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Supreme RTS for many years to come
Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance is a strong addition to the RTS genre, it fixes many of the issues which plagued Vanilla SupCom (played since beta), such as balancing, and the symmetric sides and improves upon the game experience by minimizing the base building gameplay and encourages more resource grabbing.

FA introduces a new campaign, moderately low...
Published on 9 Mar. 2009 by Mr. S. Stone

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE WOBBLY MARCH OF THE STRIDERS CONTINUES...
The original SupCom was another excellent example of a good game that got too over-hyped for its own good. When it eventually hit the stores, the impression it made did not live up to the expectations (feel free to browse my review on the original game as well).

Its main flows were unpractical graphics (great looking yet unplayable when zoomed-in - whereas, the...
Published on 25 Nov. 2007 by NeuroSplicer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Supreme RTS for many years to come, 9 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. S. Stone (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance is a strong addition to the RTS genre, it fixes many of the issues which plagued Vanilla SupCom (played since beta), such as balancing, and the symmetric sides and improves upon the game experience by minimizing the base building gameplay and encourages more resource grabbing.

FA introduces a new campaign, moderately low number of actual missions but each is a can range up to a considerable length depending on how hard or easy you find them, you may actually end up finding missions *too* hard in some instances compared to Vanilla SupCom as the AI has been improved upon.

I haven't really mentioned the new faction to the game; the Seraphim for a simple reason, the campaign is only available for the existing (beefed up) factions.

However, where Supreme Commanders strength really lies is with the multiplayer mode. With both Vanilla and FA (I recommend you buy the set with both, I had bought Vanilla at launch so obviously I could not) you can play all 4 factions in matches which can only be described as epic against other players, although I have to warn you that a rather powerful computer would be needed for the very top end matches (80x80km with 8 players), however assuming you have a fairly modern computer with discrete graphics, (dual-core recommended) you should be still able to compete.

The best part of both games is not in the singleplayer action (there is a skirmish mode if you do not want to repeat the campaign) but in the challenge of fighting other players and overcoming those challenges, not only will this never become repetitive but also will always give a new experience and reward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE WOBBLY MARCH OF THE STRIDERS CONTINUES..., 25 Nov. 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The original SupCom was another excellent example of a good game that got too over-hyped for its own good. When it eventually hit the stores, the impression it made did not live up to the expectations (feel free to browse my review on the original game as well).

Its main flows were unpractical graphics (great looking yet unplayable when zoomed-in - whereas, the zoomed-out warfare views were bland and generic), as well as strategically irrelevant ground characteristics. Luckily, SupCom-FORGED ALLIANCE is a standalone expansion that THQ obviously worked on improving.

As with the original, SupCom-FA demonstrates its strengths when a great number of units is deployed. After all, war is big and ruthless - and this is SUPREME COMMANDER - and not...Pretty Big Commander; on the other hand, there is no such thing as a free lunch in this universe.

This expansion sports improved graphics (on both units, shadows and terrain), but this also means higher system requirements that include the effective need for a Dual-core processor.
Just like the original game, SupCom-FA requires a lot of resources to calculate the physics and ballistics in a way that other RTS games would not even touch with a pole.
So, when the number of units increases make sure that your system *surpasses* even the RECOMMENDED requirements (provided below):
* 3.0 GHz Intel (or AMD equivalent)
* 1024 MB of RAM
* nVidia 7600 (256MB) (or equivalent)
* 6GB of HDD space.
Now, even meeting the above, you canNOT rule out stuttering and freezing. A Dual-core processor is, in my experience, essential - and this is a requirement NOT justified by the quality of on-screen graphics. Today, there are many games that do wonders with much lower requirements - and this is where SupCom-FA looses its 5th star.

The 4th star was withheld because of the ...cunning marketing locking of the game options - although this is a standalone expansion: hence the pricing at about £18.
Supposedly, one is buying all three factions of the original SupCom as well as the new Seraphim faction. However, this Seraphim faction is only available in Skirmishes and Multiplayer, and does NOT have a campaign! And, to add insult to injury, the other three factions are LOCKED and not available in a Multiplayer - unless one has the original SupCom!
So, since SupCom:FA is much more enjoyable as a multiplayer, these lockouts cancel out its standalone status - and make its pricing exorbitant.

All in all: a good effort but wait for the price to get market-corrected.
Alternatively: opt for the GOLD edition (it contains BOTH games for the same price!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FA, 10 Dec. 2007
By 
M. Webber - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This expansion fixes nearly all the problems that the original supreme commander had. The new units really complement the old ones and factional diversity has been greatly expanded (before it was pretty much just experimental units). Online games are now fast and dynamic with a wide range of strategic options available (unlike most rts, where its not so much general strategy, but more about microing the units you have effectively). The scale of the game allows for a number of really sneaky tactics. For example, if you're being overwhelmed by the enemy attack force, but you can hold out for a few more minutes you might find he left his own base undefended and be able to blow up a large number of his production facilities forcing him to deal with that first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game! Solid Strategy, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Brilliant game, completely underrated! This as opposed to all other strategy games has actual tactics, each and every unit and strategy has a counter; although until you learn the actual tactic, you will probably just be smashing out random units in the first few play-through(s) against easy-normal AI bots.

Also be careful of the online or you may be called a smurf! Whatever that is. Seriously though online can be very hard, and you will be going against people with evolved and clearly defined strategies and back up plans like a game of chess, so you have been warned, although I love playing it with my mate who is just as inexperienced as I am; he thought up a 'strategy' of building up experimental sort of 'end game' behemoth units to defeat me, it worked and frustrated me at first, until I realized that his strategy needed time, and lots of it. So I harassed him with small units and then disabled his shields as he was almost done building them (huehue) then destroyed them leaving him weak and completely unprepared, he tries building up a quick small army to repel me, but it's too late; Iv'e already got a formidable ground force (and maybe navy) to be reckoned with. He tries to defend himself with building anti air and ground turrets, but is quickly overwhelmed having spent all of his resources (and time) into his massive experimental bots.

As you can see it's lots of fun, although my one gripe about this game if any is the AI. They're quite smart, though they have this one annoying trait which is to rush and harass you as you're just starting out in a game, I wouldn't usually mind; but mid-construction buildings are very weak, and it's a hassle having to micro-manage my base as well as fend off little pesky air and ground units. I've tried setting the AI to turtle and defensive modes, but they still rush with weak units and it just throws me off my game honestly, but setting up some quick anti air and ground turrets quickly solves the problem, I'd rather have the option to set it otherwise.

Great game 9/10 ...I also accidentally nuked myself at one point, which raises this game to 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original game., 1 Sept. 2008
By 
Mr. C. E. Blackwell (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I don't think the original Supreme Commander needs any introductions. Suffice to say that it's become by far and away my favourite RTS, beating Dawn of War, C&C 3 etc.

I was really looking forwards to this add-on, particularly the new faction that it adds to the game. In this respect it really delivers - the Seraphim have some awsome units and the additions to the other factions are also great - the individuality of the different factions has been significantly enhanced.

The mini-map and whole user interface have also received a much needed revamp. The in-game interface is now much more customisable, which is very useful as it allows the player to display exactly the information you need. My only criticism is that the mini-map appears to be only available in a cartographic view which can make it very difficult to discern different units in large battles.

My only but large criticism is the AI. Anyone who used to play or plays Starcraft will know immediately what I mean by the Zergling rush - hordes of low-tech units swarm your base within seconds of a game starting, making it all but impossible to build up forces or have any sort of time to build up in the initial stages of a game. The original SupCom didn't suffer from this which was most welcome, as I find the Zergling Rush tactic to be immensely frustrating. Unfortunately FOrged Alliance suffers chronically from it.

In my first ever skirmish game in Forged Alliance, within literally seconds of the game starting I was under heavy attack from both ground and air units. The attack came so fast that I could almost believe that the AI cheats. Having persevered through a few more skirmish games my dissapointment was confirmed.

I'll say this quite clearly - I DON'T LIKE strategy games that use the zergling rush AI tactic and this really turned me off what is otherwise a great RTS.

For on line play this isn't a problem, but AI skirmishes are nothing short of pointlessly frustrating. In this one respect, this is a classic example of something that worked but for some reason someone decided that it needed fixing. This may be a bug, I don't know, but until (or if) this is changed I'll stick to the original SupCom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Warfare, 4 Jan. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Anyone into huge warfare should enjoy this challenging game. You feel like your in a real war. One of things that gives this scope is the zoom, you can get close into the action or look at the game arena overall, no other RTS that I have seen gives you that. Also there is real tension when playing online, if you think your getting good there are players out there that are really good.
Overall this game is the best RTS I have ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The RTS with its own mood and atmosphere, 4 Nov. 2008
By 
P. J. Kosinski "Mad" (Ilkley, WY, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The one of the best RTS games ever. If You remember the Total Annihilation then You would love this game. As nuch as the diversity of the units has ben compromised (comapring to the orginal TA) the game play itself make up for this. This addon is essential for owners of the original supreme commander as it adds some great stuff as well as repairing few annoying things form the SC. I just hope that soon we will see an custom addons and units for this fantastic game -> which in return will give You the same taste and mood of Total Annihilation. In any way, the best RTS game of the recent times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 1 Mar. 2009
By 
Mrs. D. M. Siva-jothy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance (PC DVD) (Video Game)
okay this is excellent continuation to an already good game.

campaighn wasnt to bad

new faction seraphim is fair and not vastly overpowered like on most most games

new units are cool

new experimentals are

an excellent add to an already excellent story line

gives profe of a third supreme commander game end video after credits shows QAI reactivating himself and saying functions activated humanity obsolete destroy all humans..

recommended good expansion

ps.. computer players are much better now they actually attack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking, 27 May 2008
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Some things in life don't change and an RTS is at home on a PC (a powerful one is handy I admit though). A PS3 with a mouse still isn't going to cut it.

Forged Alliance is awesome. Better than Supreme Commander since we get all the toys available from the word go this time. But don't let me distract anyone from buying the first version and getting to grips with that as that too is a cracker.

On the specs side of things, I've got a pretty evil machine so I can't really advice on minimum specs sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Computer game, 28 April 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance (PC DVD) (Video Game)
If you've played the original computer game then get this one, if not this is a good game. It's a strategy game where you play one side and go through the missions that get bigger and allow more options. Some missions are hard and you have to work out the best way to get past them, but once you do it's easy enough then you can change the setting to make it harder. It's one of those games that you play and before you know it its 2 o'clock in the morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance (PC DVD)
£6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews